We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great send off in Looe”
Review of Cherrywood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cherrywood Lodge
Ranked #1 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Myself and a few friends were frantically ringing around on New Years Eve trying to find room for us all on Looe's busiest night of the year! With a stroke of luck we came across a newly renovated B&B with enough room for us all! By that point we would have been happy with a mattress on the floor! but turning up early evening, car park on location and right by the center of town we couldn't have been happier. After meeting the very lovely Anne and Ralph who made us feel very relaxed after our frantic day! Showing us our rooms we could have been in a 5* hotel, with all the mod cons and the most comfiest bed we've slept in in a long time! We couldn't have asked for anything more than what Cherrywood Lodge provided us. I even left my favorite top behind and Anne had it in the post and it was with me within days! Will definitely be staying here again and would recommend it to absolutely anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coral C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 405 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

Myself and my family happened to come across this newly renovated b&b in looe by chance, and decided to give it a go. It happened to be the best decision i have made in a long time, when it comes to accomodation i could not have asked for more. The rooms where spacious and very modern and finished to the highest standard. With the availability of off street parking and the b&b's close proximity to the centre of Looe we will be staying again. We would personnaly like thank Ann and Ralph for making us feel welcome and hope to see you both again soon.

Room Tip: Ann and Ralph let us pick our own room, but to be honest all rooms where of the same excelent standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famsoffrlwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Having left it too late and desperately phoning around to try and get accommodation for the New Year celebrations in Looe we finally found an available room within the newly open Cherrywood Lodge. Situated on the west side and with its own dedicated parking. This is rare in Looe and the car usually ends up in a car park nowhere near the B&B.
It was easy to find and is in a great location to walk into the town across the bridge.

We actually arrived early to find the room already prepared and ready for us to get settled. Greeted by Ann we were shown to what must be the most modern, up to date room I have ever seen in a B&B. The rooms really wouldn’t look out of place in a top class hotel, and the en suite was equally as great.
After we had unpacked and leaving the place to enjoy a wander around the town and to take in the sea air we met both hosts Ann and her husband Ralph. This couple are the friendliest people you will ever meet, good laugh and over the course of our stay couldn’t do enough to accommodate our needs. Even extending the breakfast time till late for us guests with slightly banging heads after the New Years Eve night!!

I won’t go into what Looe is like for New Year, but I can tell you that if you haven’t been then you are missing out. All I will say is that there is no problems getting served in the pubs and the fire works at midnight are one of the best you will see. Only 2mintues shorter than London’s display, not bad for a Cornish fishing village!! Also big tip: if you go down to the town and you are not in fancy dress then you will look out of place.

Just to summarise:

The B&B itself is fantastic, not the normal 'looks like your Nan’s spare room' you usually find. Is situated in a great location and has parking!

The hosts are great, made the stay a real pleasure.

The breakfasts were amazing, although there is still a debate with the other half whether Ann or Ralph is the better cook out of the two. I say leave the husband in the kitchen where he belongs!!

We won’t be phoning around last minute again because we have already booked a room for next New Years.

Thanks Ralph and Ann, we will see you soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan268v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed in a brilliant B&B run by a Mr Ralph Hunt [very good looking} and Mrs Ann Hunt [cracking cook} , These two made the stay a lot o fun!. But this is a small part of stay, Five mintute walk to the centre of looe, one of the few B&B with parking, Bathrooms you would get in 4 to 5 star hotel, rooms very good! check them out yourselves, I like Looe but this B&B makes it a lot better. Would you belive it could not get into Trawlers !

Room Tip: Tell Ann what you would like and I`m quite sure she would help you choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roncap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Ann was the perfect host & our stay at Cherrywood was brilliant.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
2.0 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
0.2 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherrywood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrywood Lodge

Address: Cherrywood Lodge Polperro Road, Looe PL13 2JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: $100 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cherrywood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherrywood Lodge is a refurbished B & B property situated just a 5 minute walk from the town harbour in Looe, Cornwall. Annie the hostess provides a warm welcome to all visiting guests in a friendly Cornish environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cherrywood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherrywood Lodge Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing