We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$106
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Talland Bay Hotel(Porthallow)
$266
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveler rating
760
52
8
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
760
52
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshazel rosshome grown vegetablespoly tunnelsvegetables and herbsgarden roomcornish countrysidefront of housesurrounding countrysidebodmin mooroutstanding foodlocal producelocal walksfreshly caught fishsecond to nonepatio doorspeaceful locationcooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 821 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just had two nights at this hotel. Hazel couldn't do enough for you. Food excellent as was the presentation. Different menu each night, with most herbs and vegetables grown by themselves. Room was bright and clean with lovely views. Fabulous place too stay.Very tranquil.;

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaPBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from a short break from this charming well secluded Cornish gem!!. Received a warm welcome from Hazel who was very helpful in all aspects, especially with regards to local knowledge and her attention to detail.
The room was bright and airy and very clean and had its own terrace and it was cleaned every day with clean towels and the bed was most comfortable.
The food was excellent all sourced locally and veg grown in their garden so fresh!! the extensive menu was explained to us daily in detail by Hazel and she remembered what drinks we required adding that personal touch.
Our stay was a delight as the area was stunning the sun shone but the hotel was the icing on the cake !!! everything about it was excellent well done Hazel & Ross !! I would recommend this to others and would definitely stay with you again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PScarlett555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Booked for two nights, but quickly changed to three nights. Hazel was the perfect hostess. Nothing was a trouble, great advice on local walks etc, including maps & notes ( prepared by hotel).
Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order. Room lovely. We stayed in room 1, in main building, great aspect, opened on to balcony with access to garden. Lovely guest lounge & bar area. Superb stay in tranquil garden setting. And to top it off, the evening meals were outstanding, presentation & service amazing, new menu each night, with at least two fish dishes reflecting catch of the day in Looe. Most vegetables &herbs from their own garden, picked same day. We ate at the restaurant three nights running and each night were presented with another pleasant surprise. A real gem. By far the best accommodation & restaurant experience on our trip.

Room Tip: Room 1 in main building excellent in all aspects.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We came back after a gap of nearly two years. We were immediately at home and everything was just as superb as our first visit. Even better in fact because the weather allowed us to sit out and enjoy the complete peace and fine views. The personal attention by Hazel and the unbelievably good food prepared by Ross are second to none. We are planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

It would be hard to beat Trelaske on a value/quality basis. Hazel and Ross work incredibly hard to help this hotel to punch well above its weight. The highlight must be the food. If you like fish, you should certainly take the option for the evening meal. During our stay we ate John Dory, Turbot, Sea Bass, Crab and Lemon Sole, all freshly caught out of Looe. Ross has a natural talent for sauces, and there were always about 4 different vegetable dishes of the highest quality to accompany, mostly home grown. Desserts were also wonderful with a good selection, and breakfasts were filling with an excellent choice of soft fruit compotes and good quality English Breakfast. The bedroom we had (No. 6 in the garden) and the public rooms were spacious and could easily accommodate a larger number of guests than those occupying the 7 rooms. As it is only 3 star there is no air conditioning in the bedrooms which made for a little difficulty sleeping during the hottest week for 7 years. It would have been helpful to have had a single sheet rather than a duvet (we never asked so this may have been an option), which was far too hot. However, by keeping the back door and windows open all night, it was possible to get a through breeze, and in any case, everyone was having the same problems in their own home that week as well. Free (but often slow) Wi-Fi was available until 10pm in the main building only as the bedrooms appeared to be out of range. The hotel is secluded and peaceful in lovely grounds. Hazel is a very warm, helpful and friendly host. We appreciated details of local walks, and when my wife asked if there was any Natural Yoghurt, she kindly purchased some so it was available for the rest of our week. The area is lovely, but if you like walking around the coastline you need to be able to cope with the ups and downs of the coastal path. The walks from Looe to Talland Bay and Talland Bay to Polperro were especially good, and we loved the 'difficult to find and access' beach at Lantic Bay. We felt at the end, that we had got a great holiday for a remarkably cheap price. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to explore this lovely area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews