We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Me & my friend really enjoyed our stay. We booked a surfing break. All the staff were friendly, the hotel has an excellent location and the breakfasts were good. The surfing lesson was amazing! The hotel is exactly as described on the hotel's website and is very good value for money. I would definitely recommend it to a friend and come to stay again myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks to Adele for her review. We're glad your surfing break was an enjoyable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    98
    23
    12
    23
See reviews for
28
49
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our second visit, having visited last year for the surf school package. As last year, we found the hotel to be friendly and welcoming and staff helpful, pointing out some good nightspots. Unlike last year [when we got the train down], we came by car, and despite getting lost we were guided in via telephone by the receptionist and were pleased that we had paid for parking when we booked. The rooms are basic, but very clean. The beds are comfy and just right after a day surfing/night out in Newquay! We had forgotten quite how close the hotel is too the beach, and despite being on a quieter road is close too all the local bars/clubs. Plus, the bonus of having a bar in the hotel that we made use of before our night out. The surf school was great, the instructors encouraging, and did not make us feel foolish, and I even managed to stand up!! I would recommend this hotel for groups, stags/hen doo's. Probably not the best venue for family's or a romantic getaway. Thanks Hotel Sunnyside for a another great stay and hopefully will be back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sseymourexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank-you sseymourexeter for your kind words.

Our new surfing packages have proved really popular this year and the feedback received has been fantastic!

We hope to see you again next year :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed for a 'romantic' surfing break with my partner. The hotel was very clean, ideally situated by the beach and main street. Staff were really very friendly and helpful. Couldn’t have asked for more from a budget hotel. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank-you Kelly. We're delighted you enjoyed your recent surfing break with us. We hope to see yourself and your partner again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

we booked this one via booking.com: breakfast included, parking 3 pounds at the hotel, bunk beds, no room for extra bed.
ok, so we paid 110 pounds for 2 nights at a hotel near the beach in a small room we thought, at least we'd get parking as well.
we spent a lovely day, knowing, that we'd had a place to sleep, even the sat-navi found it.
when we got there there was no parking included, but 3 parking spaces free in front of the hotel, they wouldn't even let us park there for unloading the luggage and checking in, so I had to find some parking space amidst partying alcoholics in the streets. when I came back to the so-called hotel, my colleague had already seen our room. you won't like it, she said. and she was right. before we got to our room they made us pay 60 pounds, which we would get back if we wouldn't destroy anything in the room. oh my god, what guest do they usually have I thought. and we each got a key and a piece of cardboard showing our guest- and room number. you gotta leave the key at the reception when you leave the hotel and when you get back you gotta show the card or they won't let you in. if you lose your key you gotta pay 20 pounds extra!
we got a room at the first floor, but the lift wasn't working, it's working hours were 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. and we were a bit too late. ok, so let's see the room: there was hardly space to open the door, inside 2 bunk beds, the window right behind the bed (overlooking the next building's window with the same bunk beds just 2 meters away), just enough space to pack our luggage in. the bathroom door was prevented to hit the toilet by a rubber plug at the floor, there was a mirror and shower. no towels. but you could rent one for 1 pound per day. we got a TV set, but were afraid to use it, maybe there'd be extra costs. the beds were creaky, by every movement I made I had to fear to land on my collegue in the bed below. no coffee/tea making facilities, but you could purchase coffee or tea, for only 1 pound!! no breakfast included, but you could get breakfast for only 5 pounds.
we really felt like being on a lousy trip back at school days... it's meant to be a budget hotel, the reception guy said (I call him Mr. Unfortunately, because he started every sentence with "Unfortunately...." - well, ok: unfortunately, breakfast isn't included.... unfortunately there is no parking space... unfortunately there are no towels included... see what I mean?
the walls of the room were made of cardboard, you could hear every word the guys next room said, you could hear the toilet flush next room...and as one could imagine, we got NO SLEEP AT ALL
next morning the elderly reception lady asked how we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't even make a comment when we answered. well, we had paid in advance, hadn't we, so why bother?
so: no breakfast, rooms were not very clean as well, creaky beds, no space, not even a chair in the room. very loud drunkard neighbourhood, oh, and as soon as you want to check out the elderly reception lady ordered some staff to have a look at our room if we had destroyed anything.

Room Tip: sleep in your car, you'll get the same comfort there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank feedonsandwiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are so sorry that this particular guest did not enjoy their stay with us.

The majority of the review relates to our hotel concept. It is such a shame that the guest did not take a moment to use TripAdvisor before booking. Or look on our own website. Or even read the booking confirmation email or information email that we sent upon booking to explain exactly how we operate (to try to avoid any element of surprise/dissatisfaction).

The failure to research the hotel and read our own booking correspondence aside, the guest clearly did not read the information displayed on the Booking.com website when making her booking. It states on Booking.com in the description of the hotel that ‘tea/coffee facilities, fresh towels, Wi-Fi and quality toiletries are also available at an extra cost’. The hotel security deposit policy is also highlighted. Parking is described on this site as ‘limited’. We therefore consider it very unfair to raise these issues now in a TripAdvisor review.

It is apparent that this particular guest was looking for a different form of accommodation to what we offer. One may feel that perhaps Newquay over a busy weekend in high season was similarly perhaps not a suitable choice.

We fully acknowledge that, as a busy hotel, we do not get everything 100% perfect, 100% of the time. On the rare occasion we do fail a guest, we always try to do whatever we can to make amends. We would never wish to have a guest leave the hotel disappointed with any part of their stay with us. To suggest otherwise is simply not true. We always try to maintain an objective stance when receiving a guest complaint, however, it has been difficult in this instance!

With respect of marketing and booking confirmation/communication, we are unsure what else we could do to confirm the style of accommodation we offer.

The ‘elderly’ lady on the front desk is our gorgeous and youthful-looking Hotel Manager, Sandy.

The somewhat harsh nature of the review can also be typified by the reviewer giving us 1/5 for Location. We appreciate that most aspects of a hotel stay are open to interpretation, but we honestly find it difficult to comprehend how our location can possibly be given a poor rating. Just look though our previous TripAdvisor reviews!

For clarification, we would like to correct a couple of embellishments.....

All parking spaces are pre-booked. Parking was not available during the dates of the guests stay. The ‘free’ spaces mentioned were all booked and paid for by other guests.

Breakfast is never included in any of our room rates.

It remains that we are sorry for any disappointment with our hotel. But, as we have mentioned time and time again on TripAdvisor, as a potential guest, PLEASE review the hotel first before booking! TripAdvisor is a fantastic tool to ensure you book a hotel to suit your requirements. Use it to your own advantage.

We will put this review behind us, safe in the knowledge that the vast majority of our guests, by understanding how we work, enjoy a fantastic stay at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Was in an ideal location, right next to the beach and all the clubs/pubs etc. Rooms were clean and staff were excellent. There is a decent bar area for drinks before you go out which is very reasonably priced. Also a games area with pool tables

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonhook91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank-you Simon for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Booked for a stag do so wanted something basic but nice this hotel was that and more,staff very friendly hotel was VERY clean beds were comfy,really surprised how nice it was really close to everything beach,town ect.
Would recommend to anyone great views loved it thanks!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi Jackie,

Thank-you for posting a review about the guys' recent stay. Special thanks for acknowledging the cleanliness and comfort of the beds and for mentioning our great staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Despite my satnav not getting me to the hotel, I parked elsewhere and walked to the hotel, where the receptionist was very welcoming and helpful, providing written directions to the hotel plus parking options.
Twin room was simple but comfortable, with an excellent view overlooking the crescent and the house on the cliff with the bridge.
Didn't use any other facilities as was only staying one night, but if the service of the receptionist and night porter are anything to go by, then I would assume all facilities would be great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianHewlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Great review, thanks Damian. We hope you can make your stay longer next time!

We do acknowledge that we are not the easiest to find (especially as Sat Nav/Google maps does not recognise Newquay's one-way system!), however, you can be assured of a fantastic location when you do get to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.0 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#25 of 38 in Newquay
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Property: Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Address: 5-7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing