We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for what we paid”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Looe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #16 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Looe
wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK for what we paid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Booked using the Sun coupons which I suppose for what we paid around £120 for the weekend with the extras added on for a family of 2 adults and 2 children was ok. How they manage to get away with what Parkdean charge I really dont know. The caravan itself was ok in size for us, but the smell of stale sweat and cigarette smoke when you opened the door was disgusting. The van was cleaned on the surface, but the shower needed a deep clean. Lovely hot water and there was central heating which was welcomed as it was very cold. The mattresses on all beds definately needed replacing as did the pillows. As for the park itself it really could do with a makoever. Kids play area was ok. Didnt use the pool so cant comment. Entertainment was very good and the team did a good job to keep everyone entertained. One person in the team stood out her name is Lois and what a fantastic voice she has. Drinks at the bar were overpriced but they always are in places like these.

I think Parkdean really need to review their prices for accommodation if they are going to leave the park as it is, but in my opinion it really does need a revamp especially as far as the accommodation is concerned.

Would I go again, definately to Looe/Polperro stunning area, to Looe Bay very doubtful until it has an revamp.

Room Tip: We stayed in caravan 177 the location was great, get some air freshner before going in and cleaning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    215
    135
    52
    41
See reviews for
356
100
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights during October. The overall site is looked after well however needs a bit updating with the decor. The caravan was also smaller compared to other Parkdean sites for 4 people (2 adults and 2 children) was a squash.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank duesouth2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent the weekend here just for a break Yes this place is a bit dated but its got wit it says on the tin could do with upgrading facilities are good the indoor pool is warm and clean the caravans fir a group of 4 is adequate its got everything you need they do get cold but the heatin do work they could do with upgrading but I think if you upgrade u get a better caravan
All in all a good weekend

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having previously stayed at some *unnamed* competitor sites, I was very pleased with our long weekend at Looe Bay. The caravan was clean, large (extra wide), well equipped and warm and comfortable, despite poor weather at night. We stayed in a two bedroom caravan, and had two single wardrobes and a chest of drawers in the double room with still plenty of room to walk about, which was a first for me.The caravan could have done with a few new frying pans but that would be my only suggestion! Staying on a "Sun" holiday, I was glad the Holiday park took the opportunity to upgrade us from a basic caravan - afterall, in off season, it just makes marketing sense to assign people the best available. My family of 4, with two boys, 3 and 10 had a great time. An indoor softplay area was the youngest's highlight and the elder was in the pool most of the time. The pool is basic, no fancy waterslides, etc but kid's liked it and it wasn't very busy, being October. The changerooms needed a bit of work and the pool was a bit deep for toddlers though. The clubhouse was clean, not too overwhelming with the arcade madness and the children's entertainment was enjoyable; we didn't stay for the cabaret. We drove to the picturesque village and beach of Looe, but you could probably walk with older children. Approaching the end of season, some parts of the holiday park could do with a bit of a touch up, ie; the outdoor mini golf course and the mascot's play houses and perhaps the ripped carpet (and very strange odour) in the toilet near the lounge might be fixed up. Overall, I was pleased with the site and impressed with the caravan. As a bonus, after a long drive down to arrive on the Friday evening to arrive about 7pm, a local Chinese take-away will deliver directly to your caravan door, which was suggested by the friendly and helpful woman on reception!

Room Tip: We stayed in #102! It was a close walk to everything and not near a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kickinkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Caravan was comfortable and clean enough. The clubhouse was typical of a holiday park but we didn't avail ourselves of the entertainment just had a few drinks in the bar.
The site has all you need for a family holiday and is just a couple of minutes drive from Looe village, it would have been nice to walk to the village but the road has no paths , is bendy and fairly busy so could be quite treacherous for walkers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swan2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Looe bay Parkdean Holiday Park.

What can I say? Well a few things actually...

Lets kick this off with Swaggerman.

Swaggerman as we liked to call him with his shaved head and stubble covered face would patrol the Amusements feeling very important. Swinging his key chain round and generally looking like some type of kinky jailer.

During day one and a game of pool with my son we found the white ball accidently potted but not returned. I stood outside Swaggermans pit for at least five minutes without show. Feeling fed up I asked a member of staff who was on patrol that proceeded to find El’Swagger outside having a crafty fag.

On his smelly return he marched past me just saying “what’s up?” and looking like he wanted me dead. He did get the ball eventually but can’t say he looked too impressed.

On returning from our walk to Looe bay we stood in amazement as he drove rally style out of the establishment engine screaming/exhaust roaring in his chavy car, looking all impressed with himself. Obviously off to some important board meeting or drop off, whatever.. Now I see why the park leaflet had instructions for children on how to safely cross the road..

Swaggerman, they give you the red top for a reason. Ever seen Star Trek?

Entertainment.

Congratulations to the plump blonde guy who went balls out to impress the kids at the park with his all out tacky showmanship. The highlight being the evening he sang and danced on stage. I could only compare it to a one legged Lady Gaga in a neck brace having an asthma attack. “Don’t stop believing” he bellowed out, believe me mate, I couldn’t..

The magician was amazing. He managed to make the entire audiences expectations spectacularly disappear within seconds.

Quick hello to the drunk man at the bar who started an argument with me for asking to watch the Newcastle UTD game that they had been advertising as showing since we had been there. He actually thought I should ask him nicely to watch it! LOL! Man up guys behind the bar who were afraid to switch over the cricket. Just disregard the fact that people had turned up to watch the match THAT YOU ADVERTISED AS SHOWING!!!!

Highlight was the security guard who genuinely was the nicest guy I spoke to apart from maybe the QPR fan behind the bar who still managed a joke after they were beaten earlier that day.

The caravan was actually very nice and very tidy. The site was perhaps a little small. The people in the shop seemed very nice, perhaps a little too nice. I was slightly concerned her smile was hiding the fact she was holding a concealed weapon under the kiosk just wishing she could use it on me.

Overall good holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend at the end of September 2012. The caravan we were allocated 078 was very worn and the upholstery and carpets were filthy !
We certainly did not want to walk barefoot about the van. In hindsight we should have brought some throws with us to put over the upholstery. The bathroom had a smell of stale urine about it no matter how much cleaning was done. Generally throughout the van there was mould and mildew here there and everywhere plus numerous thick cobwebs.
The park itself is very tired and in dire need of an update with the pool being extra shabby. All a shame really as we are regular customers of Parkdean
Certainly think the name is misleading too as it is nowhere near the bay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bouncerbeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
1.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Tencreek Holiday Park
3.8 mi away
Killigarth Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park
Address: East Looe | Cornwall, Looe PL13 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Looe
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So lively, so lovely, you'll want to stay!Remember those good old fashioned holidays when you ate ice cream on the beach, dug around in fascinating rock-pools and learned how to 'crab' off the harbour wall? Well they're back and just as brilliant as ever at lovely Looe Bay. There's always plenty to do on park, but head into pretty Looe itself and you can hop aboard a sightseeing boat and enjoy a coastal cruise. Where, with your camera to hand, you can start collecting some wonderful new memories. * A lively park in a quiet country setting * One mile from the quaint fishing harbour at Looe * Visit Looe's glorious sandy beach * Heated pool and great on-park activities * Fabulous Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Looe Bay Holiday Park Hotel Looe
Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing