We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great New Year's Eve treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Squid Ink - CLOSED

Squid Ink
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $71
Cuisines: Seafood, British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Squid Ink restaurant situated in the historic fishing port of Looe in South East Cornwall.This intimate 32 cover restaurant is owned by Looe resident Adrian Woodward and first opened in 2008. The restaurant itself is housed within a character filled period building dating back more than 300 years.Looe is a pretty seaside town and important Cornish port selling mainly day caught fish from small trawlers, netting boats and line fishing boats, where the highest EU quality level of E (excellent) is electronically `attached' to almost every box of fish. Day boats are considered one of the more sustainable ways to fish, and they also provide the freshest fish.We are committed to offering outstanding service and our menu includes dishes suitable for allergy sufferers or those just wishing to avoid certain foods such as seafood, gluten or dairy. If however you have any additional dietary requirements you are welcome to discuss them with the chef who will endeavour to accommodate them.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Eve treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Finaly made it to Looe for new year after the bad weather last year ruined our plans, So decided to give ourselves a special treat and eat at Squid ink, And we weren't disappointed ! Fantastic meal with all the trimmings , I had turbot which was superb, but other menu choices looked great , great service and nice atmosphere, & a glass of bubbly to watch the fireworks with . What more can you want, well happy :)



Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coinshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    64
    21
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Evening meal at Squid Ink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed a fantastic meal at this restaurant during the Christmas week. The service was brilliant and the whole ambiance of the evening was delightful. Not been here before, but will definitely be coming again when we are in Looe. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slim026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review after your recent visit to our restaurant over the Christmas holiday, its especially nice that you uploaded a photo of your party, its always nice to put a face to the reviewer. Its lovely to read that you enjoyed your dining experience and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards

Catherine and Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice decor, shame about the fish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Looe is a renowned fishing port so we stayed there specifically because of its reputation for fresh fish and seafood. On our first evening we made straight for Squid Ink, which had great reviews on TripAdvisor. First impressions were good. It's a lovely restaurant with an enticing menu, reasonably priced. However, the chef must have been having an off night. All the accompaniments were okay, although they overpowered the main ingredients - but this may have been a blessing, as scallops and prawns in the starters were overcooked and the sea bass in the main dish looked like (and, frankly, tasted like) it had been deep fried in old oil. Very disappointing. It wasn't bad enough to complain about at the time, but we didn't stay for desert - we just wanted to leave. I wonder if people are fooled by the decor into thinking the food must be acceptable. There are equally as pleasant restaurants serving much better food elsewhere in Looe. I would be wary of going back to Squid Ink.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaudelVeronceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your visit to our restaurant, we are always interested to hear what diners think.

We take all fair and constructive feedback seriously to enable us to improve the experience for our diners. Every restaurant wants to have happy customers and as co-owner of a small, independently run family business I like to think we take the extra time and effort to provide our diners with a relaxed, un-hurried dining experience, with approachable front of house staff, in pleasant surroundings.

It was therefore pleasing to read that you felt our restaurant was " lovely", with an "enticing menu", which you felt "was reasonably priced". However, it was very disappointing to also read that you appear not to have enjoyed the food prepared for you including fresh Looe Bay Scallops, prawns and Sea Bass.

Whilst we fully appreciate that although we work extremely hard and are passionate about our restaurant, there will be times that we get things wrong. We can therefore only apologise to you and your fellow guest, as it appears that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. As a restaurant owner my aim is for my guests to enjoy their evening, return again and again and recommend my restaurant to others, it is therefore extremely frustrating when guests leave disappointed.

Unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to put things right during your visit, as although you were asked during each of your courses and at the end of your meal if everything was to your liking, you gave no indication that there were any issues with your meals at all. In your review you say that "it wasn't bad enough to complain about at the time", instead however you felt it more appropriate to use this site to let us know how you felt. May I suggest that surely it would be far more appropriate for any diners to actually say something at the time if they are not happy with any aspect of their meal. This not only gives the restaurant an opportunity to put things right, as we all know anyone can have on "off moment" , but it also enables the diner to enjoy their evening and to go home happy.

As you say there are many fabulous restaurants in Looe and it is a fantastic fishing port, which is well worth a visit . It would be lovely to see you both again on your next trip to Cornwall and as such I ask that you reconsider your view of the Squid Ink Restaurant. I can assure you that our many local and returning diners are not "fooled by our décor, which I do agree with you, is lovely, but are in fact very happy with the service and food they receive time and time again.

kind regards

Catherine and Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Superb food, great quality and service in a fabulous restaurant in Looe. Highly recommended. We had a wonderful evening at Squid Ink, it's first class!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pam_phillippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you Pam for such a kind review after your recent visit to our restaurant, we hope to see you again soon,
kind regards

Catherine and Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splended meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Been waiting to get a table here for ages, at last managed to get in last week and it was well worth the wait... it was very reasonable for three courses, only had two as i was full, nice menu ...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you Linda for taking the time to write such a positive review, we look forward to seeing you again soon .

Kind regards

Catherine and Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squid Ink also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing