We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

At the beginning of June we spent yet another fantastic holiday at Trelaske. As soon as you arrive a friendly welcome awaits you from Hazel. The meals prepared by Ross are simply superb, the best we have ever found in Cornwall. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable.
The hotel is ideally situated within easy reach of attractions that will please everybody.
We have already booked again for later in the year and can't wait.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are spacious and comfortable with views across Cornwall from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    46
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
583
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at Trelaske for 2 nights at the end of June 2014. We chose the hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed.

We stayed in room 6 which was spacious and had amazing views over the countryside, and a balcony and Jacuzzi bath. Our room was clean, well maintained, spacious and so quiet and peaceful. Wonderful, romantic views to wake up to, and to watch the sunset.

Hazel and Ross are attentive, friendly and professional hosts. We did not want for anything and Hazel could not do enough for us, and offered plenty of advice about the local area, walks, and transport. It was the little touches and attention to detail that made the difference for us, for example, remembering that I had asked if there was any soya milk at breakfast, and the next morning already having a little jug on our table waiting for me.

The breakfasts and dinners are locally sourced, with fresh fish and local meat cooked to order, and we loved that Hazel and Ross grow much of their own fruit and veg. We were stunned that Ross did all the cooking himself, with no chef training! He should apply for masterchef! We had booked dinner in the Hotel restaurant on the Friday night, and ended up also booking for the Saturday as the food was so good.

The hotel is perfectly located between Looe and Polperro - 2 miles to both, and set in lovely well maintained grounds which you are free to wander.

We also found the bar in the hotel well stocked and reasonably priced.

We would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which is spacious and has a dual aspect and balcony with great views. Also a lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelinspect77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We've just finished our third stay and once again we hope to go back again next year.

Hazel & Ross did their usual excellent job. The room and bed were very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with home-made muesli, wide range of fruit and juice and well cooked food.

Dinner starts with speciality home-cooked bread and continues with first class food and fresh vegetables from their garden.

We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Seven days of sheer bliss. The hotel is approx 2 miles outside of Looe and 3 miles from Polperro. We found this to be excellently placed as we could easily walk into town and get the bus back -. just ask Hazel and she will provide you with any information that you require! For our week we stayed in Room 8 as we had intended to bring our dog. This was located to the side of the hotel with patio doors leading onto a small patio area with seating and then large stretch of grass and shrubbery. The room itself was light and airy with an incredibly comfortable bed. We both slept like logs ! Hazel is great "front of house" and of course Ross is brilliant in the kitchen. What else do you need for a wonderful holiday - apart from good weather ! Would we go back! of course - and sooner the better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Our two night stay on the 13/14 June 2014 was perfect. From Hazel's meet and greet to our farewell was all one could ask for. Our room, number 6 had delightful views towards Bodmin Moor from our balcony and views over the kitchen garden from the large side window.
With Hazel front of house and Ross in the kitchen you received the personal attention of the joint owners, they both work very hard to make your stay very enjoyable.
The food Ross prepares is excellent and the award of two rosettes is well deserved. Breakfast and Dinner are prepared with care using the finest local ingredients, the fresh caught fish a delight.
The Trelaske Hotel is a good base to visit the many attractions the area as to offer. There are many walks from the hotel which Hazel will advise you on.
Tony & Gloria

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just arrived home after another wonderful stay at 'Trelaske'.
Hazel takes a real interest in her guests and clearly enjoys making us feel 'at home'.
Breakfast and Dinner is a treat.All meats,fish,vegetables and ingredients are sourced locally.A great choice of food cleverly and expertly prepared by Ross- ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!
We had a spacious room overlooking the garden,spotlessly clean,very comfy bed and well appointed bathroom.
We had arranged our stay to coincide with our Wedding Anniversary.There is no better place to spend such a special occasion.Hazel and Ross ensured everything was perfect.
Overall a superb Hotel with a very efficient and extraordinary service.An oasis of calm in a very stressed world.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Our choice of the Trelaske was influenced by the reviews on Trip Advisor. Rarely do I agree with all the other reviewers, but in this case the praise is well deserved. Our room (5) was large and comfortable and the meals were excellent. Hazel is at pains to emphasise that all the food is locally sourced, and most of the vegetables and herbs are grown in their own garden. The most impressive part of our stay was the attention to customer care. One had only to ask once for Earl Grey tea and fresh milk in our room, and they appeared every day. Other preferences were remembered and anticipated.....most impressive .....larger and more expensive establishments could learn from the Trelaske's example. The worry is that this part of Cornwall is not affluent, and consequently Hazel and Ross struggle to be a profitable concern. They deserve to do well.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
1.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
24.0 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Polperro Road, Looe PL13 2JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant is a multi award winning 3 star and 2 AA Rosette for excellent food independent and owner run small hotel. Voted the number 1 hotel in the Looe area according to independent reviews on TripAdvisor for the last 5 years. Set in 4 acres of peaceful gardens, conveniently located between Looe and Polperro. Owner run, we pride ourselves on personal service, comfortable rooms and fantastic seasonal food in a relaxing and peaceful environment. All rooms have balconies or patio areas and baths and showers with luxurious complementary toiletries and flat screen televisions. 3 lounge areas with full bar serving real Cornish ale and extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelaske Hotel And Restaurant
Trelaske Hotel Looe
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing