We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with character for a special occasion”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mousehole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Coastguard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Mousehole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We had a wonderful stay in Room 6 for seven nights.
The room, supposedly on of the less expensive, was on the second floor (steep stairs but then what do you expect in a 1901 building!). Room was quite spacious with bed and robes but also comfy chairs, desk and en-suite (shower not bath but that was fine and known at time of booking).
The main window (dormer) looked out to the sea with lovely view with additional "porthole windows" overlooking the picturesque Mousehole harbour. you could not ask for better and I suspect in reality, may be a better room than some of the more expensive rooms.
Staff were friendly and helpful (and always smiling, which says so much)
As a 108 year old building, it has character which whilst re-decorating, has in the main been tastefully retained. Yes, there are creaky boards and crooked doors but that is part of the wonderful character. The dining room, which serves as restaurant, overlooks a lovely garden and sea view.
Contrary to other comments we had loads of plug sockets, (six on the desk alone plus others elsewhere). TV and DVD in room (if you really need them but the view is so much better so limited channels was not a problem to us!).
As a base to see Western Cornwall I could recommend none better than mousehole and the Old Coastguard for the discerning guest.
If you want air con, twenty TV channels, elevator, full room service etc. this in not the place for you (go to the Holiday Inn Falmouth) but if you want a great location, friendly hotel with character then this is the place.

We got a 50% discount for late season late booking but even at full price it is worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 534 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed at The Old Coastguard hotel in september and was quite nervous after reading some of the reviews on here which i think is very unfair now as the hotel has been taken over by new owners and has been done out lovely, not only has the restaurant re-opened but is affordable and amazing food. The staff could not do enough to help us.

If you have had a bad stay at this hotel give it another go i think you would really eat your words!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hodges73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We were ten friends staying in Mousehole to visit the minack theatre. The hotel is a nice old building that has been modernised to comply with regulations like fire doors, with a big extension and to accomodate the weather - so pvc windows.

Welcome reception. Average but comfortable room. Large restuarant extension, where we sat to have a good breakfast.

I wouldn't want to stay a week - but it was perfect for a weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickNockLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in a double room with terrace. We liked some aspects of the hotel very much – the views, breakfast and garden – but were very disappointed by our room. Given this, it is difficult for us to recommend it given the price range.

The hotel is on the main road leading into Mousehole, a charming old fishing village which was a very convenient base for us to explore this part of Cornwall. There is a small carpark available at no extra charge. We were surprised to find a beautiful little garden leading down from the breakfast room to the beach; it’s a real gem, a lovely place to have breakfast or a cocktail. There is a path leading from the garden right down to the beach and the center of Mousehole.

The service was fine if a bit relaxed; the front desk staff were helpful, and the bar/restaurant staff very nice. The breakfasts were terrific, including some of the best smoked haddock we have ever had (the hotel special). It’s a shame this overall experience didn’t extend to our room, which really needed refurbishment, in contrast to the restaurant and garden area.

Our room was very small, though we had a terrace and large windows looking out the water which helped create a bigger feeling of space. The terrace had a stunning view of the sea – though it was partially blocked by a low building in front – was of a decent size and had a metal table and chairs, but there was literally no privacy at all from the terraces of the rooms on either side. The bed had a thin mattress and was not very comfortable; it was also a few inches too short for my tall husband. The room overall – furniture, carpeting, paint – felt worn, and not in a charming way. The bathroom was smallish and felt the most dated; we really couldn’t believe they charged a luxury hotel price for this kind of bathroom, which was more like a budget standard, with pink plastic and tiling, thin scratchy towels, lights that operated by pull cords, old fittings, etc.

In short, this hotel has a lot going for it, but it really needs to renovate its rooms to justify the prices it charges (at least in high season). If you do plan to stay here, consider paying more for a room with a terrace, as we thought it made a big difference to the overall comfort of our room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPGHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StunningCornwall, owner at Old Coastguard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2009

As the new owner of the Old Coastguard ( by a couple of weeks when you stayed) I am pleased that you enjoyed the location, breakfasts, garden and staff.
I have already addressed the issues you raised concerning your room. You stayed in the only double room without a newly updated bathroom and as it is smaller than our other rooms I have put it in a lower price band.The bathroom will be refurbished at the earliest opportunity. The bedroom was refurbished 2 years ago but lack of maintenance under the previous ownership was showing. Again I have employed extra staff and specialists to raise the standard of cleanliness and maintenance throughout. Lastly, I am having screens made to ensure privacy between the balconies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

This i a rather pricy hotel but it is not too clean, tehe is no elevator, when we arrived the restaurant was closed and tehy hoped to be able to open it again once in the future - on our second day the cleaning personel left our room open when they left in and we discovered it several hours later when we came back to our room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopenhagenPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

The Old Coastguard is in a lovely position, right on the coast and in the harbour village of Mousehole. It appears as though a lot of thought was put into upgrading the hotel a few years ago and it has great potential. However, something doesn’t now really click: lovely coastal view gardens and restaurant that are not fully exploited (the restaurant no longer does evening meals), some areas that need a quick lick of paint, cheap furniture and fittings that detract from the good quality ones, broken bits of furniture, reception that closes at 5.00pm. etc. Our stay was fine, though expensive for the standard of room and 1 night was enough.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I used to stay here a few years back, last time eighteen months ago. I have stayed in summer for over a week at a time but not anymore. I have just come back from a week in Mousehole and hope it had improved, no chance. Called in for a drink and the tumble weed was blowing through the bar. No food either. This place used to have a great atmosphere all year round. Its never been cheap but the food was second to none with fabulous rooms. Last time I stsyed I had to use a magnifying glass to fins three bits of John Dory the size of three brazil nuts. I could weep if they dont get there act together quickly it will go the same way as the once magnificent Lobster Pot and I used to stay there too.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank catoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mousehole
2 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
58 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
837 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
497 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Coastguard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Coastguard Hotel

Address: The Parade, Mousehole TR19 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range: $107 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Coastguard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Old Coastguard Penzance
Hotel Old Coastguard
Old Coastguard Hotel Mousehole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing