We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hillside Villa,

Main living dinning space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living dinning space
Main living dinning space Front bedroom with views of the hills
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Main living dinning space
Main living dinning space
Front bedroom with views of the hills
Front bedroom with views of the hills
Back bedroom with sea view and double bed
Back bedroom with sea view and double bed
View of the beach
View from the jetty, shallow protected bathing area
From the front
View of the wooded valley
Sea view from garden
Millendreath Holiday Villa/Chalet, Looe, Cornwall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlesto...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Hillside Villa, Looe?!

Pictures and location (including map locator) misleading. Felt conned.

Pictures and information has already been changed

Purposely misleading information at time of booking that did not make it clear how far away it was from Looe. No mention of It being in Millendreath.

Over 20 uneven steps , some of which with no handrail. Dangerous!

This was not working included in the pre booking information. Unsafe for small children impossible for anyone with any form of mobility issues.

The apartment was cold and all the pillows duvets mattresses were damp. Our hanging clothes got damp/wet.

Hot water pressure was no more than a dribble. You’d have to run around to get wet!

No wifi in the apartment and given that the phone signal was poor to non existence it was impossible to look up anything or call anyone easily.

The nearest bus stop is a half hour walk on a narrow road. To get to Looe the only alternative is a uneven, hilly, slippy coastal path that takes over 30 minutes.

The eclectic mix of furnishings and decoration made it feel cluttered with no clear thought or theme. There is far more than in the photos.

Some really nice things and then some tat which ruined it.

The roof of the apartment is the apartment above’s outside area/patio/decking.

Any movement from occupants above would be a significant nuisance.

If advertised as Millendreath and not misleading potential occupants to it being in Looe would overcome a lot of the comments above. But overall, it is a poor quality and unsafe villa with potential for significant nuisance.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
I take it you booked in haste rather than read the description attached. We advise against any children under the age of 5 due to the steps and slope. There are over 30 steps, 2 of those steps have no railing. In your emails to me you clearly knew there was a distance to travel to Looe as you asked about buses and how long the walk would take. The "tat" you refer to is for families, as you were an adult only booking you may not have appreciated the items, but families do. We clearly state there is no WiFi in the chalet but you can use the WiFi at the bar or restaurant. Some people like to get away from technology, again this is stated in the information. As for "wet bedding" and "low water pressure" had this been raised at anytime during your stay it would have been rectified. I have never known any issue with the water pressure and have made queries with the other owners in that block and they advise they did not experience any problems that weekend. The bedding I can only assume was cold to the touch. The extra furniture you mention, two extra dining chairs. Compulsory I would say rather than the one chair in the picture. Thank you for leaving the chalet clean, it was unfortunate that the weather was so bad and that the Looe music festival had a poor line up.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely location close to milendreath beach accommodation was very nice lots of little extras teabags,coffee,etc and kitchen cleaning stuff well equipped thanks.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
Really pleased you had a good stay. Happily welcome you back any time. Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasminesc...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very close to the beach”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a great holiday rental near the beach. The property was very clean and well equipped. Booking was easy and the owners dealt with any issues very quickly. The only thing is that the front garden is not fenced off. This means that you can't let younger children in the front on their own. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thanks Jasmine, glad you enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thankyou for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
elsapug
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“clean,comfortable,excellent place to stay”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a lovely time at Hillside villa, it was very clean, had everything that I needed to enjoy a comfortable stay, lovely clean site, a few minutes walk away from a clean beach with a lovely café and shop, great walks nearby, I will be looking to book another trip and would not hesitate to book this villa again, was a lovely place to stay

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean and comfortable
Liked least: had to walk a long distance to nearest shop
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2016
Thank you for your feed back and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay. Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H
1 review
“Perfect short break”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at this villa in September for 4 nights. It was absolutely spotless, well equipped and had a fantastic view of the beach. Absolutely as described and we would not hesitate to recommend this. The kitchen was great - every last thing had been covered, so if you forget to bring a can opener or corkscrew - don't worry. Any queries were answered by the owner, Gary, very promptly. There is not much reception for your mobile or internet, but this was perfect for us as it meant a thoroughly relaxing break. The Cafe on the beach is good, but beware - you cannot buy just an alcoholic drink as they only have a restaurant licence, which means you have to order food. The location is perfect, Looe is only a short walk away, but it does mean going up some steep steps and slopes for quite a way. Having said that, the views are breaktaking and you can be assured of a number of places for a welcome drink/meal in Looe. All in all, we would not change a thing and are definitely planning to go back - and for slightly longer this time. - Thanks for a great break Gary!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The villa was clean and very well equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2015
Thank you for your feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed in the Villa with my brother and his family in July 2015. Very enjoyable. The Villa had everything needed for a comfortable and relaxing holiday. The surrounding area is beautiful, with lovely beaches and woodland walks all to hand. The new shop and restaurant on the Millendreath beach is another attraction. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lots of steps.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2015
Thank you for your feedback, very glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing