We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
175
67
27
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
67
27
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclassic fmbeautiful positionsea viewworking very hardlarge balconylovely hotelfirst floorwelcoming ownersfull englishsuperior roomlovely poolswimming poolsunny dayvery pleasant staythe ground floorkippersreturned home
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 295 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017

We have stayed at the Fieldhead twice before, and now this is the only hotel we have stayed at three times. It is clean and comfortable, we always feel welcome, Julian and his team are friendly and helpful. The food at both breakfast and dinner - the latter having changed to an a la carte menu since our last visit - is very well cooked and presented, a fairly good choice at both. I cannot help but comment on two things - the great view, one of the greatest!, if you should be lucky enough to have a sea view room, but even if not, this can be enjoyed from the restaurant and the lounge, and of course outside, and the music that plays - Classic FM - that with the right piece of music, can so perfectly match this view, which no pop song could ever do, I feel.

Room Tip: It has to be the sea view!
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank djl-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FieldheadHotel, Director of Sales at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Dear djl-uk uk,

Thank you for your Review of your recent and third visit to The Fieldhead Hotel. Very much appreciated.

Delighted you mention Classic FM. We think it is appropriate too and most guests enjoy it. There are those who seem to think Rap, Reggae and The Sex Pistols and their rendition of God Save the Queen might be enjoyable over dinner. At least we please the majority.

Thank you for supporting us again and making us feel very privileged.

Very best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

A difficult review to write - firstly the food was fantastic; probably the best dining experience we've had for years. From delicious fresh fish to top-notch puddings, everything was wonderful. Added to this, the restaurant catered very well for the fact that my husband is Coeliac.

Service - also top-notch, although be aware that it is quite formal and therefore not necessarily to everyone's taste. We found Julian and his staff to be friendly, helpful and informative; nothing was too much trouble.

Great facilities - we took advantage of the outside swimming pool with fantastic views over Looe bay and the island on all three days of our stay. Lovely comfortable lounge and bar - again with fabulous views.

So why only 4 'blobs'? We weren't so keen on the accommodation, and we feel that this stopped it being the overall five star experience that the food and service deserved. Although our room had a large balcony, again with amazing views, we found the bed very uncomfortable and the bathroom rather tired for the nightly rate. The room was also fairly small we felt. However, we would happily stay again, although we would perhaps bring a mattress topper if we ended up in the same room. To be fair, we didn't bring this up with the hotel as comfort or otherwise of the bed was a subjective issue.

Things you need to know:

1. Reception and all the facilities are on the first floor up - this is made quite clear on the website however

2. It is well worth staying for dinner - exceptional quality and first rate value for money

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank keentraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FieldheadHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Dear keentraveller45, Gloucester, United Kingdom

Thank you for your brilliant review especially taking in the food and swimming pool.

Yes, Chef is very User Friendly when it comes to special diets and nothing seems to be any problem or difficulty.

We note your positive comments about the room and bathroom.

We hope you will visit us again soon - and maybe we will give you a different room with a different mattress.

Very best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

I have just returned home from a break in west looe (fieldhead hotel) it was lovely clean , great food, very welcoming owners working very hard to make sure you felt at ease , we were so relaxed from start to the ending of my holiday.
The hotel is in a beautiful position with outstanding views and lovely gardens

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
2  Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FieldheadHotel, Front Office Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Dear Clive R,

Many thanks for taking the trouble and time to write us a Review.

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm words and recommendation especially as you experienced all parts of the Hotel.

Very best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

We had two fantastic nights, the food and service was really good, the room was large with a balcony and lovey view of the bay and Looe island, the bed was probably the most comfortable we had ever had in a hotel. I so enjoyed the heated outdoor pool and lovely gardens. We were looking for a hotel with private and secure car park and found it!!. We will certainly be returning to the Field head hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickhargreaves49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FieldheadHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear mickhargreaves49,

Thank you for your fabulous comments. Thank you.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and in comfort and even better that you used the lovely heated, with amazing views, swimming pool.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Very best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Spent 4 nights at the Fieldhead Hotel where Julian was very welcoming and very helpful a super host.

I would recommend paying the extra for a room with the Sea views with a fabulous Vista of Looe and Looe Island. The rooms were clean and complimented with ample Tea and Coffee with one of the best in-room WiFi service I have experienced for a while.

Breakfast was of first class quality and we ate dinner twice where the food was of an excellent standard and plentiful.

The biggest plus point was the Hotel was Dog friendly and with a large off-road car park - especially important as we were attending a Classic Car Rally and had our dog with us.

Room Tip: Have a room with a Sea View
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FieldheadHotel, Front Office Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Amazing. Thank you so much Vladdish for your very complimentary review.

Delighted you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay and hope we will meet again.

Very best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews