We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tremayne Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tremayne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Mousehole B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on Sat 23rd late afternoon,met by the proprietor with a "hello, how ru?what time & what would you like for breakfast in the morning continental or full English?" After a 5hr journey not really the right time for us to be making such a decision! Stayed in room 3...brrr, brrr & brrr!! Damp, dark & musty! No heating just a storage heater which was in-effective. Asked for additional heating & was given a portable heater which was left on all night & made little impact! the bedding smelt musty & we slept with our clothes on. Showering the next morning was adequate & warm but no pleasantries such as soap or shower gel, so take your own! The breakfast the next morning was clearly cooked & left in the oven so that the minute we sat down the food was in front of us, luke warm & in my view greasy.
We feel because of the lack of B&B competition in Mousehole, the attention to detail, room standards & overall service is desperately lacking. Paid £80 for the night, in our opinion we should have paid £30!
Oh & parking is massively limited, enough room only for 3 cars, 2 of which are taken, we assume by the owners!
A very disappointing stay, based on our experience we wouldn't recommend which is sad as it is in a lovely location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyJug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    11
    11
    9
See reviews for
20
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wonderful place, lovely stay. Beautiful part of the country we stayed for four nights at the beginning of January and were treated to a very pleasant, friendly stay at Tremayne Guest House. Looking forward to visiting again in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickyp_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed for one night, but it was by far the most comfortable stay ever had away from home. A rarity for me, I slept so soundly in the peace and quiet of this lovely little B & B. Arrived to find Laterooms had only sent a booking through for one room despite us booking two, but Kevin was quick to rectify the situation and let us have the larger family room at the double room rate, alongside the double :-) very helpful, and lovely warm welcome settled us in straight away. Lovely to wake up to a charming breakfast with an awesome view. It was a perfect, relaxed stay which was just what we needed! Thank you Kevin :-) we will be back for hopefully a much longer stay next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed at Tremayne after a washed out camping trip. Kevin is very welcoming and our room was very comfy. Have read reviews on here since and they seem a little unfair. Very relaxed atmosphere own keys and a great view from breakfast/cafe area. Breakfast was nice with plenty of toast and drinks. Having stayed in a few B+B's in Mousehole and newlyn i would recommend Tremayne. Didn't realise the parking was included and even with all rooms full Kevin made sure there was space for all guest cars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bodhi415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed for 5 days in the middle of August, reading some of the reviews on here was a bit worried but thankfully we didn't have any problems at all , the owner was very pleasant and helpful, suggesting places of interest that we may like to visit in and around Mousehole. The position of the guesthouse is perfect, just a couple of minutes from the sea, the rooms were lovely, comfortable , clean and homely, the caffe /tearoom is very handy and we had a wonderful cream tea one afternoon, the staff are all very friendly and helpful and we plan to return , hopefully for a longer stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Booked in and was given keys, as after 5.30 you let yourself in as only guests were on site (three rooms I think) Room reminded me of my bedsit day's but that I could put up with, but it also smelt a bit musty, no running hot water evening or in the morning had to use a kettle, told owner in the morning but was told you had to run it for a while (I ran it for a good five minutes) Towels in the bathroom I would suggest had been used by several previous guests and not been washed or changed as they smelt rank luckily we had our own towel in the car with us, shower was fine though you did have to make sure plastic cup stayed in place over the previous showers controls as the spike could be dangerous, when I told owner the next morning about towels his reply was the maid was having problems keeping up with the cleaning but thank you for telling me as I need to know these things (only now am I reading the other reviews)
Breakfast was fine.
wouldn't stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taibhreamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mousehole hotels

Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Did not stay just popped in for drinks had a bottle if cornish rattler she had a special pimms with strawberrysin and cucumber and ice wich i no is a girls drink but i had a sip and it was beautiful the whole scene and freindly owner greeted us as soon as we walked in the outside area sat on a bench with a freindly smile offering us menus my only regret not trying the food as we were busy, i have read some reviews of this place and although we only spent a half hour in the patio area i think people are being harsh on a very nice place and freindly staff, this place or managment is not unclean from what i saw he seems a perfectionist with his large apple mac n very nice tvr motor. Try it out for yourself but its nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Evenkingrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mousehole
1.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
7.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
0.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#2 of 6 in Mousehole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremayne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremayne Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tremayne Bed & Breakfast
Address: Parade Hill, Mousehole TR19 6PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tremayne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tremayne bed and breakfast situated in the heart of Mousehole, Cornwall. only 50 yards from the harbour and amenities.Our recently refurbished bed and breakfast offers comfortable ensuite accommodation and a warm welcome.Tremayne is an ideal place to stay, being central for exploring West Cornwall.Whether it's a trip to Land's End or St. Ives, or a day out to St. Michaels Mount or the Minack theatre or even a trip to the Scilly Isles.With picturesque beaches and miles of coastal walks nearby, Tremayne will help you make the most of your time here and to keep you refreshed during your stay.We are fairly unique as well in the village in having on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Tremayne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremayne Bed & Breakfast Mousehole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing