We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B experience!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tremayne Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tremayne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Mousehole B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B experience!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I and our 2 children stayed here for a long weekend and although I use trip adviser regularly to see the quality of the various B&B's we stay in.I have never been compelled to leave such a comment until we stayed in this gem of a property. The owners were friendly and helpful and there own children are the same age as ours which just helped further with the joyous stay my family experienced. The family room was of a modern design and clean to an expected standard and as large as the quaint mousehole buildings would allow but ample room for my family.Breakfast was to a expected standard and promptly served on sitting at our table which helped with our tight daily schedule of what Cornwall had to offer. We also had lunch there on 2 occasions which was lovely sitting outside(try the crab sandwich it's to die for!!). The reason I have left such a review is that I was not going to stay here due to the reviews but a friend told
Me otherwise so I could not be happier after taking there
Advise.... Moral of the story don't believe all negative comments I for one have been converted to give someone a chance next time

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craigus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    11
    11
    9
See reviews for
20
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Paid extra for the family room although we would not be using the childrens bunk beds. The double bed was uncomfortable. No tolletries were provided at all except for a cheap bottle of handwash. We were given one hand towel and two slightly larger, mismatched ones for showering. They were very hard and scratchy. The shower recess had black mould that could easily be scraped off. The cupboards under the bathroom sink were all stuffed with the owners belongings. The TV was small. On our registration form when we arrived we had to tick Cereal OR cooked breakfast. Every other B and B we stayed in offered both, and more. When we came in for breakfast it was already cooked and plated, as was the toast, no options, no refills. The only good thing about this place was the location and some parking, which attracts you as you enter the village. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disillusioned82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mousehole hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had originally booked a room in Penzance at the Lugger hotel, but on arrival found that the room was unacceptable. Therefore we drove on to Mousehole and as lick would have it were able to get a room at Tremayne for 2 nights. Although the room was quite basic it was clean and fresh and the owners of the B&B were extremely friendly and helpful. We certainly recommend this little gem and Mousehole itself was a delightful stopover for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a great time staying at Tremayne for the week. We found the owners Kev & Beth to be the most hospitable people. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and the food excellent. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to anyone. Whilst there you must sample the cream tea, It is the best we have tasted and well worth the money.
The only downside is when we had to leave to come home!!!!!!!! we will be back next year but for longer this time. Excellent

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peanut1514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

After a long day's drive around Cornwall, we drove into Mousehole and luckily found the Tremayne B & B. The room was clean, the common area was quaint and the overall atmosphere was unique and cosy. The owners, Kev and Beth, were very helpful in recommending other places to go to in Cornwall. We were lucky enough to meet their sweet little boys and they even told us how great the area is. The breakfast was served promptly and it was very tasty! If we weren't on a time restriction, we would have stayed for the week. We highly recommend the Tremayne Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomNancyHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed last minute on a cold April Saturday at the end of the Easter holidays. We stayed in one of the double rooms, and although it was cold when we first got there, we switched the heater on, went out for a walk and by the time we got back it was lovely. Breakfast was lovely, well cooked and served with a Sunday morning smile! Perfect spot as seconds from the sea and we will definately be going back when the weather is better. Owners very helpful about local areas to visit and generally lovely people. I think some of the reviews on here are a little unfair, maybe some people would be happier in a 5 star hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenks3665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Mousehole is a lovely village and this B and B was in a super location but that is the only positive comment I can unfortunately make. The owner did not stay on site and I can understand why. Our room was extremely damp and musty. It hadn't been cleaned and the tiny adjacent shower room was almost too small to fit into. The towels were damp and the heating did not appear to work. We both slept in our clothes, firstly to keep warm and secondly because we did not trust that the sheets were clean.

On arrival at the B and B and seeing the room I went out again immediately, only returning when it was necessary to sleep.

Breakfast was unfortunately no better. We were on a walking holiday and stayed at 7 b and bs in Cornwall during the week, and this breakfast was by far the worse. No fruit juice, or yoghurts or fruit etc. Just a standard fry-up and one slice of white toast. No preserves, etc.

I can only imagine that this place keeps going because of the lack of much other accommodation in Mousehole. We had no complaints at all about any of the other B and Bs we stayed at in Cornwall, but I really would not advise anyone to spend a night here if they really can help it.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmc1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin O, Owner at Tremayne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I am sorry you have had a bad experience here in our beautiful little village, the site you describe is our home, this is a family run business and my wife and I work tirelessly to make your stay as welcome as possible, we do live here with our two children and we try to keep our noise and disturbance to a minimum during your stay here.
Rooms are not huge but are perfectly suitable for your needs, to be fair no buildings are big in Mousehole and we do offer a family room which would have been bigger for you if you had wanted it.
All three character rooms here have been refurbished (they are every season) ready for the new season which has just started here at Easter and so your perception of cleanliness is mislead but I guess if you have had a bad experience then nothing is going to help your perception.....
Breakfast by the way was your choice of juices (orange, apple or grapefruit) tea and or coffee, a rack of toast and a full english breakfast and cereals if you require, again a bad experience is a bad experience, when guests arrive late and are only staying one night it is hard to build a relationship with them but I wish you had said something to one of us here, we are here to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mousehole
1.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
7.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
0.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#2 of 6 in Mousehole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremayne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremayne Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tremayne Bed & Breakfast
Address: Parade Hill, Mousehole TR19 6PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tremayne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tremayne bed and breakfast situated in the heart of Mousehole, Cornwall. only 50 yards from the harbour and amenities.Our recently refurbished bed and breakfast offers comfortable ensuite accommodation and a warm welcome.Tremayne is an ideal place to stay, being central for exploring West Cornwall.Whether it's a trip to Land's End or St. Ives, or a day out to St. Michaels Mount or the Minack theatre or even a trip to the Scilly Isles.With picturesque beaches and miles of coastal walks nearby, Tremayne will help you make the most of your time here and to keep you refreshed during your stay.We are fairly unique as well in the village in having on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Tremayne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremayne Bed & Breakfast Mousehole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing