We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Treat”

Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall
Ranked #20 of 231 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $109
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Overlooking the beach at Watergate Bay on the north coast of Cornwall, our restaurant offers a unique blend of exceptional food, dedicated service and an inspiring commitment to make a difference in young people's lives. Experience our bold, bright, seasonal Italian dishes packed full of flavour and served with a Cornish twist and allow our front of house team to take you on a food journey, with amazing tales of provenance. All the profits from Fifteen Cornwall go to its registered charity, Cornwall Food Foundation and together they manage the award-winning Apprentice Programme.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We visited Fifteen last weekend as part of a celebrating of a friends 40th. I booked at short notice by checking the late availability on their website and was lucky enough to get a table for 6 of us on the Saturday night, so it's always worth checking.

As always the service was very good, in particular our waitress and the sommelier. This was our 3rd visit and definitely the best in terms of quality of food. I had a pea risotto to start followed by fabulous monkfish. I was too full for a dessert but the rest of the table did and loved them. Without exception we all really loved the food, service and atmosphere, especially the birthday girl.

Look forward to a return visit when we're back in Cornwall later this year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zara75O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,636
    711
    397
    169
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous location. Good breakfast. Not cheap but it is a charity...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Looking out through a wall of glass at the beach, the cliffs, the waves,the surfers and the dog walkers. Great start!

Breakfast this time - seems to be the traditional thing to do. And if doing that then (for us) it really has to be the full English - nothing else really hits the spot. The sausage, bacon, mushroom, beans, toast and eggs were all really, really good. And a rare (for me) cappuccino was really delicious.

Service was prompt, professional and friendly. The atmosphere as a whole was welcoming and efficient. And it was interesting to be able to see into the kitchen when not mesmerised by the view out of the windows.

Given the inflated prides charged for breakfast by most hotels if you're not on a B&B rate it probably isn't too pricey. The only questionable item was the orange juice - delicious, but did it really need that much ice? Small quibble though.

Would we go again? Yes. Probably not regularly, but certainly happy to contemplate another visit some time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wags51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Exceptional experience visiting with my family on a weekend trip to the beach.
A good value high quality restaurant with views across the sea. Quality food by professionals
Just what was needed to end a day of water sports with the kids.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnparkinson1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Fixed Price Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

During a birthday celebration weekend in St Agnes, we happened upon an article for the 3 course fixed price menu and were thrilled to be able to secure a lunch booking for the following day. The welcome was warm and friendly, and as a little early for our booking, we sat at the bar with superb non alcoholic cocktails (driving!) to pursue the menu and take in the atmosphere. Although very busy, we were pleasantly surprised to be seated at a table for 2 with the gorgeous views. The food was superb, as was the service. A perfect end to a special weekend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have just returned from our weekend in Cornwall, it was our wedding anniversary while we where there and we decided to visit 15 and we are so glad we did , the welcome was warm and friendly and they really looked after us . The food was excellent normally two courses would be enough but thought as the food has been that good as a treat let's go for dessert , the Panna Cotta was superb, the whole experience was excellent. The view from the restaurant was amazing and the sunset a bonus. Overall this was probably the best restaurant we have visited, sit back relax enjoy the food and view.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molyWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall also viewed

 

Been to Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing