We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for a week in September when the weather was mixed so we were unable to sit outside on our little patio and the view north to Bodmin Moor appeared and disappeared. Our room was very well furnished and comfortable and so was the lounge.

We ate in every evening and looked forward to our dinner as much at the end as the beginning of the week.. Ross gives interesting touches to his vegetable accompaniments and we have enjoyed at home what we think is his take on red cabbage and blackberry juice. Fish was invariably fresh and the breakfast bacon some of the best we've experienced.
Hazel and Ross are a very hard working couple who give excellent value for money.

The large dining room and relatively few dinner guests, well spread out, provided limited opportunity for interaction with our fellow guests - which could, of course, be what many desire.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarkinkudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 757 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a small, pleasant, 3-star hotel - excellent value for money, very conveniently situated between Polperro and Looe and very quiet. The rooms in the house are not enormous but perfectly adequate, with nice bathrooms and spotlessly clean. The rooms have a view, although much obscured by trees. I believe the annex rooms are bigger and possibly have a better view, but we wanted wifi and the annex rooms do not have that. Hazel is a lovely welcoming woman and goes out of her way to make your stay a pleasant one. But what really makes this place special is the food, cooked by the elusive Ross (we only got a glimpse of him). Can that man cook!!!! Lovely fresh ingredients, cooked and served to perfection. The restaurant deserves to be full every evening and locals ought to beat a path to the door. On the evenings we ate there, there were not many other guests but of course it was mid October and the beginning of the week.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the house if you want Wifi or for the annex if you want more space.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somersettraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We ended our 'late break' in Cornwall with three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it.The service and cuisine are absolutely superb. Hazel was very welcoming and showed us around when we arrived. We were allocated a table which was a nice touch as we could walk straight in to breakfast and sit at our table without standing like a lemon not quite knowing what to do in the morning. Our room was lovely with an excellent view. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for us ladies! The bathroom was excellent with a lovely shower and bath . The room was tastefully decorated and all was immaculate. Breakfast was superb with a lovely choice of fruits and berries - we particularly liked the apricots marinated in lime juice and vanilla! The cooked breakfast with local ingredients was delicious too.
And the dinners!! Ross produced the most delicious meals, with fresh fish on the menu every day with fresh vegetables from the garden and we also looked forward to hearing Hazel's description of the ingredients. Hazel too was very helpful and knowledgeable about places to visit and nothing was too much trouble. All in all a lovely lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be good - first floor have outside balconies with good views lower rooms have...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broadlybentspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ended our holiday in Cornwall and the Scillies at this hotel. it was great to have two rooms adjoining and Hazel was very welcoming. The food was delicious and all well described. The Hotel cannot cater for passing trade and there were only a few other guests especially at dinner. We were at the Hotel in early August.
Our one criticism was to charge full whack for our daughter's meals (aged 7) and on that basis I would not recommend the Hotel for families who wish to eat evening meals on the premises. With the benefit of hindsight I should have asked beforehand, but this has not happened to us previously;y. I did not complain as we had been well treated and I had not raised the issue on booking. The menu did not really cater for young children but they kindly adapted to simple chicken breast and ice cream...and fruit juice (over £30)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farnboroughcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

As we have visited this hotel about seven times before, we knew we could expect the same unfaltering level of excellence experienced on the very first visit.

Have just run out of superlative adjectives to describe every aspect of this hotel regarding quality of room, service and food.
Constantly recommending it to friends, then immediately regretting it as people return again and again like us ...and we want to be able to book up!!
Would like to keep it our secret, but that wouldn't be fair!

Room Tip: All lovely but particularly like the garden rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent 4 days at the Trelaske Hotel and Restaurant and only wish we'd stayed longer.The hotel is set in lovely peaceful grounds and the room we stayed in had a great view. The room was good size, well furnished and spotlessly clean with a huge bathroom with the best shower you could wish for after a day out walking. However what impressed us most was the warm welcome and personal service from Hazel and Ross - nothing was too much trouble. The food was just superb with locally sourced produce together with home grown vegetables and Looe fresh fish daily - Ross produced 5 star quality food. Hazel is a genius when it comes to information for walks, activities and attractions in the area and all given with a smile, no matter what time of day. Well done to you both. We would recommend your hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: In my view all rooms would be good but room 3 that we stayed in was lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just returned home after spending a week at the wonderful Trelaske Hotel and Restaurant. What a little gem! Everything about this hotel is just superb, from its peaceful secluded location to the warm, sincere hospitality and the fine dining experience.

Our room was a garden room, which was spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean. However, what makes this hotel so special is the front of house management by Hazel and the wonderful cuisine prepared by Ross.

We wish we had been able to stay for longer than a week and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
1.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
876 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
1.5 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
271 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
474 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Polperro Road, Looe PL13 2JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Price Range: $156 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant is a multi award winning 3 star and 2 AA Rosette for excellent food independent and owner run small hotel. Voted the number 1 hotel in the Looe area according to independent reviews on TripAdvisor for the last 5 years. Set in 4 acres of peaceful gardens, conveniently located between Looe and Polperro. Owner run, we pride ourselves on personal service, comfortable rooms and fantastic seasonal food in a relaxing and peaceful environment. All rooms have balconies or patio areas and baths and showers with luxurious complementary toiletries and flat screen televisions. 3 lounge areas with full bar serving real Cornish ale and extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelaske Hotel And Restaurant
Trelaske Hotel Looe
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing