We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Our stay at Schooner Point.””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 53 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
““Our stay at Schooner Point.””
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Schooner Point is a beautiful place to stay.Carol & Dave were the perfect hosts,a warm welcome on arrival .We couldnt fault anything from the breakfast to the room .We had a wonderful night stay .Thank you Carol & Dave.Hope to see you again soon.Best B&B we have stayed in.5 star plus. Kay and Darren. (Cambs) All the best for the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
141
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived in Looe right on cue for the annual raft race. After trying to park for a while we saw the welcoming sign for Schooner Point and its free parking! Decision made! We were soon enjoying Carol & Dave's homemade scones & tea and were made to feel at home immediately. Our room, the Foredeck, was beautifully presented.The view from the bay window up the river and valley was fabulous! Dave and Carol have spent a lot of time and effort to turn this home into a welcoming B&B. Looe is only a short walk away, bus and train are on hand too. The private parking is a hugh plus. Breakfast was a delight with choices of fresh fruit and cereal, pancakes,cooked full english breakfast, to fresh homemade bread and cakes.The bread was so good I even bought myself a breadmaker when we got home to Australia! We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area as we really did enjoy our stay and it will be our first choice when we return to Cornwall in a couple of years. Dave & Carole QLD Australia

Room Tip: River view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Schooner point we were made to feel at home, with help with our suitcases and the offer of freshly made scones we knew we would not want to leave by the end of our week. Breakfast was a delight of freshly made bread, cakes and excellent choice of mains. Our room (foredeck) was spotless, with a fabulous view and sizable bathroom. Carol And Dave have given great attention to detail and manage to run an organised, efficient and friendly service flawlessly. The centre of Looe was just a few minuets walk away and it was a great base to use the train or car to visit nearby attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

After a wet day walking the SW Coast Path my wife and I were warmly welcomed by Carol & Dave and given an excellent coffee, home-made scones and jam.before being shown to our room, the Lookout, configured as a double. The bedroom and spacious ensuite bathroom (shower) were well provided for: two armchairs, coffee/tea making (with real cold milk in a small fridge on the landing), TV, bowl of sweets, proper recycling facilities, cotton wool pads, soap and shampoo, and bath robes,
They gave us recommendations of where to eat - two were full, even on a Monday evening, and we had to wait for 45 minutes to eat in the third. Clearly they know the places to go to! Dave had also fixed a taxi for us the following morning.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice; fruit juices, a range of teas, coffee, cereals, and a number of cooked choices, from full English to pancake stacks. There were also a number of home-baked goodies.The breakfast room has four double tables and is uncrowded.

Room Tip: Lookout on the top floor has an excellent view, though there is some traffic noise if a window is op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My friend and I stayed in the twin room at the top floor which was lovely. Little touches such a small bowl of sweets, being offered a cup of tea when walking it madfe us feel very welcome. Breakfast was lovely and served with a smile. Thanks to you both and also for all your help with getting us to our next destination :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in the twin room, The Lookout, and it really was a lovely, light comfortable room with a great view. Carol & Dave couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Recommendations on where to eat (and where not to eat!) and help with onward transport were very welcome. Plus the offer of homemade cake packed up for our long walk ahead was a really lovely touch. Convenient location for both East and West Looe as very close to the connecting bridge and also close, but not too close, to the train station. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My son and I spent several days walking the cotswolds followed by a week walking the South West Way. Many places offered good accommodation but nowhere did we recieve such a warm welcome as we did at the Schooner Point B and B. The rooms we had were excellent while the breakfast was by far the best throughout our walks.

Carol and Dave Neal are to be congratulated for running what can only be described as a most superior B and B. I would recommend to anyone visiting Looe.

Colin and Aaron Smith

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
2.0 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#5 of 7 in Looe
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#2 of 53 in Looe
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast

Property: Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast
Address: Polperro Road | 1 Trelawney Terrace, Looe PL13 2AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a relaxed, comfortable and friendly guest house offering you first class accommodation with an enviable position on the hillside of West Looe with fabulous views. Our rooms are spacious, tastefully furnished and complimented with quality linens and luxury towels. All within a few minutes stroll to the harbour, beach, shops, restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing