We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A party of 11 well catered for”
Review of Mawgan's - CLOSED

Mawgan's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had stayed at Mawgan's for bed and breakfast on a previous occasion, but not eaten in the restaurant - however, the attention to detail in the room and for the breakfast was so good I was confident that an evening meal would be of an equally high standard.

Our party contained 11 people, with a wide range of ages and tastes and included 3 vegetarians. When I was in the process of booking the meal, Steve was very accommodating and added some extra vegetarian choices.

I had the Seared Looe Bay Scallops to start with, which had petit brown shrimp salsa, rouille, lobster oil and toasted brioche. It was one of the best tasting dishes I have ever had.

For a main course, I had the Seafood Rendezvous which contained fish fillets, more scallops (can't have too much of a good thing!) and tiger prawns in a crab bisque, served with a selection of vegetables and potatoes. Everything was fresh, cooked to perfection and thoroughly enjoyable.

To finish, the cheeseboard was generous, well balanced and beautifully presented.

Thanks to Kim and Steve for giving us all a wonderful evening - even those of us who can sometimes be difficult to please! I look forward to returning soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim T, Owner at Mawgan's, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We remember the evening well and meeting everyone in your party was a pleasure. Thank you so much for your kind words and of course we are thrilled that you all had a enjoyable evening. Look forward to welcoming you back to Mawgans again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 206 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

On our first visit we were made to feel like we were having dinner at a friends. Kim is very welcoming but not " in your face ". The scallop starter was delious and a work of art on a plate , almost too pretty to eat. We had the duck and the pork as main and they were cooked to perfection. Everything is cooked from fresh and you can tell. Do not be put off by the slightly tea room decor the food is more suited to a top class London restaurant. Needless to say we made a second visit and received a very warm welcome and the same perfection. The only complaint , too far from our home ! Pay them a visit , you won't be disappointed.. You need to book as when we went everyone in the place was on return visit, that says it all . Kim ...Merci from the French couple.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WAntsthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim T, Owner at Mawgan's, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Your kind words are very much appreciated and we are of course so pleased that you enjoyed dining with us - twice! As you say, it is always wise to book as everything is cooked to order and we don't believe in rushing our guests. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Mawgans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have eaten here over the last 18 months & as on both previous occasions were not disappointed. One of the reasons we particularly like this restaurant is that it does not allow children under 12 which means you can enjoy your meal without the noisy distraction youngsters can cause.
The attentive service started when we made our booking by phone where we were recognised from our previous visits & the friendly personal attention continued on our arrival through to the moment we left.
The food was excellent, being freshly cooked to order, very tasty and of excellent quality using mainly local Cornish produce.
We have no hesitation in recommending Mawgans.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim T, Owner at Mawgan's, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

It is always pleasing when guests return to dine with us when coming back to Looe. It is important that we try and remember our visitors - we appreciate your faith in returning to us time and again and work hard in keeping our standards as high as you have come to expect. We look forward to seeing you again at Mawgans. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

On a quiet Sunday evening we had a wonderful meal at Mawgan's. My husband had a prawn cocktail for his starter and said that it was one of the best he'd ever tasted. The home made chilli jam that I had with my lovely starter was wonderful (thank you...!). Every course was beautifully presented and really tasty, try the fish rendevous!

I would definitely recommend this restaurant for the wonderful service and food and if we're in Looe again we'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LN1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim T, Owner at Mawgan's, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope you will make it back to Looe again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at Mawgans overnight and ate in the restaurant. It was very quiet and we were the only guests, so owners Kim and Steve were very attentive and welcoming. The seafood specialities were excellent, with all three courses really tasty and excellent wines.This was certainly a fine dining experience, which are few and far between in Cornish seaside resorts! Mawgans is more expensive than many of the other Looe eating options, but the seafood is fresh, expertly and beautifully prepared and cooked, and worth every cent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank david102a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim T, Owner at Mawgan's, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

It was a pleasure to serve you both at Mawgans and are very happy that you enjoyed your meal. Our menu is not the cheapest in Looe however we are by no means one of the most expensive places to eat. We work hard at serving food fresh to order, using local produce and fish fresh from the quay. All of our dishes are home made and we feel are priced very reasonably. Perhaps you are not aware of all of the other restaurants in Looe and hopefully you will be able to return to Mawgans so we may serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mawgan's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing