We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect secluded and well equipped cottage, close...”
other travelers have booked this property
 Horseshoe Cottage, perfect hideaway.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Horseshoe Cottage, perfect hideaway.
A warm welcome awaits you at Horseshoe Cottage The cottage was originally a Cornish Shippen, animal barn, now tastefully converted.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Horseshoe Cottage, perfect hideaway.
A warm welcome awaits you at Horseshoe Cottage
The cottage was originally a Cornish Shippen, animal barn, now tastefully converted.
Main lounge area showing the window seat in bright sunshine.
Feature fireplace in lounge area.
Natural Oak flooring adds rustic charm to the seating area.
Lounge  with dining area beyond the original arch.
Hand painted pine dining set and antique  pew create a unique dining experience.
Aged slate style flooring and painted pine dresser lend rustic style to the cottage.
Reception area viewed from the kitchen.
Well equipped shaker style kitchen for serious cooks.
Secluded woodland views can be enjoyed from the kitchen window.
Rustic kitchen clock, not that time matters on holiday in Cornwall!
The tastefully decorated bedroom with king sized double bed.
Only rural country views from these windows. So quiet at night!
Large twin beds feature in the second bedroom.
Tasteful colour coordination throughout.
Whimsical features add charm to Horseshoe Cottage.
Modern sink unit in the newly refurbished shower room.
Modern shower unit with safety grip  for the utmost convenience.
Second toilet room with modern floor to ceiling tiling.
Daffodils in the field beyond the garden in early spring
Blackrock resort beach just a short walk from the cottage.
Patio area for that al fresco dining experience
High quality, comfortable patio furniture to relax on and enjoy the secluded garden.
Well equipped Utility Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
johnsheau...
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect secluded and well equipped cottage, close to beach and facilities”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second year we have stayed at Horseshoe Cottage, the owners Gill and Michael provide a very well equipped cottage which is presented to a very high standard and is really well equipped with everything you need for your stay.

It is in a lovely peaceful location with a very private garden and a patio which is a real sun trap.

On our arrival Gill and Michael greeted us with a tray of scones, jam and Cornish milk - which was really thoughtful and described by our granddaughter as "brilliant".

It is amusing to see the resident Pheasants wander through the garden as if they are checking out the new guests.

The beach at Milendreath is sandy with a cafe, bar and canoe hire facilities, it is ideal for young or older children as the water is shallow and there are lots of rock pools and beach to explore.

The cottage is ideal if you want to explore by car, take in the local walks or just enjoy a really relaxing time at the cottage.

We intend to stay again next year.

Well done Gill and Michael, we all loved Horseshoe Cottage and thank you for a lovely stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2017
Thank you for those kind comments, though coming back again next year is as good an endorsement as we could wish for. Looking forward to welcoming you all back next spring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ej2birche...
Yarragon, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our week long stay at Horseshoe Cottage, Millendreath was wonderful. Our hosts, Michael and Gill were welcoming and very helpful. With two bedrooms, and separate living and dining rooms the cottage would be great for a family of four or two couples. It has a well equipped kitchen and utility room. The local pheasants were even friendly! Of course, driving in this part of Cornwall includes narrow roads and high hedgerows including the roads to Millendreath and Horseshoe Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Thank you for your kind words - it was a pleasure to meet you both and we appreciate the clean and tidy condition you left the cottage in.

Best regards,

Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We found Horseshoe Cottage to be a perfect place to stay whilst exploring Cornwall. It's located just out of Looe on a quiet country lane. The only noise we heard other than our own voices was that of several Chinese Pheasants who frequented the cottage's back yard. Our hosts were delightful, meeting us with fresh warm scones, clotted cream and jam. The cottage is well appointed and comfortable. All and all, we had a wonderful stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
It was a pleasure meeting you both and we're glad you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice M
Loveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a delightful experience!”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent 17 days touring Cornwall and Scotland and this was our favorite lodging! The cottage is clean, bright, well equipped, and welcoming. The owners welcomed us with fresh scones, butter and jam and we had a few brief, but very delightful conversations! I would recommend this cottage to anyone visiting the area. There is plenty of space to walk and stores are accessible without being right in your backyard.
We hope to return to Cornwall some day, and if we do, this will be our lodgings of choice.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
You would be welcome anytime. It was lovely to meet you all.

Best regards


Michael and Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJJKaq
Maitland, Australia
1 review
“Great location and all you need”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Nice little hidden cottage, at Millendreath (close to Looe) just a 10 minute walk down to beach and cafe.
Lovely people.
It's on the Millendreath road-last possible turn to right before the village(looks like a driveway more than a road)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome, facilities and location
Liked least: The bedsheets and noisy fan from toilet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A tranquil little nook”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Horseshoe Cottage for the weekend of the Looe festival, whilst it was a £8 cab ride to the town it was worth it. The cottage is a home from home the kitchen, and I like to cook, had everything, even things I had brought were there, throughout it was the same even down to a fold away washing basket. The garden was secluded and well established, again a BBQ stored in the utility room and table and chairs on the Patio, we even had a resident Pheasant that came to enjoy breakfast with us. Great beds and everything was nice quality, clean and perfect for our stay. The owners live across the carpark and brought fresh scones, Jam, and clotted cream, which I have to say went perfectly with a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc, when they came to introduce themselves and couldn't have been more helpfull in organising Taxis's etc for us. The only negative is that it is a mobile not spot, there were four of us staying on three different networks and no coverage on any, but to be honest it is another way to add to the tranquillity of the place. Fantastic and will definitely be headed back for a weekend on our own.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a beautiful cottage in an idilic setting
Liked least: No Mobile signal
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickland1...
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect place to stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Horseshoe Cottage mid Sept 2016 and it was a truely wonderful experience. Not only is the cottage immaculately decorated , every amenity is there for a relaxing stay.Our hosts, Michael and Gill, who live in the house 50 metres away welcomed us with freshly made scones and there were fresh flowers on the table inside.The garden has a grassed area as well as a perfectly laid out patio area with table and chairs and of a morning or evening we had a delightful visit from Phillip,a very friendly pheasant who seems to have adopted Michael and his wife . Sitting outside at any time of the day ,reading ,snoozing or chatting is idyllic in such a peaceful environment.Situated near Millendreath, its only a 10 mins walk to the beach ,while Looe is only a 10 to 15 mins drive away.Parking at the large Millpool car park in Looe seems favorite as Looe soon fills up with visitors .Be prepared for some narrow lanes in Cornwall and Tesco van drivers don't seem to know where the brake pedal is situated!! There is plenty of parking right in front of the cottage and inside there are hand rails for those that need them. As every room is on one level the cottage is great for the older person and children. Booking Horseshoe Cottage could not have been easier and Michael answers all questions quickly and in a very friendly manner. His directions for driving up to the cottage were accurate and easy to understand. All in all Horseshoe Cottage is 5+ stars and somewhere we can highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and all the facilities that you could wish for in a perfectly decorated rental cottage .
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Thank you for those kind comments and for leaving the cottage in such immaculate condition. Much appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you both and Phillip sends his regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing