We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Squid Ink - CLOSED

Squid Ink
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood, British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Squid Ink restaurant situated in the historic fishing port of Looe in South East Cornwall.This intimate 32 cover restaurant is owned by Looe resident Adrian Woodward and first opened in 2008. The restaurant itself is housed within a character filled period building dating back more than 300 years.Looe is a pretty seaside town and important Cornish port selling mainly day caught fish from small trawlers, netting boats and line fishing boats, where the highest EU quality level of E (excellent) is electronically `attached' to almost every box of fish. Day boats are considered one of the more sustainable ways to fish, and they also provide the freshest fish.We are committed to offering outstanding service and our menu includes dishes suitable for allergy sufferers or those just wishing to avoid certain foods such as seafood, gluten or dairy. If however you have any additional dietary requirements you are welcome to discuss them with the chef who will endeavour to accommodate them.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were not disappointed. The staff were attentive but without being too much 'in your face'. The standard menu was supplemented with a good list of specials and all three courses were excellent. £27 for three courses made for good value. But do make sure you book first to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warwickchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    64
    21
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

This has got to be the best meal that my husband and I have had.
We have eaten at Michelin star restaurants and this restaurant blew us away.
The restaurant has an intimate feel about the place with such a warm and friendly atmosphere.
The price of the food was extremely reasonable which was an added bonus to this wonderful place.
The restaurant is run by a husband and wife and they definitely work well together.
I believe that he is the chef and she is the front of house attending their clients and in charge of the staff who work for them truly a great team of staff.
I would definitely return again and recommend this restaurant to anyone with a pair of ears who enjoys good food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie-booo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

From start to finish the dining experience at Squid Ink was first class - excellent service and exceptional food. Book well in advance, it is really worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DWR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, fabulous service!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the door the waitresses were delightful. Absolutely lovely food, felt like rustic fine dining. Lovely atmosphere, log burner, candles. Set menu available but a few different choices, good value @ just under £30 for 3 courses and you have bread & olives to start with amuse bouche inbetween (delicious). Only thing I was a little bit disappointed with was my starter (tiger prawns) they were quite small and I would say they were more king prawns but I suppose that is me being nit-picky. Overall lovely would highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magicbean87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Excellent second visit ."”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Well this is our second visit to Squid Ink during the last four months . The winter menu was as varied and attractive as the previous visit . The personal service was excellent always in the background to please . Food was at all times first class and presentation excellent .Value for money was totally in line with all the other restaurants in Looe .Many thanks for looking after us ... Sue and Mike Joesbury

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mikeinlooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squid Ink also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing