We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best fish restaurant we tried in a week of Gourmet dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Squid Ink - CLOSED

Squid Ink
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood, British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Squid Ink restaurant situated in the historic fishing port of Looe in South East Cornwall.This intimate 32 cover restaurant is owned by Looe resident Adrian Woodward and first opened in 2008. The restaurant itself is housed within a character filled period building dating back more than 300 years.Looe is a pretty seaside town and important Cornish port selling mainly day caught fish from small trawlers, netting boats and line fishing boats, where the highest EU quality level of E (excellent) is electronically `attached' to almost every box of fish. Day boats are considered one of the more sustainable ways to fish, and they also provide the freshest fish.We are committed to offering outstanding service and our menu includes dishes suitable for allergy sufferers or those just wishing to avoid certain foods such as seafood, gluten or dairy. If however you have any additional dietary requirements you are welcome to discuss them with the chef who will endeavour to accommodate them.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best fish restaurant we tried in a week of Gourmet dining!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had a week down in Cornwall and really pushed the boat out on dining, we eat at The View in Freathy, the Blue Plate in Downderry and then here. This was a meal that pushed the taste boundaries, the Amuse Bouch was simply outstanding and the starter was also great, but the main was on another level again. Competition is fierce in this sector for top end dining and i would say this restaurant has a better vibe than Steins. He even comes out to check that everything was fine with all his diners. So in a nutshell, hot decent quality food served on hot plates by professional staff and prepared by a nice chap who can certainly cook. Finally, when the bill came i had to look at it twice as it was so reasonable, from memory the house rose wine was about £4.50 ish a glass and it was excellent. Book it and you shouldnt be dissapointed, we will back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kibrisjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Both Warren and myself are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Squid Ink Restaurant. It is always encouraging to read such positive comments from our guests. It sounds like you had a lovely week dining out and enjoying the superb Cornish produce on offer in Looe and the surrounding area. We do indeed have some of the best restaurants in South East Cornwall and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Warren and Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    64
    21
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“They got everything right!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

As soon as we entered the restaurant we knew we were in for a treat. Seated by the fire in the in cosy bar area, we were welcomed warmly by Catherine and taken through the menu which was beautifully balanced with locally caught fresh fish and seafood, to local venison and more..
The restaurant itself is simple and classy, with a lovely ambience, warm and inviting whilst retaining an elegance that meant that it was the perfect venue for our romantic anniversary dinner, but we would have been just as comfortable popping in for a quick bite for lunch!
The little touches make it special, the amuse bouche was delightful and warm home made bread and olives arrived as soon as we sat down. The meal itself lived up to everything we could have wished for and we felt thoroughly spoilt by the time we were reluctantly ready to leave... Thank you Catherine & Warren for making our special night really special!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules_Penvith_Barns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you for such a fantastic review after your recent visit to our restaurant. We really do appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments. The "cosy bar area" where we invite our guests to relax, have a pre-meal drink and choose from our extensive menu is often favourably commented upon and many of the diners enjoy sitting by the warm open fire for their after dinner coffee.

We have kept the restaurant "simple and classy" to show the true beauty of its original features and have strived to create a "lovely ambience" with friendly, knowledgeable staff, in a relaxed environment. We are so pleased that you chose our restaurant to celebrate your anniversary and hope to see for many more.

Kind Regards

Catherine and Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Steinally a Unpretentious Fish Restaurant!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Visited here by chance with my Vegetarian Girlfriend in March & was blown away,

If your a Fish foodie forget Padstow come here. Catherine & her husband are doing a fantastic job.

Freshly landed fish straight from the ship and onto your plate, The quality speaks for itself and its difficult to convey that via tripadvisor, Simply go there & find out for your self.

I expect a mention of this place in the Michellin Guide very soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you Daniel for posting such a fabulous review of our restaurant.... it was a pleasure to meet you and your girlfriend and both Warren and myself were "blown away" by your positive feedback.

The freshly landed fish is as you said "straight from the ship and onto your plate" and the quality does indeed "speak for itself". Looe is a very special place and we are spoilt by our hard working fishermen who provide the restaurants in Looe with the most fantastic seafood.

We haven't yet had a mention in the Michellin Guide.... but have recently been voted as one of the best Southern England restaurants by the Telegraph and Hi-Life diners club, which was a lovely accolade for our first year .

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on trip advisor and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards

Catherine and Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Only three words to say about this place: yum yum yummy! :-)
My ever patient boyfriend watched me devour a venison steak whilst he had some haddock that I have to say was delicious (he has to share his food with me). I don't like haddock usually but the chef here cooked it perfectly.

I think I've been spoilt!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonDe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you Sharon for taking the time to comment on your visit to the Squid Ink .... it is our aim to make you feel "spoilt" and we are very pleased hat you felt we had achieved this. We look forwrd to seeing you and your partner again on your next visit to Looe.

Kind regards

Catherine and Warren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely location”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We live locally to Looe and thought we would Squid Ink a try, we were not disappointed , good range of beers, wine etc.

The menu had something on it for everyone and what arrives exceeds expectations.

Surroundings are crisp and clean.

Service was prompt but unobtrusive .

The only little thing was that we found it a touch cold, but that is easily fixed.

All in all very good

Thanks guys for nice lunch

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwhbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on trip advisor after your recent visit to our restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal, the service and your surroundings and that your experience exceeded your expectations. We take great pride in the food and service that we offer and are in the enviable position that we have excellent local producers and suppliers of first class Cornish produce. The local wines, beers, ciders and fruit juices that we offer are produced at orchards within 3 miles of Looe and at breweries all within Cornwall. Our wine list offers Cornish wine as well as a selection of some of the finest european and world wide wines, our local family run wine merchant being close at hand to advise as needed.

Please accept our apologies that you found our restaurant a little cold. Living near Looe you will no doubt appreciate the changeable weather we have had in April. We were surprised by the sudden changes in temperatures, mistakenly thinking summer had arrived and as such we were caught out. As you know our restaurant is an old, stone built, character filled building which takes a while to warm up, we have altered our heating controls to compensate for this, thank you again for bringing this to our attention we appreciate all constructive feedback .

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Catherine and Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squid Ink also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing