We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The UK needs more cafes like Larsson's”

Larsson's Coffee House & Creperie
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Larsson's Coffee House and Creperie is both the name and description. For those who have not visited France, The crepe is rather like the Breton version of the Pasty. It is delicious with either sweet or savoury fillings. The coffee is made with care and respect. Although we do also serve tea and non-standard alcholic beverages. Basically, it is what the owner personally likes and hopes that his guests share his taste.
Scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The UK needs more cafes like Larsson's”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

It's unusual, but sometimes just by walking into a cafe, restaurant or hotel, we feel totally at ease and kind of forget even where we are. This is one such place. I don't know if it was the friendly (but not in-your-face) owner, the décor, the other guests or what. We stayed for an hour or so, and we only had hot drinks!

My son was especially impressed by the hot chocolate in Larsson's. It arrives like a three-layer cocktail of chocolate, chocolate milk and creamy froth. You can either mix it all together or play around with the component parts.

Some other gusts were discussing politics and it sounded like they had been here every day of their holiday. It's that kind of place. Food tends to be of the continental café type, like crepes and waffles. But there is also the chance of themed evening meals, bookable in advance. Next time we are in the area, this will be a must.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McWulf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    32
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great coffee, friendly service”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We always pop in here when in Looe, it's a cute little place with lots of character - including Martin, the owner! Fabulous coffee and hot chocolates, delicious crepes (tho they do take a while as are done from scratch). Def worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Martin Noble, is a welcoming and likeable chap right from the moment you meet him and he serves great coffee, In fact I would go as far as to say the best!
We have been known to drive the 200 mile round trip just for a day out in Looe and a Coffee it's that good.
Now I have to admit that I am not a Coffee fanatic, but I do know what I likes and Mr Noble hits that spot every time.
If you ever find yourself in Looe, this small but very well presented establishment must be on the "to visit" list , as you will always be made to feel welcome and will undoubtedly end up enjoying the Larssons experience, which comprises of good conversation and great Coffee, I like to endulge in a Mocha and this sets you up nicely for a stroll around the busy fising port town of Looe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squidgybearpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best coffee in Cornwall”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We have been fans of Larsson's for years. You are always guaranteed a good times courtesy of the legendary Martin. The coffee & crepes are superb, and the four hour journey to Cornwall is always worth it for a slice of the German baked cheesecake! You must visit whilst in Looe.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank eshba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wokingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I visited when it was cold and raining, I was meet with by a very friendly owner who's little coffee shop is warm and welcoming. A lot of care was taken in the preparation of our drinks, it was worth the wait.
The best coffee in Looe.

Helpful?
Thank JWSWRBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larsson's Coffee House & Creperie also viewed

 

Been to Larsson's Coffee House & Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing