We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem in the country”
other travelers have booked this property
Sunflowers Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunflowers Barn
Seaton...the nearest beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Sunflowers Barn
Seaton...the nearest beach
The Barn from the parking area showing the upper garden and patio area
Large comfortable sitting area
Main bedroom with king size bed, en-suite bathroom and TV
Spacious fully equipped kitchen and dining area
The harbour and beach at Looe
Large twin bedroom with TV
Eden Project - just 20 miles from the Barn
Single bedroom with TV
Lantic Bay near Polperro
Main family bathroom
The old barn door at the entrance to the Barn
Poldark's Harbour (Charlestown) - one of the many locations used  for the TV series. 20 miles away.
Picturesque harbour at Polperro
Patio area
Great place to catch the morning sun..and watch the llamas and sheep in the field opposite
View from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stuart g
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“A gem in the country”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely warm welcome. The accommodation was lovely and homely. The bed was the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our barn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boweringm
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and quiet”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely cottage on the outskirts of Looe. Access to the cottage is through a winding lane so care is needed!! But lovely when you get there. The nearby farm shop is fabulous, it has lots of variety and is not expensive. The cooked breakfasts are wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your complementary comments to the farm shop.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobH11115
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Retreat”
Reviewed July 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Sunflowers Barn is a great place for couples looking to get away and relax, a group of friends or for families with babies. We stayed with our 7months old and it was perfect. The Barn is furnished to a high standard. For us it was very important to have a kitchen as we like to make all our own baby food fresh and the only thing I needed to take was a compact steamer / blender. Every other imaginable bit of crockery and utensil was there. The main room has an ensuite and is on the top level. It is a very big room with plenty of room for a cot which Sian provided lovely bedding for. There were also safety plugs, a stair gate and highchair. Also provided is a draw full of DVDs and a bookshelf full of books including children's books. There is also two areas to sit outside with seating.
Sian the owner has cleverly placed pictures and other items around the property of the local attractions. Also there is a draw full of leaflets to give you ideas as to what you might like to visit. We visited the Eden project (which takes at least a whole day if not more, also the ticket is expensive but last a year), Land's End and a few other places.
There is a supermarket about 10mins away in the car and a lovely farm shop a minute or two in the car.
I could go on but my last comment is how lovely the owner Sian is. Sian contacted us almost immediately after booking giving us directions and asking where we would like the cot set up. We contacted her several times on the way to the Barn as we got stuck in terrible traffic and she was lovely. We would definitely like to return and maybe take the grandparents too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and ofcourse you are very welcome to return at any time. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice H
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place ticked all our boxes”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Sunflowers Cottage for a stay with our two children and my parents. The owner kept in touch with us prior to our stay and was happy to confirm queries we had, She provided excellent directions to the cottage location, and due to the rural location of the cottage these were very useful!
The cottage is beautiful and an excellent place to stay as a family. There is plenty of living space in the open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area, and plenty of facilities available such as dishwasher, washing machine, cooker, microwave, TV and DVD player. There are two outside seating areas which take advantage of the sun in the beautiful gardens, and space for two vehicles. All of the beds were very comfortable, with bedding and towels provided. The owner provided a proper cot with lovely bedding for my one year old daughter which was a welcome alternative to a travel cot. The owner also provided various sundries such as washing up liquid, toilet rolls and dishwasher tablets, which was also very useful as we hadn't bought any!
The cottage is a short drive away from the lovely towns of Looe and Polperro which are worth visiting. There is a farm shop on the entrance road to the cottage which is open most days until 6pm and handy to buy last minute items.
The cottage owner made us feel extremely welcome, was very helpful and was available to give us advice and information. This cottage is a little gem and we would definitely like to rebook for future stays in Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location of cottage
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Thanks Alice for your great review. We are very pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. You are ofcourse welcome to return to our Barn at anytime. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros C
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

lovely barn well stocked with everything we needed.
The owner is friendly and helpful even left us tea milk and biscuits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bright and clean
Liked least: driveway
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richie878...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal quiet location but close to all the towns.”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Barn is located in a quiet and peaceful location over looking beautiful countryside. It is close to Looe town and Palperrro, but is in easy reach of some great family friendly beaches.
The owners are very friendly and are there if you need anything. The barn is very comfortable and has everything you need for a 'home from home' with all the usual things you would expect, washing machine, dish washer, fridge, freezer etc.
There is a farm shop just up the lane (we all walked) where you can get all your essentials but does a delicious full English breakfast that we would recommend (very well priced too).
We will be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apcc50
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely, peaceful and quiet”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Opened the door and was wowed by the quality of this barn. Everything you need in a brand new kitchen, bedrooms spacious and clean. Comfy beds and quality linen. Darkest room suited the teenager of the family, lots of drawer and wardrobe space. Welcome pack very welcome after the long drive. En suite shower a wee bit feeble but bathroom belts it out. Tall husband had issues showering downstairs due to beams but not a fault of the barn. Three tvs a bonus for the day it poured down. Games great and books were good for when I ran out. Three tiny suggestions; move picnic table away from septic tank cover as not nice smell when hot outside, add a sieve to the kitchen stock and if you popped a hoover in, we could have done the carpeted areas before we left. I thoroughly recommended this lovely barn. Be prepared for a few close shaves when turning onto the main drag as visibility not good but the absolutely perfect setting makes up for that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: opening the lounge curtains to that beautiful view each day.
Liked least: getting out of the lane safely.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in the Barn.
We were unaware that there was a smell coming from the cover for the (regularly emptied) septic tank when it got hot and have moved the picnic table to the other side of the garden whilst we quickly investigate the reason.
The sieve, and grater, for the kitchen are in the drawer where the place-mats were kept. And we do not put a hoover or cleaning products besides a dustpan and brush, and floor brush, as we like our customers to thoroughly enjoy their time with us rather than spend time cleaning. Leaving the Barn in a tidy condition, like you did :-), is all that we ask.
Thank you again for staying in our Barn. We really appreciate the nice things you said about the property and welcome your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing