We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B by a long way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherrywood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cherrywood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 60 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best B&B by a long way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A little late with the review, but here goes..........
Stayed in August 2012....... Great welcome with offer of drink, help etc..., top quality rooms with modern furnishings, friendly people but not in your face, great breakfast...
Tried to stay there twice since, but no availability.............

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
218
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Friendly and welcoming hosts,lovely rooms,great breakfast and great location.This B and B has to be up there with the best Cornwall has to offer and we cannot recommend it highly enough.From the moment we arrived we felt totally relaxed and enjoyed our stay immensely.10/10

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Better late then never but here we go.

I stayed at Cherrywood Lodge in September with two of my American friends. It was their first experience in Cornwall and needless to say, Ralph and Annie were paramount in making this trip one to remember. Annie and Ralph could not have made us more welcoming from the outset of tea on arrival. We shared a family room which was beautiful.....to the extent that I joked that my suitcase would be heavier when we left!!. The room was well equipped, cosy, spotless and very tastefully decorated.

Ralph and Annie were very good with providing information about the surrounding area and their recommendations on where to eat were spot on.

The breakfast was lovely and I bought the jam pots as soon as I arrive back home.

An excellent B&B which we will be visiting again soon. I cannot recommend Cherrywood Lodge highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Cherrywood Lodge in September this year. It coincided with the music festival (which we were not aware of!), so Looe was very busy. Annie and Ralph were very welcoming, offering us tea and coffee on arrival. Our room and en suite were beautiful, very tastefully decorated and equipped with all you could need for a comfortable stay.
The breakfast was lovely and very plentiful. We look forward to visting again before too long.
An excellent B&B, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJJPFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our first time in a bed and breakfast, however if this experience is anything to go by then hotels are a thing of the past for us. Cherrywood Lodge had a wonderful feel to it, and the owners Annie and Ralph were lovely people, very helpful, and their knowledge of the area was very detailed. Our room was of the same standard of any five star hotel room, and the wet room added to the luxury. Breakfast was enormous and saw us through until the evening and everything was fresh, including the bread which was made by Annie on the premise. Unfortunately we missed our first breakfast as we didn't wake up due to the very comfortable bed. The location was ideal, and just a five minute scenic walk across the bridge into town. I would recommend this place to anyone, however this is the owners first year running the lodge and with their already very high standards , booking should be done at the earliest chance. Thank you for a memorable time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just spent 5 days at Cherrywood Lodge; beautiful room, very comfy and spotlessly clean, plus its own parking. I loved the different animals on the bed every day that Ralph makes up; my favourite was the bulldog. Ralph and Annie are just the best hosts - although they did want to feed us far too much at breakfast every day - but it was delicious! They both made sure that we had everything we needed every day, were genuinely interested in where we were going and always had very helpful suggestions, from how to get someplace to where to eat at night. Cherrywood Lodge is perfectly placed to explore all over Cornwall and Looe itself was nice to wander around and spend time on the beach there. Would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for B&B and would stay there again without hesitation. For best fish & chips, ask Ralph or Annie how to get to the Coddy Shack, or for lovely resaurant on Quay, try Sail Loft. Brilliant stay, brilliant hosts - thank you both very much. Les & Dawn

Room Tip: We had the "wet room" - bed was extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napton-on-the-Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We (2 adults, one 6 year old) had travelled a long way on our way to Cornwall and needed a stopover for one night. If we hadn't already booked a hotel for the night after in a different location we would have stayed here for a second night. Staying in a B&B is not our accommodation of choice but if all B&B's were like this we would stay in them all the time! Such friendly proprietors, lovely modern decor, spotlessly clean and tidy. The room was amazing, tastefully and most comfortably decorated and designed. The small touches were an added bonus to an already outstanding stay. Dressing Gowns in the wardrobe, cuddly toy on the bed for our son and a towel swan and choccies on his bed for bed time!

The breakfast was fantastic, copious amount of tea and toast - the bread is homemade and totally delicious. Very relaxing breakfast room and a foodie pleasure !

A most enjoyable stay presenting excellent value for money. Thank you Cherrywood Lodge, we will hopefully see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
2.0 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meneglaze B&B
Meneglaze B&B
#4 of 60 in Looe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin House
Dolphin House
#17 of 60 in Looe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherrywood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrywood Lodge

Property: Cherrywood Lodge
Address: Cherrywood Lodge Polperro Road, Looe PL13 2JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cherrywood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherrywood Lodge is a refurbished B & B property situated just a 5 minute walk from the town harbour in Looe, Cornwall. Annie the hostess provides a warm welcome to all visiting guests in a friendly Cornish environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Cherrywood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherrywood Lodge Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing