We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further”
Review of Squid Ink - CLOSED

Squid Ink
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $77
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Squid Ink restaurant situated in the historic fishing port of Looe in South East Cornwall.This intimate 32 cover restaurant is owned by Looe resident Adrian Woodward and first opened in 2008. The restaurant itself is housed within a character filled period building dating back more than 300 years.Looe is a pretty seaside town and important Cornish port selling mainly day caught fish from small trawlers, netting boats and line fishing boats, where the highest EU quality level of E (excellent) is electronically `attached' to almost every box of fish. Day boats are considered one of the more sustainable ways to fish, and they also provide the freshest fish.We are committed to offering outstanding service and our menu includes dishes suitable for allergy sufferers or those just wishing to avoid certain foods such as seafood, gluten or dairy. If however you have any additional dietary requirements you are welcome to discuss them with the chef who will endeavour to accommodate them.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked this lovely restaurant on 2nd jan and expected it to be reasonably quiet,however they were so busy there was only one sitting available which we of course took.
On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly Catherine who sat us by the fire while we had a drink
We had pigeon and squid for starter with roe deer and rump for main both courses were stunning really stunning and served by really cheerful polite staff
The Armagnac by the fire again was a perfect finish to a wonderful meal
We will of course return thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shoals2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Firstly may I thank you for such a lovely review of your dining experience at our restaurant. We pride ourselves in excellent guest service and I will of course feed back to both the front of house staff and chef that you found the service 'cheerful and polite' and that you found the 'pigeon and squid for starter with roe deer and rump of lamb for main to be stunning'.

We have the benefit of having a very cosy seating area and many of our guests like yourselves end their evening with an after dinner drink by the fire, .

Thank you again for your review

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Catherine and Warren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 516 of 639 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

we had the pleasure of visiting Squid Ink on New Years Eve, we had an absolutely fantastic evening, the meal was outstanding, the glass of champagne which we were able to take out to the beach to watch the NYE firework display, and then returning to the restaurant for hot coffee
what a wonderful way to start the new year, nothing was too much trouble.
we will certainly visit again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daydreams_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your New Years Eve dining experience. We really appreciate it when guests choose to spend such an important celebration with us and its lovely to read that you had a "fantastic evening", finding the meal to be "outstanding" . We want all our guests to feel that "nothing is too much trouble" and hope that the extra special touches, such as the champagne for your midnight toast whilst you watched the fireworks, helped to make your night extra special.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Looe.

Thank you

Catherine and Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We've come down to Looe for the new year celebrations and found Squid Ink on trip advisor before we came. We trusted the majority voters on the site and booked a table. And we weren't disappointed. A lovely evening from start to finish (rain aside!). Great service - friendly, efficient but unobtrusive. A starter of scallops to die for and my hubby enjoyed his squid. The mains were delicious and the portions just right. We foolishly squeezed in a lovely pud and took a walk round Looe afterwards to get rid of the guilt pangs. A lovely restaurant and definitely top of the list on our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Bev thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our restaurant. Its always lovely to hear when our guests have enjoyed their dining experience. Looe is a fantastic place in which to spend New Year , the town really comes to life and New Years Eve itself is awash with thousands of people, often in fancy dress, having a wonderful time. The fireworks at midnight are also excellent and end the celebrations on a high note.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit and thank you again for your kind comments.

Catherine and Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant earlier this year and fell in love with the place. We come to Cornwall several times a year and no matter where we are staying in the county this is a drive worth taking. The food is exceptional, our last vist the mussels had just come through the door from the boat and was on our plate 15mins later...delicous! Great menu variety from daily caught fish to locally meat. Atmosphere is wonderfully relaxed and friendly a great place to dine....earlier this year I saw they were ranked number 2 in Looe and now quite rightly they are now number 1. Cant wait untill Saturday when we are returning!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you Mike for your very kind review after you visited us at The Squid Ink . It was lovely to see you again on the Saturday and it was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit as much as your first. The mussels you had are from our local fishermen in Fowey and are indeed "delicious!". Their freshness is second to none, being so near to the coast we are truly spoilt with the freshness of our fish.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Best wishes

Catherine and Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We are regular visitors to Looe as we have a holiday cottage there. We have eaten in many of Looe's fine restaurants, but this is the first review we have felt the need to write. We had an absolutely fabulous evening at this restaurant due to the food and the service. The food is gorgeous and the portions are very generous. It was hard to choose what to have as the menu is excellent. We had all three courses and enjoyed every bit of them! The staff are very friendly and paid us just the right amount of attention. It was lovely to chat to the owners (front of house and head chef) to find out more about the place. We really could not fault anything. It was a very rainy night in Looe and we were so pleased that we made the effort to go out! Worth a visit to anyone who loves good food in a restaurant with a lovely, personal feel to it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you Audrey for choosing to write your first ever review after your visit to the Squid Ink. its always lovely to read when our guests have had an enjoyable experience at our restaurant.
I remember the evening well, the weather was awful with several roads and villages being flooded in the area. You and your fellow diner did well just to get to us and It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed both the food and the service. I will pass on you fantastic comments to both the front of house and kitchen teams.

Thank you again for your time,

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit, hopefully you wont be needing your wellies.

Kind regards

Catherine and Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squid Ink also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing