We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$106
$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Talland Bay Hotel(Porthallow)
$265
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveler rating
760
52
8
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
760
52
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshazel rosshome grown vegetablespoly tunnelsvegetables and herbsgarden roomcornish countrysidefront of housesurrounding countrysidebodmin mooroutstanding foodlocal producelocal walksfreshly caught fishsecond to nonepatio doorspeaceful locationcooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 821 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in July as part of a 10 day tour of 'doggie friendly' hotels in Devon & Cornwall. The setting is very quiet and peaceful, the rooms spacious, comfortable and well equipped - we also had a Jacuzzi bath. Hazel is very welcoming, brilliant at the front of house role and also more than helpful on ideas for day trips and local walks. She also has a lovely relaxed manner. The food was memorable, our first taste of the home baked bread told us we were in for something special, and we were not disappointed. Vegetables are straight from the garden, fish straight from the day boat, and all beautifully fully cooked by the mystery masterchef that is Ross.

I would certainly agree with previous reviewers that on a price/value basis this is hard to beat, and indeed we wished we had booked longer here, having spent more and received rather less elsewhere. We look forward very much to returning, and I would thoroughly recommend anyone to search out this little gem!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My family , 2 adults 2 children and 1 four legged friend spent a lovely relaxing break with our every need looked after by the lovely Hazel who couldn't,t do enough for you. The food was divine the best you can get anywhere prepared and cooked by Ross all fresh and home grown ingredients and the bread too was still warm delicious ! Even our 16 year old Retriever has had a spring in his step during our stay must have been the breakfast treats. A great place to stay hope to go back and would recommend all to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanning C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Somewhere to go to if you want to be spoilt. This is a friendly, not trendy, hotel that offers traditional quality of service. Our room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom and towels! The views were stunning.
What sets this hotel apart is the high quality of the freshest food cooked to perfection by the mysterious Ross and the service complemented by Hazel.
We went on the walks as suggested by Hazel (with very detailed notes), visited local areas as recommended by her and were not disappointed. Nothing appears to be too much trouble. This is a hotel I would highly recommend for a peaceful foodie break - no need to go to Padstow!!

Room Tip: Room 6 had excellent views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent two nights at the Trelakse Hotel and had a wonderful experience. Hazel the co-owner was warm and welcoming and very helpful with local knowledge. The room was clean and comfortable and although the weather didn't allow us to use it, we had a spacious balcony with a view of the well kept grounds. We enjoyed pre- dinner drinks in the comfortable lounge with lots of magazines and newspapers before enjoying a sumptuous three course meal prepared by Ross, the co-owner. The fish dishes in particular are some of the best we've had. The breakfast is freshly cooked to order and there is also a range of fresh fruits, home made compotes and home made spicy muesli. The owners' pride and commitment to ensuring a memorable stay is apparent and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a treasure we have found in the Trelaske Hotel near Looe. From the moment we walked through the front door we, and our two dogs, were made so welcome. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and with every convenience (even including Hot Chocolate and Horlicks on the hostess tray). The food is absolutely delicious , everything fresh from the sea, the garden and local farms, cooked to perfection and so attractively presented. The menu varies daily and after a most satisfying breakfast it is a real pleasure to select one's choices for dinner that evening. Hazel and Ross have created a real gem here and no wonder their guests return again and again - we certainly hope to do so, God willing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlroET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews