We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food... unusual dining area .”
Review of The Coddy Shack

The Coddy Shack
Ranked #4 of 84 Restaurants in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dudley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food... unusual dining area .”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate here as a four with a toddler ... as it is named a "shack" that is what it is. An unusual quirky dining area but very dark and the floor is slanted so we wobbled about a bit but it all adds to the fun factor.

the food was good... fish cakes excellent. Cooked quickly. Price average for the area. Only downside was that I think they rushed wheb dishing up as there was a pool of oil underneath my fish that had ran off the batter. I paid £15 for mixed seafood dish so would have expected better but over all we were happy. Would take away in future but not eat in unless lighting was improved.

also.. tip for the restaurant... one of our party members said the halogen heaters you had mounted to the ceiling were illegal... need to be further from the ceiling as it is a fire hazard apparently ... but I cant confirm or deny this because I havent a clue...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorYal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    231
    65
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Only average!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having read reviews of this place before going there, we were looking forward to trying the food, unfortunately there was quite a wait to get the food and then we found it quite greasy and quite bland. Quite disappointing for the money we paid!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Worth paying a visit for excellent fish and chips! The service was friendly and good. The food was great and good portions it is also licensed and does take out. A casual nice atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunLooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect family fish n' chips.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Steered here by other tripadvisor reviews - and the fact it was half a mile away from our Looe Caravan Club site - we went to the Coddy Shack twice during our 9 days near Looe. We had sublime haddock and cod, perfect chips (and there's a broad menu with lots of other stuff). There's genuinely friendly service despite the fact that the place is always frantically busy. They can't do enough for you. Sit down and eat as we did on both occasions, the slight extra cost compared with takeaway is well worth it. They somehow found us a table for 7 last Wednesday - on their popular music night. A really great discovery and wholeheartedly recommended. My wife drove, so I had a Magners or two. Even better. Great place. Visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chips”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Weren't fazed by a massive 14 person order (and got it nearly right!) Everyone enjoyed their meal - had a good range of fish including whitebait and mussels.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate0966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coddy Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Coddy Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing