We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mousehole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Coastguard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Mousehole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Rooms 6 and 2 worked well for us. 2 adults and a small dog. Room 6 bed comfortable; room 2 more suitable for child - not such good mattress. Heating only just coped and we're used to country life - one unadjustable radiator and one small portable one. Some problem with bathroom light. Otherwise, friendly, comfortable and good food. We had two dinners and breakfasts - haddock and poached eggs were especially good. Good attitude and deserves to be as bustling as it was. Mousehole out of season is a quiet and pleasant place - dread to think what it's like in summer though!

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 2 would be good for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hereford186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    130
    30
    20
    12
See reviews for
83
283
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed there last night. Wonderful location. Terrific comfortable room overlooking the sea. No TV in the room but lots of interesting books. Great not having any access to tele. How refreshing.
The staff here are just amazing. So friendly and very helpful. Mousehole is so nice off season. Few but pleasant people around.
Only two three issues however. The food was all a little too salty. My wife had fish stew which was OK but not really stew rather fish soup and not very intersting. I had duck which again was OK but well overcooked making it pretty solid through and through. Very crispy though!!!!!!!! But we will go back for certain.

Room Tip: Get one at the top of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaldonjonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel was an absolute find. You must visit here and have a meal. I felt completely at home and loved everything about the hotel and its staff. Mousehole? Perfect forgotten England.Breakfast was brilliant. Smoked haddock, poached egg, although the full Cornish included the perfect sausage. We were here on business but I will try to return with my wife for a break here (from London!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stopped for a drink at The Old Coastguard whilst teh rain was lashing down on a recent trip to Mousehole . The staff are so friendly and welcoming that we decided to have a spot of lunch too - Absolutely delicious - the best chips i have ever had... honestly!
The service could not have been better even though they were really busy - Well done. we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABDBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

With my wife and professional chef son, enjoyed a first class lunch today - 8 January 2013.
Great location, attentive staff, an interesting well-executed menu, reasonably-priced drinks - we all loved our time at The Old Coastguard. My wife and I will certainly return to stay in this excellent hotel.
Congratulations.
PS The current exhibition of paintings is exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portloepirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I come to Cornwall regularly for research, and have stayed and eaten many times at both the Gurnard's Head and The Old Coastguard. The easy relaxed atmosphere and excellent food is always a draw. The rooms always have lovely bed linen, great beds, Roberts radios - and blissfully no television. But this particular occasion was notable for service. Right before Christmas, I came into the pub with my boyfriend to use the wifi - Mousehole is notable for its poor phone signal until you reach the Coastguard! Intending to be an hour only, I ended up having to work in the pub for 5 hours plugged into the wall. I sat at a huge informal table in front of the bar - my boyfriend beside me with spread out papers - and regularly topped up with mulled wine and lunch, and the staff were friendly and happy the whole time, and did not once complain that we had been there for so long (using their wifi all this time), or taken up such a big table! I felt utterly at home.

After dinner elsewhere that night, we came back for whiskey and coffee and became engaged after 11 years. We were given glasses of champagne on the house! And all this with no view that day due to the darkened evenings and utterly torrential rain. A lovely, spontaneous experience made better by friendly staff.

Room Tip: Usually on a budget and so pick the smaller rooms which suit us fine - the dinner, bed & breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very friendly welcome on arrival (albeit a little confusing, as signage pointed to a now disused reception area) and once we managed to find our way, the check-in was prompt and efficient. The Old Coastguard has a very warm ambiance in the public areas downstairs I the hotel with a real English pub type buzz and atmosphere. The room was excellent and was located on the top floor with an excellent outlook over the coast as well as the old port area of Mousehole to the right of the hotel. Enormous bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and overhead shower and the room amenities were more than adequate with a cafetiere coffee making facility (fresh milk provided upon request) and digital radio (nice to escape the TV for a change). The room temperature overnight was a little too warm for comfort and we did not discover whether this could be better controlled. Dinner was included in the rate and the meal could be described as an attempt at "gastro...isation" of normal pub fare and not quite sure that they managed to hit the target, albeit no substantive complaints. All-in-all can thoroughly recommend the Old Coastguard for a night or two romantic break on the stunning Cornish coast.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth seeking. Room 15 on the top floor is large, has a great bed and a wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global_vagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mousehole
2.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
7.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
13.3 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#2 of 6 in Mousehole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Coastguard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Coastguard Hotel

Property: Old Coastguard Hotel
Address: The Parade, Mousehole TR19 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Coastguard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Old Coastguard Penzance
Hotel Old Coastguard
Old Coastguard Hotel Mousehole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing