We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but a bit overpriced”

Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall
Ranked #21 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $110
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the beach at Watergate Bay on the north coast of Cornwall, our restaurant offers a unique blend of exceptional food, dedicated service and an inspiring commitment to make a difference in young people's lives. Experience our bold, bright, seasonal Italian dishes packed full of flavour and served with a Cornish twist and allow our front of house team to take you on a food journey, with amazing tales of provenance. All the profits from Fifteen Cornwall go to its registered charity, Cornwall Food Foundation and together they manage the award-winning Apprentice Programme.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We ate lunch at Fifteen over the bank holiday week. The restaurant itself is lovely, with great views over the beach, although possibly not quite as formal as I would have expected. We both ordered from the set menu (mostly to keep the price down a bit) which although meant a limited choice, still gave us a reasonable selection of dishes. The staff were polite and efficient, and the food arrived quickly.

However, whilst the food was certainly very good, it didn't really blow us away. Paying nearly £40 per person for lunch (no alcohol) I would expect something pretty special, which I didn't really think this was. Good, but not amazing.

Do I really think this was worth the money? Hard to say. The idea behind the restaurant is a great one which I fully support, but for these prices (even higher at dinner) I just don't think the food quite cuts it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,704
    735
    423
    176
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely - As always”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have been here approx 10 times now.

This visit was once again fab food, fab service and well priced!

We'll be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining with a cafe atmosphere”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have just returned from a holiday in Padtow area and 15 was one the 5 restaurants on our list to visit. Firstly I must say the food was excellent and all credit to those chefs in training, their part was flawless. Now for the bad points!
• We arrived early but could not use the bar for a cocktail because people had been seated every inch along the bar. Obviously over booked.
• The restaurant was extremely busy and the noise levels were unbearable, it felt like my local all-day breakfast-café.
• The restaurant does not have air conditioning (Due to valid eco reasons) and windows could not be opened due to a slight breeze. When temp outside was 70 degrees and the wooden and glass building on the beach was like a sauna.
• It took 10 minutes to get waiters attention that no sides had arrived, to which the response was “oops””!
• Head waiter/manager looks very pretty, like a model but no-where to be when there was an issue on the floor.
Jamie, do yourself a favor turn it back into a restaurant and stop it being a tourist attraction during the summer. I know its balance and it is a charity but it will not do the chefs any justice in the long run. I will return but for lunch so I can join the other diners who turned up in swim shorts and flip flops!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lee1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishops stortford
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Third visit was not a disappointment”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food was as fabulous as ever from start to finish. The wine waiter served fabulous wine. This was our third visit and we have yet to fnd fault with this restaurant. If you can go, go. It is amazing. Can't wait o visit again next year!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok - not fantastic”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great outlook over the Ocean at sunset with people swimming /surfing if you can call it that .The restaurant left a little to be desired ,service was good and food food and value ok We would not travel to get there .Not as good as last year

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MHD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing