We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splended meal”
Review of Squid Ink - CLOSED

Squid Ink
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $73
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Squid Ink restaurant situated in the historic fishing port of Looe in South East Cornwall.This intimate 32 cover restaurant is owned by Looe resident Adrian Woodward and first opened in 2008. The restaurant itself is housed within a character filled period building dating back more than 300 years.Looe is a pretty seaside town and important Cornish port selling mainly day caught fish from small trawlers, netting boats and line fishing boats, where the highest EU quality level of E (excellent) is electronically `attached' to almost every box of fish. Day boats are considered one of the more sustainable ways to fish, and they also provide the freshest fish.We are committed to offering outstanding service and our menu includes dishes suitable for allergy sufferers or those just wishing to avoid certain foods such as seafood, gluten or dairy. If however you have any additional dietary requirements you are welcome to discuss them with the chef who will endeavour to accommodate them.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Been waiting to get a table here for ages, at last managed to get in last week and it was well worth the wait... it was very reasonable for three courses, only had two as i was full, nice menu ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you Linda for taking the time to write such a positive review, we look forward to seeing you again soon .

Kind regards

Catherine and Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 400 of 639 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Cannot believe that customers were being turned away when there were empty tables that still had not been taken when we left after our meal, Turning tables over is essential to get profit.The starters were very good - lovely mussels. Main course a little ordinary I had RibEye steak but fish for my wife was a bit overcooked. Good selection of vegetables & very nice service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BadhamJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent visit to our restaurant. I note that you you found the "starters to be very good" and you enjoyed the "lovely mussels" that are locally sourced from Fowey. It is however disappointing to read that your wife felt her fish was a "bit overcooked", had this been brought to our attention we would have prepared her another dish immediately and can only apologise to her. Thank you for also acknowledging the service you received I will ensure I share your comments with the front of house team.

We would love to see you both again on your next visit to Looe.

Kind regards
Catherine and Warren

Just a note about our table booking policy. As an independent, family run restaurant we took the decision not to turn our tables so that our diners never feel pressurised into rushing their meals. We book our tables 15 mins apart so that all our diners are given the same one to one service that we pride ourself in. We have only 11 tables and once booked, the table is booked for the night, whether the table is booked at 6pm or at 8pm we don't book someone in on the same table. Turning tables over is not actually essential to getting a profit, for a large company with large overheads, or establishments were quality isn't important, turning tables may be essential, but as this is not the case for us we will continue to maintain the high level of customer care our diners have come to expect. I hope this answers your point .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Having visited most of the restaurants in Looe we can truly see why they are top of tripadviser league reviews . The interior is very well thought out with soft background music . The staff hospitality was stunning and immediately made you feel comfy to be there . Food and drink was excellent and sensibly priced . The sticky toffee pudding is to die for . Many thanks for looking after us ... Sue and Mike .

Thank mikeinlooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you Sue and Mike for visiting our restaurant and for leaving such a lovely review. I will ensure I feedback your comments to the front of house and kitchen teams. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind regards

Catherine and Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Second visit to this wonderful restaurant this year and not disappointed at all.Was a very special night out for me and my wife and Catherine and her staff were excellent, food was totally amazing the whole experience was brilliant thank you X

Thank GPY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special anniversary with us , its wonderful to read that we helped to make your evening special. We have an excellent team of dedicated front of house and kitchen staff and I will be sure to feed back to them your very positive comments.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind regards

Catherine and Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A pleasant restaurant with friendly and attentive staff. However, the attention given to the look of the place - white table linen, waiting staff in smart, matching dresses, spotless loos sadly did not extend to the food. The menu was really interesting but the food served was bland and lacking in flavour - perhaps it was the chef's night off. Also, the lighting was a bit too bright and the music coming from the radio in the adjoining kitchen was a bit distracting. A real shame that our first visit was disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squid Ink also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing