We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”
Review of The Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Looe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach House
Ranked #25 of 53 Looe B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Once again we returned to Looe for a few days and whilst again we stayed at the Beach House. Rosie & David continue to offer a B & B to the highest standards which includes the cleanliness of their rooms, the service they provide and those wonderful breakfasts. They are very attentive and willing to offer advice and guidance if so desired and are really interested in making your stay in Cornwall as enjoyable as possible. Rosie offers a fantastic breakfast ranging from a light continental through to the 'full monty' of a freshly cooked English. The rooms (and we stayed in (Whitsand) are tastefully decorated and well maintained offering great views of sea immediately to the front of the Beach House.

Looe is lucky in that it does have several very good restaurants and once again Mawgans continues to offer a wonderful menu of fresh food and in particular the seafood is fantastic - I would recommend them to anyone. We also dined at Trawlers for the first time since they have changed hands (are now part of the Barclay House hotel) and whilst the food was still very good the service had improved since our last visit.

We very much look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
94
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coulsdon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Beach House surpassed our expectations by a considerable margin. Rosie and David were two very attentive and friendly hosts. Their caring nature made us feel very welcomed and our stay was made more pleasurable because of their interest in our comfort and well-being. The first sign of that came from the moment we stepped through the door, tired from a long drive down from Surrey, and were offered a cup of tea and a slice of home baked cake. The accommodation (Mullion) had everything we could possibly want - extending to bathrobes and White Linen toiletries and any number of other little touches. The bed itself was very comfortable and sleep came easily. This was not the usual bland B&B room one would normally expect. Towels were changed daily and every day the room was "magically" returned to good order by the visiting housekeeper. Rosie is quite an accomplished cook and so breakfasts were eagerly anticipated - my favourite was the breakfast trifle - museli with fruit yoghurt topped with fresh fruit .... and I don't even like museli ... or yoghurt ... nor fresh fruit particularly !!!! That trifle was one of a few "starter" options with varied main courses to follow including of course, a full English with all the trimmings. The fact that we are now on self-imposed diets since returning, attests to our enjoyment of Rosie & David's breakfasts. The location was perfect overlooking the sea and in the quieter West Looe area. Tintagel, Plymouth & Penzance were all within a reasonable drive and so we went out an about quite a bit. We took up R&Ds restaurant recommendations and enjoyed some nice meals in the town. We had a very enjoyable stay at The Beach House and our 5* ratings are given without hesitation or qualification. Try it - enjoyment is assured. Carl & Margaret

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurseong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We have just returned from a lovely break staying at The Beach House , what a wonderful place to be.We had booked for 3 nights but were fortunate enough to be able to extend our stay to 5 and would have happily stayed longer if we could have.
Rosie and David made us very welcome in their beautiful home and all who worked in and around their home were lovely friendly people too.
Our room was exceptional,spotlessly clean and comfortable,with lots of added little extras ,lovely soft bath sheets changed every day and a lovely view across to Looe island.The breakfast was absolutely lovely with far more choice and beautifully presented ,eaten in a lovely dining room wih perfect views.
Yes you can find cheaper places but for the service and high qaulity standards that are kept by Rosie and David along with their friendly ,helpful but non intrusive attitude we felt this lovely B&B was well worth the money and would most definately recommend it and hopefully stay again if we return to Looe in the future.So thank you to Rosie and David .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denby92016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Lovely B & B, wonderful hosts and fantastic sea view.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkhorseespresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2010

This is by far the best guest house we have ever stayed in and our entire 4 night stay was faultless. My wife described it as home from home and i do not think it is possible to give higher praise than that. Perfect room, fantastic breakfast and the view is worth the room cost alone.
Rosie and David are splendid hosts and we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltagaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We have stayed here regularly twice a year for some time now and never been disappointed. The rooms are modern, comfortable and exceptionally well maintained. The owners are always welcoming and helpful and willing to advise for eating out etc. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights in October in the Fistral room which has spectacular views over the bay. Make sure you book this room as it cannot be beaten. The room was large with comfy chairs and a balcony. The bathroom was good quality and everything was spotlessly clean.
On arrival we were warmly welcomed with coffee and cake. As it was our anniversary Rosie had some fizz for us and had booked us a table for a lovely evening meal at Mawgans in town. On the other evenings Rosie recommended other excellent eateries and she was always available to help you with advice and suggestions.
The breakfast menu choice was very extensive and effort was taken to vary the components of the breakfast each day (e.g. the fresh fruit options changed each day). The views out over the bay from the breakfast room made it an enjoyable start to every day.
The location is very quiet but is about 15 minutes walk into town (it is a nice walk though).
Children are not accommodated which we felt was a plus.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
3.1 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#5 of 7 in Looe
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#1 of 53 in Looe
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Meneglaze B&B
Meneglaze B&B
#4 of 53 in Looe
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview
Seaview
#24 of 53 in Looe
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawyers Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: The Beach House Marine Drive | Hannafore, Looe PL13 2DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run business. All rooms are updated and repainted every year. Free on-site private car park. Breakfasts are cooked to order using local produce and award winning sausages. Quality linen, toiletries are used. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach House Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing