We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite the weather”

Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall
Ranked #21 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $110
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the beach at Watergate Bay on the north coast of Cornwall, our restaurant offers a unique blend of exceptional food, dedicated service and an inspiring commitment to make a difference in young people's lives. Experience our bold, bright, seasonal Italian dishes packed full of flavour and served with a Cornish twist and allow our front of house team to take you on a food journey, with amazing tales of provenance. All the profits from Fifteen Cornwall go to its registered charity, Cornwall Food Foundation and together they manage the award-winning Apprentice Programme.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Despite the weather”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Doom and gloom on the weather front but inside 15 the world is put to rights. What on earth are the disclaimers saying? The service is paramount. The staff enthusiastic about their plates. Of course it jus pricey but no more than many less flagged restaurants in Cornwall. Everything was explained in detail as it was delivered. Even he FoH staff were most accommodating. Atmosphere good but maybe a bit noisy in terms of background. Piped music not able to be heard. Who cares?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,704
    735
    423
    176
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent monday lunch time celebrating my daughters birthday at 15 being treated to a fabulous meal excellent service breathtaking views and having the added bonus of meeting Gennaro Contaldo (apologies if misspelt!) A marvellous experience hopefully to be revisited very soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch but pricey”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visited for a special occasion lunch as recommended by friends. We were early for the first sitting so tried their take on a G & T at the bar. Very acceptable but strong so we were barely able to make it to our table! Full marks to all the staff, attentive, polite and knowledgable. We had reserved a table for four with a view across the bay which although overcast was still impressive.
Now the food - like many other reviews we expected great things and weren't disappointed. We had seafood pasta and steaks. However on reflection although the food was pleasant it was expensive and not really at the true level of 'fine dining'. Well cooked and tasty with just adequate portion size. With the steaks at £29 a dish and the wine list (bar the bottles of house wines) containing more bottles at over £100 each than not be prepared to leave more than £50 per head for 2 courses with drinks. No doubt the name and location are partly the cause of the cost.
All in all an experience but an expensive one. Try but beware!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely views - beautiful breakfast”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We arrived here before 9.00 am. on spec and managed to get a table overlooking the beach before the restaurant got very busy - by the time she left it was nearly full. A very relaxed atmosphere and a lovely breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Faultless lunch”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Three of us had an excellent lunch, with attentive and friendly service. It is a stunning setting whatever the weather, but especially in brilliant sunshine.
We started with mixed tapas, one had pollock, another the brill, and I had a pasta dish. Desserts were lovely, especially with coffee.
I can commend the disability access. My mother was in a wheelchair and she was assisted down the flight of stairs on an amazing caterpillar machine.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jollyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing