We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Belvedere

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Radosław...
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Nice and quiet place to stay. 10 min to beach. Place for grill with banks and car park by house. Green and nice. We recommend a stay there.All happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian w
West Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“waist of time dont go here”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

No fish, the owner said the polish had stolen all the fish, So why are they still advertising this log cabin with fishing.
The lakes are choked with weed and are so over grown you cant get to them to fish.
The pictures on the add are nothing like the state of the lakes.
No battery in the smoke detector , in a wood cabin !!!!
Food deposits on cutlery , oven had not been cleaned.
Rubbish bin in kitchen had old food and dirty kitchen roll in it.
We arrived at 15.45 and left at 17.20 to find another place to stay for the week
I have had a refund from the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nothing
Liked least: no fishing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK1CHEF
kidderminster
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not as discribed on your site”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this place with the intention of fishing everyday on the lakes on site and on arrival was quite shocked at how rundown and over grown the whole place was .
There were 4 ponds (not lakes ) the first 2 nearest to the cabins were all over grown with weeds and shrubs blocking most of the places where you could possibly fish, but on closer inspection the pond its self was clear and full of weed and not a fish in site .
I then followed 2 lads who had rods in there hands to pond 3/4. After walking over rough ground and up several hills, and through a gate, we arrive at pool 3, where I saw abandoned kayaks/canoes, several dead trees, geese, and milky white water, no fish present. Still nowhere to fish without a clearance party.
Arrived at lake 4, one fixed pitch 18" under water and a 2ft gap to get to it, saw some signs of fish, but would still have to spend half a day clearing for 3 people to fish.
Having approached the owner, he informed me that he liked the natural look, then in the next sentence said that he hadn't maintained it for 3 years and would get rid of it tomorrow if he could.
The cabin itself was dated although would have been adequate, however it had not been cleaned, the cooking facilities were minimal and dirty, the smoke alarm had been disconnected, and several lights including the porch light were not working.
We asked for compensation as it was completely un fishable and would now have to stay there but would need to go and pay to fish elsewhere, and was told we could have a full refund or put up with staying where we were. The owner was very flippant and gave us the impression that he didn't care either way. He then said that we would need to get our refund through trip advisor and agreed to let us stay free of charge that night as it was late afternoon when we arrived. As it was, we found somewhere else to stay close by, at an additional cost of £545.00 for the four of us. Whilst we were very lucky to find somewhere so near so quickly, we then had to pay additional day rates to go and fish at a local fishing complex at a rate of £27 per day for the 3 of us. In all a holiday that should have cost £368 for 4 people, ended up costing us nearly £1000.00.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the idea of it
Liked least: false misrepresentation and advertising
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
si30muk
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, funfilled fishing trip with friends”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself and my fishing buddies stayed at Belvedere Cottage, It is a must if anyone wants some peace. lovely cottage nice location owners of cottage really nice and were happy to help with any needs. some great wild life around on a night to view. The cottage was clean and well maintained as well as comfortable. Looe Town is a short drive away as well as the beach. Ideal for people who love walking. We used the onsite carping ponds and went beach casting. Definitely a must to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Cant wait to book up next year for family and friends trip away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the nice peacefull area. so nice to sitt on the decking with a few beers enjoying the wildlife around as well as the night bright stars.
Liked least: leaving the cottage. going home if i had more time i would of stayed.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plamps
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what is needed to relax”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Log Cabin is located in a stunning peaceful location. Owner very friendly and welcoming. Our family really enjoyed being able to fish so close to the cabin, a very relaxing holiday. Close to a lovely beach with a fabulous restaurant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and peacefulness
Liked least: No mobile reception or Wi Fi
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbird67
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So relaxing a real oasis”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from Belvedere relaxed & refreshed absolutely fabulous week so peaceful will certainly miss our walks around the lakes watching the dragonflys skimming the water and sitting on the decking watching the horses on the hill and the birds of prey playing in the breeze. Can't wait to return next year already booked. Norma and all the guys very helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful place so quiet
Liked least: Wi-fi signal very poor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GypsyChes...
Chesham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely log cabin on an idilic site, complete with fishing lakes. Even if you don't fish, as we don't its lovely to just walk around the lakes looking at the wildlife. Our dog enjoyed it too. (Please note most of the ponds do not have fences so not somewhere for children to be unsupervised)

Plenty of room inside the cabin too, there were only 2 of us but it was more than adequate for 6, and all the equipment we needed. Thanks for the dishwasher tablets, we dont have a dishwasher at home so it was a treat not to have to wash up! Great to have heating in each room and the use of a washing machine and tumble drier.

Half a mile walk down to the beach at Millendreath, a sandy cove with lots of rockpools and a cafe/shop. Just a shame dogs aren't allowed on the beach between 10am-6pm.Only a short walk along the coastal path (towards Looe) to a sandy beach dogs are allowed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No WiFi or phone signal
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing