We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. We got what we wanted which was a quiet relaxing time with some interesting and excellent food. Hazel was very helpful at front of house whilst Ross worked his culinary magic in the background. The room and en suite were spacious and comfortable without being overly luxurious. The bed itself was very comfortable. The walk from the hotel to Talland Bay, round to Polperro and back was easily acheivable(6 miles) but Hazel had furnished us with the local bus numbers if required.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    48
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
67
606
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here in July for 3 nights, and chose Trelaske for our trip to Cornwall because of such good tripadvisor reviews. I agree with much of what other contributors said about the welcome from Hazel and the outstanding food, but we just didn't really like our room very much. It was one of the garden rooms, large and with a comfortable bed and easy chairs but inadequate bedside reading lamps, none at all on one side of the bed. When we arrived the room smelt strongly of unpleasant air freshener or polish, and we had to keep the sliding doors open for a long time to get rid of the smell. This was not a good way to start a holiday. The bathroom was ok but needed modernising . Possibly the rooms in the main house are better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jandgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

As we were a family of 5 , 2 adults and 3 children we had to be accommodated in two rooms. Didn't know the layout of the hotel but was disappointed that we were shown to an annexe but happy to be able to park the car by the room. Unfortunately room 6 + 8 were not next door and therefore sharing wash bags and living from one suitcase was difficult for our two nights. Both rooms were large, but room 8 particulary large with a double and single bed adjoining. The living area with couch could so easily have been a pull out bed for two children. Check in was 2pm and I was annoyed from the off when the owner asked if we had dinner reservations in Looe for that evening as 5000 tourists were chasing 500 dinner places. Surely this is something I needed to know in advance so that I could have made plans. Dinner is offered in the hotel but with 24 notice required this was not an option, the owner gave options out of town if we were stuck. We were only in Looe for 2 days and wanted to go into town on our first evening out which found us dining in Archies which was a real low point of the holiday. The breakfast 8:30-09:30 is late for families with young children who were awake by 06:00 lots of hanging around. Cerials and continental to help yourself with cooked breakfast and toast to order. Too posh here for beans though, a grilled tomotoe. The grounds are pretty but there was an empty feel about the place. One family joined us on our first morning, then just one single traveller on the second. Couldn't believe it during a hot spell in the school holidays. The hotel is about a 10 minutes drive into looe and I think if I came to looe again I would opt for a hotel nearer town. The owner said a 50 minute scenic walk to town from to hotel. If I were to be tempted back I would want a family suite at a reduced price as I found £260 per night B&B disproportionate to what was on offer. Now Ive been Im very sceptical about the number of glowing reviews from first time reviewers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DebraZebra_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in July as part of a 10 day tour of 'doggie friendly' hotels in Devon & Cornwall. The setting is very quiet and peaceful, the rooms spacious, comfortable and well equipped - we also had a Jacuzzi bath. Hazel is very welcoming, brilliant at the front of house role and also more than helpful on ideas for day trips and local walks. She also has a lovely relaxed manner. The food was memorable, our first taste of the home baked bread told us we were in for something special, and we were not disappointed. Vegetables are straight from the garden, fish straight from the day boat, and all beautifully fully cooked by the mystery masterchef that is Ross.

I would certainly agree with previous reviewers that on a price/value basis this is hard to beat, and indeed we wished we had booked longer here, having spent more and received rather less elsewhere. We look forward very much to returning, and I would thoroughly recommend anyone to search out this little gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My family , 2 adults 2 children and 1 four legged friend spent a lovely relaxing break with our every need looked after by the lovely Hazel who couldn't,t do enough for you. The food was divine the best you can get anywhere prepared and cooked by Ross all fresh and home grown ingredients and the bread too was still warm delicious ! Even our 16 year old Retriever has had a spring in his step during our stay must have been the breakfast treats. A great place to stay hope to go back and would recommend all to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanning C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Somewhere to go to if you want to be spoilt. This is a friendly, not trendy, hotel that offers traditional quality of service. Our room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom and towels! The views were stunning.
What sets this hotel apart is the high quality of the freshest food cooked to perfection by the mysterious Ross and the service complemented by Hazel.
We went on the walks as suggested by Hazel (with very detailed notes), visited local areas as recommended by her and were not disappointed. Nothing appears to be too much trouble. This is a hotel I would highly recommend for a peaceful foodie break - no need to go to Padstow!!

Room Tip: Room 6 had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent two nights at the Trelakse Hotel and had a wonderful experience. Hazel the co-owner was warm and welcoming and very helpful with local knowledge. The room was clean and comfortable and although the weather didn't allow us to use it, we had a spacious balcony with a view of the well kept grounds. We enjoyed pre- dinner drinks in the comfortable lounge with lots of magazines and newspapers before enjoying a sumptuous three course meal prepared by Ross, the co-owner. The fish dishes in particular are some of the best we've had. The breakfast is freshly cooked to order and there is also a range of fresh fruits, home made compotes and home made spicy muesli. The owners' pride and commitment to ensuring a memorable stay is apparent and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
1.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
864 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
446 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
459 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Polperro Road, Looe PL13 2JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant is a multi award winning 3 star and 2 AA Rosette for excellent food independent and owner run small hotel. Voted the number 1 hotel in the Looe area according to independent reviews on TripAdvisor for the last 5 years. Set in 4 acres of peaceful gardens, conveniently located between Looe and Polperro. Owner run, we pride ourselves on personal service, comfortable rooms and fantastic seasonal food in a relaxing and peaceful environment. All rooms have balconies or patio areas and baths and showers with luxurious complementary toiletries and flat screen televisions. 3 lounge areas with full bar serving real Cornish ale and extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelaske Hotel And Restaurant
Trelaske Hotel Looe
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing