We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy a meal overlooking the Looe harbour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portbyhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portbyhan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoy a meal overlooking the Looe harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have had a couple of Sunday lunches at the Portbyan Hotel which have been excellent. The cost is £8.95 per person but for OAP and children it is £4.95. Last Sunday there was a choice of 2 meats beef and/or turkey, a choice of 6 veg (red cabbage, white cabbage, leek in cream sauce, cauliflower cheese, carrots and roasted parsnips) roast potatoes, proper Yorkshire puddings, and stuffing. There is a good wine selection as well as beers and spirits. As pensioners we have not yet been able to sample the desert menu as we have had ample portions of main course to satisfy our needs. Coffee is also available. We will definitely be back and intend to try the evening menu during the week.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for highlighting the fantastic value and great selection represented on Carvery Sunday here at The Portbyhan Hotel.
I look forward to seeing you again on a Sunday or especially during the week for dinner.

From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    113
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
81
200
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We got married June 2013 but this is the first time I have been on this site and thought I'd write a review as I said we got married in June 2013 and were on a very tight budget so booked a coach holiday for 5 days 4 nights we had no idea on what to expect but agreed that we would make the best of it, well when we arrived we had a bottle of wine and a card to congratulate us on our wedding and we had been upgraded to a sea view room which was beautiful we regulary went down to the bar for a game of bingo with the lovely bar manager Matthew and really enjoyed the whole holiday will be returning at some point hopefully in the not to distant future

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Matthew and the rest of the team here are looking forward to seeing you for your next anniversary celebration!

From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have been regulars at this hotel for many years due to it's location and our love of the Cornish coastline and the transformation in the overall appearance and standard of the hotel in the last 12 months is astonishing.

The balcony rooms are the ones that we always opt for as there is nothing better than having that first coffee of the morning looking out across the harbour and now that the refurbishments are complete this has enhanced this experience greatly.

The rooms are spotless, the bed was huge and extremely comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are all so friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed a meal in the refurbished restaurant which consisted of potted shrimp followed by steak whilst overlooking the stunning views of the harbour, breakfast is also to be complimented not only for the standard of the food and service but also as you are able to enjoy this whilst soaking up those amazing views.

Great hotel, great staff, great location and a great base to explore the Cornish coastline from.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review.
I am delighted you enjoyed the refurbishments thus far - but there are still some more to come, so you will certainly enjoy those on your next trip down.
I have passed your comments to all the staff - they always try very hard and it makes such a positive difference for them to see such kind appreciation from our guests.
See you again soon I hope!

From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel a few weeks ago. Hotel was spotless and we had a harbor view which was a major plus. The foods was fine but the service was second to none. Very friendly staff couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am delighted you enjoyed not just the food, but particularly the staff - they are a great team and genuinely care for you, our guests.
Hope to see you again soon!

From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We as a coach party on our way to the Scilly Isles stayed here for only one night. It was excellent. Lovely bedroom, even some had a balcony. Also super evening meal and breakfast but most of all such friendly, helpful staff. The music playing in the bar was enjoyable. We all said that we wish we had been there for longer. Hopefully we will return soon when we visit just Cornwall. The driver said he will comment to the tour company our positive views on this lovely place. The staff even waved goodbye to us as we departed.

Room Tip: Balcony if available enjoys lovely views over the harbour bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review for us.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back when hopefully, you can spend some more time in Looe and exploring the local area.

From all of us The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Expensive stay for a very basic room. Great views from the room but when we asked to move to an empty room with a balcony, we were told no as the housekeeper didn't have time to clean an extra room. Surely she would be cleaning our room anyway? And we asked at 9.30am
Reception staff not very helpful at all over this request
Would we stay here again? No. There are plenty more lovely hotels and b+b's in Looe. Friends are staying in other hotels at the moment and they say the staff couldn't be any more helpful

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Debby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment when requesting to change rooms. I understand that a balcony room was offered to you but would not have been ready until 2 o'clock. This would be normal check in time at the hotel especially on a change over day and we would not have wanted to compromise our level of service to the rooms. However should the room have been ready beforehand you would have been told so.
Should you choose to come to Looe again, I am sure that we do our best to accommodate you.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I have just spent a very pleasant night at the Portbyhan hotel, were a little unsure as it has many coach parties, which we do not have any problems with. The hotel I think is now owned by the coach company Our room 207 facing the harbour was also a good choice, The room is very compacted and the shower cubicle is very small, but all the rooms I believe are of this size, balcony rooms which have been mentioned are good if the weather is suitable. Didn't see anyone sitting out when we were there as it was raining. Jamie gave us instructions for parking, a £1 to park at the front for an hour, then overnight parking is at The Mill Pool just a little walk up the hill for about £5.50. Evening meal very good sitting in the window seats, and as mentioned breakfast is excellent. Overall very pleasant helpful staff, and would not hesitate to stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Room 207 is on the second floor overlooking the harbour and the view from the window is excellent I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
2.0 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.5 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin House
Dolphin House
#17 of 60 in Looe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portbyhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portbyhan Hotel

Property: Portbyhan Hotel
Address: The Quay | West Looe, Looe PL13 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portbyhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portbyhan Hotel is located quayside in the heart of the beautiful Cornish fishing town of West Looe. West Looe is still a functioning fishing town and the hotel's location provides guests with great views of 'hustle and bustle' going on every day in the picturesque harbour. The family run hotel has a reputation for being one of the most popular hotels in Looe purely through recommendations by guests who have stayed in the hotel. All the guest bedrooms in the hotel are en-suite, clean and comfortable. All rooms come with all the modern facilities guests expect such as Colour TV and hair dryer. Many bedrooms have fantastic views of the harbour and/or town. Our Riverside Restaurant and The Portside Brasserie are ideally situated to provide fantastic views across the quayside both offering great locally sourced fresh food and unbeatable service. The hotel has a well-stocked bar so guests can enjoy a cold beer, Cornish Cider, glass of wine or local soft drinks from Cornish Orchards. There is a lot to offer within walking distance including the bus stop, train station, local gift shops, 5 minute walk to 3 beaches, next to the ferry going to East Looe, Bowling club and tennis courts, and just outside our front door we have the biggest swimming pool stretching right around the country and its free! Please note: Pets are not permitted to stay at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Portbyhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portbyhan Hotel Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing