We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit - wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Absolutely excellent on all fronts. Lovely room, clean with stunning views. Only booked B&B at the hotel - breakfast was very good. My husband enjoyed the full English or should I say Cornwall fry up, most of it was fresh local produce. Will certainly use this hotel when next time in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank victor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 767 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2014

Not disappointed on our return to this excellent Hotel where the food is so imaginative and of a high standard, and the service is excellent. Its superb location ensures a peaceful and relaxing break. We have experienced two different bedrooms so far, in the main building and in the garden, and both were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. This Hotel comes highly recommended and we shall return- what more is there to say.

Room Tip: No preference-we regard all situations as excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Trelaske Hotel and we were again "blown away" by the hospitality and food experienced during our week in sunny Cornwall. My wife and I continue to wax lyrical to all of our friends and family over just how good the food that comes out of Ross's kitchen is. We were again treated to a superb selection of local produce, cooked to perfection and elegantly presented at all times. We have a number of "personal favourites" from previous visits that all appeared at different stages throughout the week, very happy indeed!
We chose the dinner,bed and breakfast option for the week. For the standard of food, this represented good value for money for us. Besides, with a taxi to Looe or Polperro costing between £7-8 each way, this would need to be taken into account if heading away from the hotel to eat - assuming that you are planning on a drink as well!
With the weather better than it had been on our previous visits, we took advantage of Hazel's excellent local knowledge by taking in some local walks. Beware of the steep walks down into Talland Bay and Polperro, or indeed the walks back (we got a taxi back from Talland Bay and a bus from Polperro, although currently the bus service isn't as reliable as it could be).
We have recommended the Trelaske to some good friends who enjoyed their recent "experience" as much as we do each time we visit.
Look forward to a visit in 2015, and hope that business booms for this great couple in the future.

Room Tip: We always choose room 6 for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Timbo49_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Another wonder stay at Trelaske Hotel, this year for the first time we stayed in Lodge 5 as 6 was occupied and it was just as spacious and comfy. The food as ususal was local produce and so tasty, the sausages were especially good this year!! Hazel was very welcoming and friendly offering trip advice to all residents, the sun shone and it was a wonderfull stay in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUNE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and I have visited Trelaske Hotel at least 8 times over the past 4/5 years;
and whilst experiencing very changeable weather during our visits, things that never change are the pleasant accomodation, exceptional food quality, and the sheer professionalism and friendliness of Hazel, the co-owner.
Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean.
As I and other reviewers have written, this hotel is a little gem, and guests who only reserve bed and breakfast accommodation are really missing out. The wine list is excellent, comprising a range of wines to please most tastes and pockets...
Already planning our next visit.
Thank you Hazel, Ross and staff...
Isabel and Derek

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solymar47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Hazel is such a good hostess and couldn't do enough for us. The food is such a delight, well cooked and presented and a wonderful variety of tastes. Ross is obviously passionate about his food. Our room overlooked the garden and was a tranquil haven in which to rest and relax. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending Trelaske to anybody. Try it you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

From the warm welcome to the final good bye. Everything about our 6 day stay was perfect. The resterant food and service was excellent. The location was perfect with wild rabbits hopping across the lawn. Thank you so much Hazel for making our stay so wonderful. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: We had a "family room" which had two separate bedrooms. This was ideal for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
1.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
908 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
1.5 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
503 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
276 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Polperro Road, Looe PL13 2JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Price Range: $165 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant is a multi award winning 3 star and 2 AA Rosette for excellent food independent and owner run small hotel. Voted the number 1 hotel in the Looe area according to independent reviews on TripAdvisor for the last 5 years. Set in 4 acres of peaceful gardens, conveniently located between Looe and Polperro. Owner run, we pride ourselves on personal service, comfortable rooms and fantastic seasonal food in a relaxing and peaceful environment. All rooms have balconies or patio areas and baths and showers with luxurious complementary toiletries and flat screen televisions. 3 lounge areas with full bar serving real Cornish ale and extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelaske Hotel And Restaurant
Trelaske Hotel Looe
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing