We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Into the Mousehole” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Mousehole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Into the Mousehole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for one night on the way to Tresco in the Scilly Isles and another en route for home. Very convenient for Lands End airport and could also be a good base for touring the south of Cornwall. Good clean comfortable accommodation and helpful staff. Food good value for money. All in all worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    161
    48
    20
    20
See reviews for
91
286
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Amazing little pub with friendly atmosphere and staff. Great food at reasonable prices and they have Rattler on tap! The location is lovely especially in the evenings when you can stand outside on the harbour side, if you ask at the bar they will serve your drinks in plastic glasses so you can take them outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RFrayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stopped in at the Ship after a (bank holiday) week of feeling that restaurants and pubs were just very busy, so no one could be bothered to take care and be polite.

Not so at the Ship. Quite reassuring actually.

We've been here in the depths of squally winter gales, but today a sunny, breezy day in September.

The food was great - my wife had a perfect crab sandwich, and I ordered the baked mackerel special, three baked mackerel with chips and salad. Both meals were perfect, and delivered with a smile by a lovely local lady, who'd obviously stepped out of the kitchen in her pinny.

Perfect.

After a barren in West Cornwall, devoid of a warm welcome and good service - what a pleasant change! Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanbgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Popped in with wife and two kids Reuben 10 and Roma 3 food was excellent even though kitchen closing in five minutes
Great friendly service Reuben chose chicken bites ( best ever ) Roma had small catch ( fish and chips ) both meals excellent and our seafood sharing platter was divine !! Missed fresh fish on this trip but this excelled beautiful mix with lovely presentation WELL RECOMMEND

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pegasus15cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Ship Inn was situated in a prime position to enjoy the harbour and the village experience. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was great and the rooms nicely fitted out with a coastal theme. Rooms very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodnJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had dinner with some Australian friends and we started with the Mussels supplied from the Fal river and our Aussie friend who is much travelled said they were the best he has ever tasted !! We think they were cooked in Cider and Cream and the sauce was amazing a great start. We then all had the catch of the day which was Haddock and we all opted for the grilled version with chips and mushy peas. We started eating and we all looked at each other as the food was cold and after the mussels we were so surprised. We called a member of staff who was also genuinely surprised and he apologised unreservedly and immediately cleared the plates and took them back to the kitchen.Moments later he appeared and again apologised this time on behalf of the Chef and said that were cooking a fresh order and would we like a complimentary drink as it would take a few minutes. A fresh order was delivered swiftly and they had increased the portions in compensation the meal was piping hot and delicious. So in summing up this is a Pub that's very very busy but the staff who were all first class and hard working had that special something often lacking these days they actually cared and were proud of what they did and what they supplied.We highly recommend The Ship and all who work in her !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avidCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We did not book and were lucky to get a table especially as it takes last food orders at 9pm.

However, we were glad we got in - great food, excellent value and really good service.

Mussels were fantastic and the fish pie was even better. Good for kids too. Overlooks the harbour so the location was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grewalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mousehole
1.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
7.1 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
7.9 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: South Cliff, Mousehole TR19 6QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ship inn is a welcoming Cornish pub situated in the picturesque fishing village of Mousehole. With stunning views of the sandy beaches or stormy waves The Ship inn is the perfect place to refresh & chat to locals, or snuggle up in front of the open fire and read a good book. We also have eight beautiful bedrooms (located within the pub and the cottage next door) for that perfect weekend getaway, family holiday or overnight stay before travelling to the Scilly isles. 'There are few things more pleasant than a Cornish harbour graced with a good pub and great ale' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Mousehole
Ship Inn Mousehole
The Ship Inn Mousehole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing