We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Looe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay at Meneglaze and thoroughly enjoyed our time with hosts Caroline and Peter. The breakfast was delicious, the room was clean, bright and very comfortable. Our hosts were a wealth of information of things to do in Looe, good places to eat and things to see. Will definitely return if possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 400 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Caroline & Peter are perfect hosts with a great sense of humour & the sort of people who should be running a B & B. Room up a few flights of stairs was well furnished with nice linens & toiletries & superb homemade oaty slice ( Caroline, if I email you can I please have the recipe ?!!! )Village is within easy walking distance & is very quaint with a good range of restaurants & yay a good Barista- Larssons ( just don't ask him for trim / skinny milk !!! ) Sarahs have superb Cornish Pasties & you can see them being freshly made. Breakfast yum & very well presented - the Hogs pudding - a spicy sausage is a standout. Highly recommended B & B & we hope to return .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Positive reviews for the Meneglaze B&B are all true. We stayed for three nights in the front superior room which was a decent size, had a comfortable double bed, a fridge, was spotlessly clean and had a nice en-suite and very good shower. Bed side tables had touch lamps, IPod dock on alarm clock, free wi-if which had a nice strong signal, Digital TV with Freeview and a clear picture. Caroline and Peter are laid back, helpful, give advice about the local area and made us feel very welcome. We had a problem with our car which we dropped off at a local garage- the next morning Peter offered us a lift to save us walking up a very steep hill!! Breakfast was outstanding - cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice, tea, coffee plus a cooked menu choice of the highest quality. Oh and the homemade flapjacks were delicious. There is also a pub a hundred yards away (The Globe) and it's a very short walk into Looe.
Do not hesitate booking this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Unfortunately only got to spend one night at Meneglaze but we will most definitely be back! Caroline and Peter are amazing hosts. Even though we arrived (very) early, Caroline was very accommodating allowing us to drop our bags off before we wandered into town.

Meneglaze is in the ideal location as it is on the outskirts of town (only about a 5 minute walk to town if that) allowing you to get away from the hustle and bustle. On our return after our wander into town Caroline was there with the tea and biscuits everyone mentions and they went down really well.

Breakfast is wonderful – my husband especially liked the hog pudding! Best scrambled eggs too! And as obliging as ever, Peter even fixed my glasses for me during breakfast service!

We would highly recommend Meneglaze and hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Peter and Caroline could not be more welcoming, lovely hosts in a lovely B&B. After Peter had helped with our luggage we were given a pot of tea and some home made biscuits. The room was very clean and a very comfortable bed, the room also had a fridge with fresh milk, changed daily. The full Cornish breakfast with locally sourced ingredients was beautifully presented, plentiful,and delicious. They have a great knowledge of Looe and the surrounding area and can recommend the best places to eat, drink and shop. We will be visiting Looe again and will definitely stay at Meneglaze again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bass B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

we stayed here for one nite the owners were very friendly and the room very clean will recommend for sure .. also parking which was good and too top it off the home made cake were awesome.. 10 out of 10....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaun s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed one night at the Meneglaze as part of our journey around the southwest. We arrived early but our room was ready and this was no problem for our hosts. Being able to leave the car was a bonus as Looe very busy in August. Our room was clean and comfortable. It even had a fridge which is surprising for a B & B . Caroline and Peter are very friendly and keen for you to settle in and enjoy tea & biscuits on the patio.There is a short walk into Looe and Caroline advised where to eat. There is a pub at end of road which is handy.We will recommend this place to friends and family, it is a credit to the hosts !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxyDog09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
0.4 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
489 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#2 of 54 in Looe
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little Mainstone Guest House
0.1 mi away
Trehaven Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast

Address: Shutta, Looe PL14 4RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: $91 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing