We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its haunted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jolly Sailor Inn
Ranked #19 of 53 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
penzance england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“its haunted”
Reviewed November 6, 2009

i stayed in room 5 that is def haunted,my phone was ring at different times in the night.my friend was haunted whilst in the gents toilet,and breakfast could have been more.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ianPenzanceEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    47
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
79
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
penzance
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2009

we stayed here for a weekend away myself and my two friends.I shared room 1 with a friend whilst my other friend had room 5 on his own at the other end of the pub in the oldest part.we had a fantastic time however there was some funny goings on for example my friend in room 5 had 3 calls from my phone at 5 o clock in the morning whilst i was asleep.I know it to be true because i saw the missed calls on his phone.the saturday night we were having a drink at the bar and one of my friends had a face of an old man with a crooked nose in the froth of his beer, he had a drink, disturbed his drink and the exact same face returned.The last night sunday the same friend went to the toilet he said the door slamed behind him and he heard somebody coughing behind him in the toilet.Finally when we went to bed about twelve ish ten minutes later my other friend who was in room 5 rang me and said he had just been to the toilet and he felt something that made the hairs on the back of his neck stand up and refused to stay in there on his own consequently he slept in our room on the floor.please dont let this put you off because this is a fantastic pub with a superb atmosphere even iff it is a bit spooky we had a superb time here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forrest14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We enjoyed this lovely pub, located in a very comfortable position. The old pub is situated just along the river. The owners were very helpful and the atmosfhere very familiar.. I surely suggest it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giungla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawsker, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We are still on cloud 9 from our visit to Looe and a most enjoyable stay at The Jolly. The room was more like an apartment and the bed was so comfy. Spotlessly clean, tea and coffee, satellite tv, big bathroom with a fantastic shower, comfy sofa and nice views.
The owners were friendliness personified and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was really tasty, fantastic bacon and sausages. The pub itself is wonderful. Very olde worlde and full of atmosphere. It's one of the oldest in Looe. They do sea shanties on a Tuesday and Thursday, have a good selection of ales, pool table in the family side of the pub and watch out for the water pistol when you're leaving!
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and the price for our double room (£60) was a bargain. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mick_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
0.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Moon Inn
Harbour Moon Inn
#21 of 33 in Looe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meneglaze B&B
Meneglaze B&B
#4 of 53 in Looe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin House
Dolphin House
#18 of 53 in Looe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#2 of 53 in Looe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jolly Sailor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jolly Sailor Inn

Property: The Jolly Sailor Inn
Address: Princes Square | West Looe, Looe PL13 2EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Jolly Sailor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jolly Sailor Hotel Looe
The Jolly Sailor Inn Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing