We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, top quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Situated in the delightful village of Looe this B & B provided excellent service, tea and cake on arrival. Phoned to make a dinner booking for us which was really great service. Super views of the village from room. Well decorated, warm and a comfortable nights sleep. Dave and Carol were perfect hosts with a breakfast cooked to order and several choices apart from the regular English breakfast. All amenities were of good quality with great hot shower, lovely soft towels and bathrobes for guest use. Close to town with a 10 minute walk across the bridge to the main shopping street and guest parking. Would definitely recommend for a stay however long or short it may be.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 251 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

The setting is ideal on the west side of Looe. The views from all rooms on the front are excellent. The reception was 5 star with tea, coffee & cakes. The breakfast was our best ever, good selection & cooked to order. The rooms are spacious, clean, well decorated, warm, large en-suite, tea & coffee + chocs in room. Car parking easy. A few steps to negotiate but good exercise. If someone wants to set up a good B&B, come & stay here see how it should be done! Good large bed & little traffic noise. Large car park 5 minutes walk away & centre of Looe under 10 minutes walk. Train station 15 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Front rooms have good views, we did not see rear room. Speak to Carol & Dave to select your best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinKarenCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived hot and tired from a long day walking and were immediately invited into the dining room where Carol and Dave served us with complimentary tea and scones. Then, while we were relaxing Dave took our bags up to our rooms.

Our room, the Lookout, was at the top of the house and had spectacular views over the estuary. It was a beautiful room, well maintained, good quality furniture and an extremely comfortable bed. Lovely fluffy white towels and even bathrobes, a lot of consideration has gone into the comfort of guests. There were chocolates, biscuits as well as the usual tea and coffee with fresh milk that is kept in a flask in the fridge on the landing.

Breakfast was a delight, our friends had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs my husband had the sweet option of the pancake stack with bananas and raspberry jus, I had the full English perfectly cooked with local produce not at all greasy, everything was delicious.

The Schooner Point is conveniently situated with only a short walk over the bridge into East Looe with a good selection of shops, pubs and restaurants, something to please everyone.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved the home made cakes of the day, flapjacks and banana bread that we were given to take away for a mid morning snack, we will be back and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a fabulous view over the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband us a tricky one to please but he was completely taken with Schooner Point - Dave and Carol really have a fabulous B&B here.
The room was a really pleasant surprise..comfy bed, great view and then there's the little things that make you feel all warm & fuzzy - the little bowl of chocolates, the smellies in the bathroom and the dressing gowns..the whitest towels you have ever seen and a fridge with little flasks so you can have fresh milk with your cup of tea.
Breakfast was a great start to our day. You have got to try Carol's daily cake, I've not had chocolate brownie so scrummy ever! And breakfast was just delicious!!
We reserved our parking so once we'd parked on arrival we didn't have to think about it again for three days. And the walk into Looe is minutes - paths are a bit steep but they all are in Looe.
We can't and won't fault Carol and Dave, their B&B is a credit to their hard work and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending them to friends or family and would definitely come back again next year. Thank you both for your hospitality and cake recipes :-)

Room Tip: Foredeck - great view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you cross staying in a clean hotel with your good friends Schooner Point would be the result! Dave met us as we parked and walked down over the steps and took our bags, Carol made us tea, coffee and home made scones. We arrived in our room to find our bags waiting. The rooms are very well presented, decorated and furnished very nicely. The chocs in a bowl were also very welcome as were the biscuits and tea and coffee facilities! During our stay we sampled home made cakes and scones, full English, pancake and banana stack, white and brown bread toast, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, orange and apple juice all of which were divine - so much so Carol packed us with homemade cakes! Dave even had a program for the festival to hand so you could plan your day over breakfast if you wished. I walk with a stick so found the stepsand the stairs inside a bit of a challenge but it was manageable. There are only 2 parking spaces but if you find you need to pay for parking it is close by and only £5 for all day until 10am the next day and it is easy to pop via the car to replenish parking on your walk down into main Looe. Overall very clean, comfortable and welcoming with food to a high standard. Will be making a return visit!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front so you have a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllisonH840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This B&B is in a great position on the top of the hill overlooking the river. Our room "The Foredeck" had a great view,with a comfortable double bed as well as a two easy chairs and small table in the bay window. The room was nicely decorated which gave a homely feel. There was a large en suite shower room,(inc bathrobes) The dinning room also had the same view overlooking the river.No need to fill in a Breakfast menu the night before as it was prepared on request,(if ever you do stay,try the Banana Pancakes!) Carol also makes delicious cakes,Overall we had a great stay and Carol & Dave were happy to help in anyway.You can tell they love Cornwall and want to share it with you. Would recomend this guest house to anyone who wanted a comfortable, happy,"Diet Free" holiday in Cornwall.

Room Tip: all the rooms had great views

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Schooner Point is a beautiful place to stay.Carol & Dave were the perfect hosts,a warm welcome on arrival .We couldnt fault anything from the breakfast to the room .We had a wonderful night stay .Thank you Carol & Dave.Hope to see you again soon.Best B&B we have stayed in.5 star plus. Kay and Darren. (Cambs) All the best for the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
489 reviews
0 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#2 of 54 in Looe
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Trehaven Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Little Mainstone Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast

Address: Polperro Road | 1 Trelawney Terrace, Looe PL13 2AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: $109 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a relaxed, comfortable and friendly guest house offering you first class accommodation with an enviable position on the hillside of West Looe with fabulous views. Our rooms are spacious, tastefully furnished and complimented with quality linens and luxury towels. All within a few minutes stroll to the harbour, beach, shops, restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing