We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful service in a beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Carol and Dave were nothing but welcoming and thoughtful in looking after us whilst we stayed at Schooner Point. Dave very kindly carried our heavy bags up two flights of stairs (something that all the other B&B's we stayed at refused to do as they were so heavy)! The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated with all the little touches such as decoration, chocolates, tea and coffee taken care of. The bathroom was spacious with extras such as bath robes included. The room was very quiet over night and I got a fantastic night's sleep, although my partner (who is 6 foot 2) said that he struggled a bit as the bed had bars at the foot of it so he wasn't able to lie straight. If you are particularly tall it might be worth checking with Carol and Dave to see whether other beds in different rooms don't have a bar at the foot (we stayed in Anchorage).
We asked for a restaurant recommendation for dinner and this turned out to be the best meal we had during our long weekend walking holiday, with delicious fresh fish, perfectly cooked. Breakfast at Schooner Point was a real pleasure, with beautiful views from the dining room across the bay, freshly cooked breakfast to order (I had the pancake stack with banana and maple syrup) and we even had little easter eggs on our table as we were staying on Easter Sunday.
We mentioned we were planning to go to the Monkey Sanctuary that day and Carol and Dave were able to sell us tickets to save us time (and money) which was an added bonus.
I would definitely recommend this B&B and we would certainly choose to stay here again if we ever returned to Looe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatherineW225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 251 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is by far the best B&B we have stayed in Cornwall and we can't recommend Schooner point in the beautiful historic town of Looe highly enough.

From the second we arrived we were greeted by a warm friendly welcome from our lovely and perfect hosts Dave & Carol who gave a first class service and were very attentive and gave helpful advice on things local throughout our three day relaxing holiday in Looe which started on the 24th March.

Tea and cake on arrival, suite cases taken to our room was just a simple, but lovely touch and one that made you feel really relaxed and at home in a beautiful place.

Our guest room was spacious, warm and designed and decorated to a high standard with all modern conveniences and many complimentary items such as a hairdryer, tea refreshments and chocolates.

The bed was a very comfortable 5 foot and covered with high quality soft linen, our bathroom was massive and beautifully decorated and immaculacy clean just like the entire house and the view from our room was magnificent looking over the estuary and the town centre was within a five minute walk.

Breakfast was fantastic which comprised of a selection of cereals, yoghurts, juices and fruit salad and a wide choice of freshly cooked to order food. I would defiantly give Dave & Carol a Michelin Star for their fantastic and beautifully presented breakfast which was served in a spacious light breakfast room with superb views of Looe.

My favourite was the Banana Stack, absolutely fantastic and we can't wait to go back again.

Well done to you both and thank you for making our stay so good.

David & Diane Cardiff

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 708DavidE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having arrived at Schooner Point after a tiring 36 hours of traveling from Australia, we were very pleased to be warmly met by hosts Dave and Carol and immediately offered a wonderful cup of tea and homemade cake, in spite of arriving earlier than the designated check in time. The view from the bay window table in the dining room was lovely, as Schooner Point looks out over the picturesque town from its lofty position on the hillside (a steep climb up steps with cases but quite manageable).
Schooner Point is beautifully decorated, with everything thought of and all the little touches included, such as chocolates, wi-fi and tea making facilities in your room. We were in a large bedroom at the front of the house (also with a great view) and the ensuite bathroom was spacious and the hot water in the shower plentiful and steady (a major yardstick for me!) After dinner out in one of Looe's many good restaurants (a five minute stroll away) we were very pleased to find the bed was large and comfortable and we slept very well.  The house was lovely and quiet and it was fabulous to wake to the seaside sound of gulls in the morning.
Breakfast was amazing, with juices, cereals, homemade bread for toast, and a wonderful cooked breakfast made to order (with excellent vegetarian options!) - we even had a chocolate Easter egg left by our breakfast settings as we were staying at Easter. As we were walking the Smuggler's Way, we had asked for a packed lunch for the next day and these proved to be delicious and plentiful also.
Schooner Point was an excellent place to stay, made special by our host's genuine thoughtfulness, their great 'green' policy, and all the extra touches that make a B&B memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david102a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived late afternoon to Schooner Point and were welcomed by both Dave and Carol who offered refreshments and a sit down whilst our bags were brought to the room. We stayed in the 'Lookout' which, along with the rest of the house had been tastefully redecorated. The room is spacious with a super sized king bed and spacious en-suite shower room. The breakfast was varied and delicious with lots of fresh fruit, cakes & cereals, not forgetting the main event, an excellent fulll English breakfast.

Dave helped out with suggestions of places to visit and provided a local map too. Carol wrapped up some yummy banana bread to take for a mid morning snack.

On leaving Scooner Point Dave brought our bags out to the car and Carol wrapped more cake for the journey home .

What more can we say a lovely, clean and comfortable stay with pleasant and helpful hosts! Thanks!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Situated in the delightful village of Looe this B & B provided excellent service, tea and cake on arrival. Phoned to make a dinner booking for us which was really great service. Super views of the village from room. Well decorated, warm and a comfortable nights sleep. Dave and Carol were perfect hosts with a breakfast cooked to order and several choices apart from the regular English breakfast. All amenities were of good quality with great hot shower, lovely soft towels and bathrobes for guest use. Close to town with a 10 minute walk across the bridge to the main shopping street and guest parking. Would definitely recommend for a stay however long or short it may be.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The setting is ideal on the west side of Looe. The views from all rooms on the front are excellent. The reception was 5 star with tea, coffee & cakes. The breakfast was our best ever, good selection & cooked to order. The rooms are spacious, clean, well decorated, warm, large en-suite, tea & coffee + chocs in room. Car parking easy. A few steps to negotiate but good exercise. If someone wants to set up a good B&B, come & stay here see how it should be done! Good large bed & little traffic noise. Large car park 5 minutes walk away & centre of Looe under 10 minutes walk. Train station 15 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Front rooms have good views, we did not see rear room. Speak to Carol & Dave to select your best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinKarenCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived hot and tired from a long day walking and were immediately invited into the dining room where Carol and Dave served us with complimentary tea and scones. Then, while we were relaxing Dave took our bags up to our rooms.

Our room, the Lookout, was at the top of the house and had spectacular views over the estuary. It was a beautiful room, well maintained, good quality furniture and an extremely comfortable bed. Lovely fluffy white towels and even bathrobes, a lot of consideration has gone into the comfort of guests. There were chocolates, biscuits as well as the usual tea and coffee with fresh milk that is kept in a flask in the fridge on the landing.

Breakfast was a delight, our friends had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs my husband had the sweet option of the pancake stack with bananas and raspberry jus, I had the full English perfectly cooked with local produce not at all greasy, everything was delicious.

The Schooner Point is conveniently situated with only a short walk over the bridge into East Looe with a good selection of shops, pubs and restaurants, something to please everyone.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved the home made cakes of the day, flapjacks and banana bread that we were given to take away for a mid morning snack, we will be back and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a fabulous view over the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
489 reviews
0 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#2 of 54 in Looe
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Trehaven Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Little Mainstone Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast

Address: Polperro Road | 1 Trelawney Terrace, Looe PL13 2AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: $109 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a relaxed, comfortable and friendly guest house offering you first class accommodation with an enviable position on the hillside of West Looe with fabulous views. Our rooms are spacious, tastefully furnished and complimented with quality linens and luxury towels. All within a few minutes stroll to the harbour, beach, shops, restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing