We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location however very rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location however very rude staff”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Good location however the staff were rude and everything they told us they would do for us when selling the hotel they never! Bar was never open, crazy key and card policy, bad service and poor staff people skills. You guys really need to try harder when embracing your guests.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small and not good for sharing if in fours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedArmy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We do our very best to go above and beyond for our guests, as our previous reviews will attest, so we are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience and a little disheartened by this review. To clarify, our bar is open 24 hours a day, however unfortunately we do not serve alcohol at 9am in the morning as requested, sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    97
    23
    12
    23
See reviews for
28
49
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking for a cheap place to stay in Newquay for one night! I stayed with my mum and we were in a twin bunk room. Definitely a party oriented hostel feel to the place which is cool, nice and relaxed. The rooms were really clean and all the staff were lovely and really helpful with anything we needed, free fans were provided as we stayed during the heat wave, which made for a really good sleep! The hotel is directly across from an amazing beach and 30 seconds around the corner from clubs, shops, supermarkets, anything you could think of really! Although there was a lot of young people it seems like everyone would always feel welcome in this hotel and if I'm back in Newquay again I would definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd welcome you back anytime! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a sea view room which was a really good size, with a lovely view and was very clean. The staff were really friendly, polite and happy to help.

We were also able to store our surf boards in the surf school without extra charge which was a bonus.

We was very happy with our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks Nicole for taking the time to review our hotel. Great to hear you liked the hotel and made use of our in-house surf school :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is the third time that me and my friend have stayed at this hotel and each year we have always been extremely impressed. This year we stayed in a sea view room which was a decent size with a fair sized bathroom. All the rooms we have stayed in have always been very clean and the beds are comfortable so a good night's sleep is guaranteed.
All the staff are extremely friendly and always happy to help (especially with heavy bags). The hotel is in a great location, sitting right above Towan Beach and 2 minutes walk into town. There are plenty of nice restaurants on the high street and 'Fresh' was a particular favourite of ours.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to go back and stay in the future.

Room Tip: If travelling as 2 friends worth paying the little bit extra for the twin rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank-you Melissa for this great review :-) It's always great to hear from satisfied customers and we really appreciate your repeat custom. We look forward to perhaps seeing you on your next trip to Newquay! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in a shared room with 2 singles & a bunk for 4 girls on a hen weekend. The room was basic but clean & tidy with a spectacular view of the sea & surrounding area. The staff, especially Sandy, were lovely, very friendly & nothing was too much trouble. I look forward to returning for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixxichicken4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank-you for your kind comments. We're thrilled to hear that you liked the hotel and we hope to perhaps see you in 2014 :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have just returned from my Stag weekend in newquay with 17 of my friends, The hotel is purely built to cater for stag/hen parties, This is not a bad thing as we were not exactly the quiet, normal guest you find in a pretty sea front hotel...

On arrival I had to pay a deposit for all guests, this worked out at £580, this did cheese me off a little but was entirely my own fault... must READ THE SMALL PRINT..

Sandy the hotel manager was more than leanient with all of us, we had our fair share of ups and downs with some of our party but any fines occured were well deserved but my bond was untouched and received back in my bank within a couple of days.

I didnt eat in the hotel or drink it was purely for getting our heads down.... so cant comment on the food.. I will be revisiting and i would reccomend to anyone, thanks again Sandy and Staff for a great weekend .

Matt & Friends (and Jonno) ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattdawsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank-you Matt for taking the time to write this detailed review. We're really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear the security bond came as a surprise to you, we had sent numerous emails and tried to call you but couldn't get through. Glad it all worked out in the end and we look forward to seeing you on your next outing to Newquay :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Perfect for my stag do, made all the difference having great staff and a brilliant location! I dont think a single thing went wrong (apart from leaving my flip flops) and everyone survived! Brilliant!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for this excellent review! We're really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to see you again next year! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.0 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#21 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.4 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Property: Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Address: 5-7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing