We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Looe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #14 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Looe
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

The location of this caravan park is great for exploring the area and Looe itself is only a short drive away.
The caravan was quite clean and included all items specified. The bed rooms were large enough and had some useful storage. The shower was a little tempremental at times, although it would be difficult to expect better in a static caravan.
We used the park as a holiday base and did not really use the on site entertainment much.
All in all, a good base for exploring the area, with plenty of things going on if you wanted to stay on site for a day.
We would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livingstonray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    219
    139
    53
    41
See reviews for
362
102
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

another fantastic new year at looe bay.stayed in a DOWNDERRY caravan,lovely van,full central heating,lovely furnishings,spotlessly clean.nice well kept site.very warm and friendly staff and a great manager.takeaway food great,great staff there also.nice clean pool.nice little relaxing bar.good clubhouse,good dj.all in all a great holiday cant wait to go again.the staff and management work so hard to see that we all have a great new year.wouldnt go anywhere else for new year.thanks looe bay.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilaswheels007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
local
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We bought this holiday from a family member following the death of one of their party.
I am pregnant and due to a debilitating back condition am required to swim each day.
The pool was unaturally hot and unacceptably filthy. There were bits floating in the pool every day, particularly in the shallow end.
My partner and I both accidentally ingested some of the water and suffered stomach problems for days after. As a pregnant woman diarrhoea and vomiting is quite a concern.
Pool users are required to remove shoes upon entry to the pool area, I do not understand then how the changing rooms could be so fthy? The floorscwere disgustingly dirty and the shower room was clearly not cleaned during the week we were there. When the pool was quiet the lifeguards could have swept or mopped but instead they chose to play table tennis.
The caravan itself wasn't pristine, the bathroom sink had an unsightly couple of clumps of hair and fluff and the lounge carpet was stained all over.
We did not sample the entertainment as we were happy to enjoy looe itself and surrounding areas so cannot comment on the entertainment or the dining. The staff were friendly enough but this is definitely a low budget holiday. Go with no expectations and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attishooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Looe hotels

west yorkshire
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Looe Bay, was a very friendly site. Every worker couldn't do enough for you, with a no cost smile.
The caravan, tended to be used, but we do understand the amount of work that is expected out of the cleaners,when crowds of people turn up and want to get in their caravan earlier than stated on their booking confirmation form. Only the living room carpet, was a let down. The beds, bedding , windows kitchen area was perfectly clean.
There is a regular bus service into Looe and back. You can go by train, cheap to Plymouth from Looe. Come to that the very pleasant, ticket man in the stations office (which is unusual in our part of Yorkshire) said you could if you planned well ahead, get a return ticket to London for £7 if you are organised. How good is that. A taxi from Looe up to the site is £6 day time , £7 night time. 4 in the car. isn't much more than the bus. So you don't feel you have to stay on the site every night if you want to have a drink safely.
The food in the restaurant when we ate ther, you got what you paid for. It wasn't too expensive. But the plates were full, you had to be hungry. We were only wanting a med. sized meal, so we opted for 2 meals for £9. I think it was. In which we chose fish & chips ( not my usual meal) the fish was a beauty! and you weren't filling up on chips, at that size. The waiters/waitresses were working really hard too. It was a popular place. Which shows how good it is..
Our teenagers, went out into the club house every single night.( our daughter doesn't normally do that) The entertainers were not "refused from X Factor by Simon Cowell" they worked really hard. There were some particular singers / comedians, that had outstanding voices. A girl has a matter of fact stood out, far from the rest of them, she was good.
They did a Take That tribute, the audience were really taken on, with them. They truly did work hard.
When you go on holiday, you don't go to find the mistakes or wrongs of everyone or everything. You go to have a break from home, from working to chill out. That's what we wanted, that's what we got.
Last year we went on QE2 to New York. wE DIDN'T even think of comparing the two holidays. We chose to go on each one and we enjoyed each one. Even the weather was good to us

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romaround33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We travelled as a family with a couple of teenage girls. It was Ok for them but given the price we'd have expected a bit better which was similar to a holiday in France including a ferry crossing.

There was no furniture provided to sit outside the caravan like we have come to expect in France.

If we had sat out there were a lot of wasps which inhabited the nearby bin and kept coming into the caravan. We would have thought that the staff would have sprayed insecticide in the bins when they were emptied

Reception was closed when it should have been open on one occasion and we got quite a frosty reception when we went into the bar to ask for what we wanted

The entertainment was OK but a bit cheesy.

Some of the other guests wer a bit "rough". I discovered later that this holiday park features in offers in The Sun newpaper.

I don't think I'll be going back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deerplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I'll be totally honest without sounding snobish, arrogant or in any way offensive but we have always stayed in hotels whenever we have travelled abroad or through the uk and although Looe is lovely, scenic and the beaches are beautiful, my family and I were just couldn't get to grips with the caravans, or mobile homes as they call it these days. It just didn't feel clean. You can hear the noise from outside first thing in the mornings. You can feel the whole thing move if someone else moves within or outside for that matter. The seagulls just drive you mad first thing in the morning. Bathroom is small but the power showers are the best thing about them ! On a Xve note the entertainment for kids is great, Looe itself is lovely.

Would love to go back the devon/cornwall itself and explore further but will certainly be steering clear from holiday parks and stick to hotels. Please reader don't get me wrong its great for people who are used to this sort of thing and like the self catering thing and you can save ££££. But not for us..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MannyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stayed at Looe Bay for 5 nights and have to say I was really impressed. The park itself is spotless and in a fantastic area. Not the biggest park but had plenty to do for my 2 children, aged 8 and 2.....Tennis courts, outdoor and indoor play area, swimming pool and crazy golf. The swimming pool is pretty basic but has a really nice seating area to the side. As the weather was lovely it was nice to sit outside while my eldest went in and out of the pool, while I could watch her easily through the glass walls. We didnt go to any childrens entertainment in the day but the evening entertainment was spot on for them. Its your typical cheesy holiday park entertainment but the kids loved it! The Parkdean troupers got them involved in plenty of games and dancing and there were team competitions every night. After the kids stuff there was either cabaret, shows or comedians aimed at the adults. Wasn't really my cup of tea but there were plenty who stuck around and seemed to enjoy it.
We stopped in a St Neot Caravan. As with any caravan, as long as you're not expecting a 4 star hotel you will be fine! It was clean and didnt smell of smoke, and was decorated fine. There was a heater in the main bedroom and heated towel rail in the bathroom. I am super fussy so brought my own bedding but what they provided looked clean and well kept. If you want me to be really picky there was a bit of paper peeling of the wall near the caravan door and the handle came off the boiler door but thats pretty much it!
We ate in the restaurant one night and that was the only thing I wasnt impressed by. We had the carvery which was good value at 4 for £20 but it was pretty poor. Just a bit bland and tasteless. They were really accomodating and cooked me quorn sausages as a replacement for the meat. They were like rock though and inedible, they had been well and truely nuked in the microwave. My husband very politely told them, only to be advised that they only cook them once a year. Bit of a poor excuse. But hey, you cant have everything!
Looe itself is lovely and there are loads of restaurants and shops. The kids had hours of fun crabbing and I ate lots of cream teas :)
Nearby polperro and polkerris beach also made a good day out. The Eden project and a ton of other family attractions are all really near so we were spolit for choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
1.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Tencreek Holiday Park
3.9 mi away
Killigarth Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park
Address: East Looe | Cornwall, Looe PL13 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Looe
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So lively, so lovely, you'll want to stay!Remember those good old fashioned holidays when you ate ice cream on the beach, dug around in fascinating rock-pools and learned how to 'crab' off the harbour wall? Well they're back and just as brilliant as ever at lovely Looe Bay. There's always plenty to do on park, but head into pretty Looe itself and you can hop aboard a sightseeing boat and enjoy a coastal cruise. Where, with your camera to hand, you can start collecting some wonderful new memories. * A lively park in a quiet country setting * One mile from the quaint fishing harbour at Looe * Visit Looe's glorious sandy beach * Heated pool and great on-park activities * Fabulous Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Looe Bay Holiday Park Hotel Looe
Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing