We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service not as good as food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 2 Fore Street

2 Fore Street
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Mousehole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service not as good as food”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went for my birthday. The food was good but the service could have been better. Two of my party ordered our steaks well done another ordered medium. When the food arrived, the waitress said she had two medium steaks, She checked with the kitchen then came back saying that one was in fact well done. When I cut into my steak the middle was very pink, I did manage to eat most of it and it was fine. However at the end of the meal the waitress asked if the food had been ok, I said that it had been fine but had not been cooked as I ordered, I didn't expect anything other than some acknowledgement of this, however she could not have been less interested, shrugged her shoulders and said that she had checked with the kitchen. I did wonder why she asked for feedback as she didn't want to hear it. Meals here are fairly expensive and although the restaurant is comfortable and the setting is good, the waiting staff could definitely benefit from some customer service training.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallulatrixiebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    210
    54
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An excellent meal.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here as a party of five on Friday 30th August.

The food offering was excellent, every dish was well presented and tasted great. The portion size was good, no-one our party went home hungry. Table service was attentive and on the ball during our visit.

If there were negative points it would be that the restaurant was rather noisy when full - the diners were having a good evening though. Also when the door was shut it became hot quite quickly. Neither of these minor faults would stop us eating here again however.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hardascustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food in Cornwall”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Well this was an unexpected find.Unable to get a table in a restaurant nearby we tried here. Served with a smile the waitress found us a lovely table outside. The food,particularly the seafood, was beautifully cooked and the waiting staff were a delight. We've booked for tomorrow night too it was so good. A well deserved 5 stars from us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our group of 4 had a lovely lunch here in July. We sat outside in the garden. Nice setting, good food, good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful position”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We enjoyed our meal but it was spoilt by an extremely noisy party of four at a nearby table. The tables are closely spaced and we asked to move but unfortunately the restaurant was fully booked.
You can be guaranteed lovely food with kind service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2toucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Fore Street also viewed

 
Mousehole, Cornwall
 

Been to 2 Fore Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing