We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, No-Frills Place to Stay”
Review of Kell's Corner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Looe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kell's Corner
Ranked #47 of 53 Looe B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Decent, No-Frills Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Mandy is an amazing, sweet lady. When we told her we wanted a bite, she called over to a restaurant in the town because the require reservations. That being said, you should now, it was a very no frills place. It was like staying at a normal house. I thought it was not very clean, but it was off season, so I guess that could be expected. It's a good place to lay your head, just don't expect a resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

After being let down by another b&b we called Kells on the off chance that they would have a room free. Lucky for us they did. We were greeted with a warm welcome and a cup of tea. Rooms are very comfortable with everything that you need. The breakfast is plenty and sets you up for the day. The hosts, Mandy and Christ are really friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning in the future.
Thank you. Lee & Jane, Walsall

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL6763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

when you find a good place to stay and enjoy you just cant keep away ,mandy and chris are so friendly and offer great value for money.we will keep going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey23mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at Kell's Corner on a last-minute 3-day get-away during the recent February half term week. This is a simple, no-frills B&B that offers great value for money for anyone on a budget while going more than the extra mile in terms of service and friendliness. On arrival we received a warm welcome and the offer of a cup of tea - such a unexpected, thoughtful touch, given that there are already good tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. i appreciated the jug of fresh milk for tea left in the room each afternoon for us.

Mandy was always there to greet us with a smile and a friendly word after a day out. She even very kindly took it upon herself to wash and dry some clothes that my son had been car sick on. The room and bathroom were very clean and warm. Although we would quite happily have used the towels for more than one day, fresh towels were put out daily - very much appreciated in the cold, damp February weather!

Looe is a delightful town, with easy parking and lots of places to eat. There is a wonderful beach and our boys had hours of fun crab-fishing in the harbour. I have no reservation in recommending this friendly B&B and this pretty town as a great holiday destination!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here to experience the famous Looe NYE celebrations ... On arrival we were met by Mandy and shown to our room - straight away she offered tea/coffee etc. (even though facilities were available in he room).
Throughout the whole stay we found Mandy and Chris very friendly and helpful - they even dropped us into Looe on NYE and picked us up gone midnight ... Not many places would offer that sort of personal service.
Rooms fairly basic, but price reflects this ... Breakfasts good and would recommend - many thanks guys.

P.S. Looe NYE - great experience, EVERYONE dresses in fancy dress and great friendly (and family) atmosphere. One to try ;-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

After a camping disaster, we stumbled upon Kell's Corner, and thank god we did!! The couple who run it are genuinely lovely and couldn't do enough for us, the rooms were pristine and extremely comfortable, we had an en-suite and our own decking- superb for summer evening relaxing! We're already planning our return trip! I have never left a review on trip advisor before, but felt Kell's Corner warranted one! Highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellscorner, Owner at Kell's Corner, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you claire & peter for the review I am glad you both had a good time looking forward to see you both again .

Best Wishes
Mandy & Chris
Thank you :) x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmouthtourists
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed at Kells corner for a couple of nights in June for a school reunion I had not stayed in Looe for over 20 years. Mandy greeted us and offered us a tea/coffee straight away which was nice as we had been on the road for quite a while, the sort of welcome we wished we had in other places we have stayed. We were shown promptly to our room which was ensuite with both bath and seperate shower. The first thing I thought when we booked was this is too cheap there has to be a catch, there is no catch they are crazy because the prices here are 20% lower than anywhere else we could find. The room was clean with tea/coffee facilities & tv etc a door from our room accessed a huge decked area with table and chairs with a beautiful view over the river/countryside. Breakfast was great a good selection of cereal plenty of fruit juice and a hearty full english which was delicious. Mandys husband offered us a lift to the venue of our reunion which was certainly above and beyond anything we were expecting. We didnt make breakfast the next morning due to a great reunion and a few too many drinks i rang first thing to say thanks but we wouldnt be eating Mandy offered to bring down bacon sandwiches we were greatfull but too hungover :-) Overall I would say that Kells was amazing value for money and we will be staying again when we return if you are looking for a friendly place to stay you would struggle to beat Kells corner Thanks and we will see you again soon. Danny & Lisa ps sorry we took a while to post we are in thailand now and enjoying our rtw trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exmouthtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellscorner, Owner at Kell's Corner, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you very much for the wonderful review.
Glad you had a good stay with us.
Hope you all have a fab rtw trip enjoy.

Mandy & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
2.7 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
245 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages
1.6 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#5 of 7 in Looe
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Moon Inn
Harbour Moon Inn
#21 of 33 in Looe
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kell's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kell's Corner

Property: Kell's Corner
Address: 40 Goonwartha Road, Looe PL13 2PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with friends. All welcome couples and families. Off-road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kell's Corner Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing