We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small fishing village”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Mousehole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at ship inn for the first time had eaten several times but never stayed,only one room left when we booked, in the cottage next door,very small but very clean and newly refurbished.
Landlady very obliging as we where travelling to scilly isles early next morning she got up early to get are brakfast.

Room Tip: Book early to get room above bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrchinwoodSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 517 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Location is fantastic, right on the harbour. Very busy pub in the evenings, expect to have to wait to find a seat. Much quieter during the day when you don't have to queue for a table. Staff are very friendly and service was good. Beer was well kept. Food was priced average for the location. Parking can be very tight in town and the streets are very narrow. Worth a visit for the location alone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We ate here one lunchtime during our holiday.

There was 5 of us, (mum, dad and 3 kids) and the bill came to £71. We each had a main and 1 drink each.

The food was ok. I cant really say more. It was just ok. And very pricey too!

The saving grace is the location, right on the harbour front and the restaurant is a lovely place. Just a shame the food wasnt as good as we had hoped.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsonx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed in the cottage joining the pub. Room very clean and tidy. Staff were excellent, polite, obliging and nothing was too much trouble. Food was generous and tasty.
We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 5 was ok, fresh and clean, but not much space at the bottom of the bed to get round it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Ate at the Ship Inn three nights. Every meal was really tasty especially the Moules. Large portions! Very friendly staff. Spent evening in the bar which has good atmosphere. Try the 'Clouded Yellow' ale with the mussels. It's delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Suebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Read the reviews and was really looking forward to the meal, 10 of us went the food was average and the service poor. A really standard pub in a beautiful fishing village. I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Golly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed for a week next door to The Ship. We visited the establishment every day at some point. Food was excellent for a pub. Staff friendly. Wireless internet was ok most of the time. My advice is go there at 5.30pm so you get a table and then plonk yourself there for the evening. We had a great time one afternoon watching the Olympic cycling and Bradley taking gold in the time trial.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pubcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mousehole
7.1 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
497 reviews
24 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
457 reviews
9.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
58 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
9.9 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: South Cliff, Mousehole TR19 6QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range: $89 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ship inn is a welcoming Cornish pub situated in the picturesque fishing village of Mousehole. With stunning views of the sandy beaches or stormy waves The Ship inn is the perfect place to refresh & chat to locals, or snuggle up in front of the open fire and read a good book. We also have eight beautiful bedrooms (located within the pub and the cottage next door) for that perfect weekend getaway, family holiday or overnight stay before travelling to the Scilly isles. 'There are few things more pleasant than a Cornish harbour graced with a good pub and great ale' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Mousehole
Ship Inn Mousehole
The Ship Inn Mousehole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing