We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VISITED TWICE SO CAN'T BE BAD!”
Review of Lascares Wine Bar - CLOSED

Lascares Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“VISITED TWICE SO CAN'T BE BAD!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Had two meals - one an early bird and secondly a good seafood dish. Good service and atmosphere and made a good ending to a short break.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    9
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Do not deserve business”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We tried twice to eat here on the early bird offer arriving just after 6 30pm as car parking is free in Looe after 6 oopm we were told twice there were no tables available I pointed out there were two but was told by the not very active staff one table was for staff and presumably the other six seater was unavailable
I presume they had hit there Quota and were not prepared to do anymore.
I would add we are not two yobs but well respected over 65s married since 1967

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocean52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squires-chown, Public Relations Manager at Lascares Wine Bar, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
I'd like to apologise for the fact that you were not able to be seated, but we are a small 32 seater restaurant and I personally remember you entering our restaurant and asking to be seated, at which time we had 2 tables free; a 2 seater and a 6 seater, both of which were booked, not for staff, although staff are allowed to book tables. As with most small restaurants, the only way to gaurantee being seated is to book in advance, this can be done simply by popping in or calling. May I also add we do not have a quota, we aim to please as many customers as possible within serving hours. Yours David Squires-Chown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing 2nd visit”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Popped in one evening, nice and quiet, food was good wine nice and cold. So next day thought we would pop in for lunch because really fancied a ploughmans it was mid afternoon (2.30-3pm) to be told not serving food now quite abruptly. Younger staff are polite older lady that works there bit grumpy!!! So we sauntered of down to The Courtyard for a light lunch I highly recommend this and staff are friendly, cheesy platters are amazing

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 296SharonR296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect end to a perfect day”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We happened by this lovely Wine Bar in Looe at the end of a 'sunny' sunday in August.
Surprisingly they had a table for 2 available, the food was brilliant and the staff fun and friendly.
If you are staying in the area around Looe be sure to give this little wine bar a visit, you won't regret it at all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trialanderror1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squires-chown, Public Relations Manager at Lascares Wine Bar, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you very much for visiting us and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Not only are we greatful for you visiting but taking the time to leave a lovely message on our tripadvisor page as a family restaurant means so much to us.
Thank you, again, David Squires-Chown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor service and attitude”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

It was raining heavily and as you can imagine everywhere was full. the lascares was not so we checked the menu and went in. after standing in the doorway and being ignored by staff we took a table ourselves. Eventually we found a menu and made a selection but on attempting to order sandwiches and cream tea we were told "we don't do food after 2:30". It was 2:40. No where did it say that. the coffee order was eventually and reluctantly served to the table. no smile no thanks no nothing. it is apparent why the place was empty when everywhere else was full.
Get staff who care

Helpful?
Thank sabian17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squires-chown, Public Relations Manager at Lascares Wine Bar, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you were unable to be served food but as you can imagine we are a small winebar with a full house of 30 so during periods of little business our chef goes home, we at lascares have one chef. Our chef works split shifts and if did not take time to get away from the work place and relax we feel that this would effect the evening service. I am assuming that at the time of 2:40 our chef was not on the premises, this would be the reason for us not being able to provide you with food. I appologise that the service wasn't to your standards and these things do make an establishment but all i can do is appologise I hope we see you again so we can rectify this. Yours David Squires-Chown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lascares Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing