We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience and seafood to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Squid Ink - CLOSED

Squid Ink
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood, British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Squid Ink restaurant situated in the historic fishing port of Looe in South East Cornwall.This intimate 32 cover restaurant is owned by Looe resident Adrian Woodward and first opened in 2008. The restaurant itself is housed within a character filled period building dating back more than 300 years.Looe is a pretty seaside town and important Cornish port selling mainly day caught fish from small trawlers, netting boats and line fishing boats, where the highest EU quality level of E (excellent) is electronically `attached' to almost every box of fish. Day boats are considered one of the more sustainable ways to fish, and they also provide the freshest fish.We are committed to offering outstanding service and our menu includes dishes suitable for allergy sufferers or those just wishing to avoid certain foods such as seafood, gluten or dairy. If however you have any additional dietary requirements you are welcome to discuss them with the chef who will endeavour to accommodate them.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience and seafood to die for”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Was having a short stay in the area and looking for somewhere a little special when we came upon this little treasure.
I can only say that the whole evening was a foodies heaven - from the minute we arrived to draining the last dregs from my coffee cup.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aj54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed you visit to Looe and hope to see you at the Squid Ink again soon .
Warren and Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    64
    21
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Looe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Eight members of our family enjoyed a meal at Squid Ink last night. I have never written a review before but felt compelled to share our experience as we had such a lovely meal and evening. The restaurant is understated but cool and the atmosphere last night was relaxed and service efficient. Our group ranged in age and fussiness but everyone enjoyed their meal. Highlights were the Tempura Squid; Aged Sirloin Steak (simply the best steak I can remember eating!); Squate Wing and all of the deserts. Thank you very much to the restaurant team for a wonderful meal, we live locally so will come back often and tell all our friends...

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and that your party of eight all enjoyed their visit. The steak you enjoyed so much is locally sourced with in 10 miles of Looe and is provided by an award winning local butcher . Being able to use such wonderful Cornish produce in our menu is one of the reasons that we feel that our dishes are some of the best in the area. Thank you again for your lovely comments. We hope to see you all again soon, Warren and Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class food and service”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We found out that a new chef/owner has recently taken over, so wanted to see if things had improved from previous reviews. YES, food and service is absolutely excellent. We were welcomed on arrival with an aperitif or fancy cocktail for each of us on the table, then starters were served quickly, once we'd made our minds up of course! Main courses were absolute perfection, both meat and fish dishes cooked to order, vegetables very fresh and nicely served. Desserts were to die for!!! Personal attention from the chef made the evening even more special, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended, will definitely be going back and taking more friends to share the experience!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Saltydog05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to the Squid Ink we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The Squid Ink is a beautiful restaurant, previously being owned by a very successful artist, our visitors often comment on its style and relaxed atmosphere. Warren (the Chef) has ensured that he has maintained the reputation of The Squid Ink as using Local Produce and strives to ensure that the ingredients he uses in his dishes are as local to the area surrounding Looe as possible. There is of course the added bonus of having the fishing port of Looe on the restaurants doorstep. The fish and locally sorced meat are some of the finest to be found in the country. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and extremely friendly service in a great location”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My daughter and I had an amazing seafood lunch at this restaurant. The produce was fresh and cooked to perfection. The service was attentive without being intrusive and the co-owner, who served us, was very pleasant and helpful. It was also a more than reasonable price for a decent sized portion. I will definately be going back to try the dinner menu.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cemfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine1966, Owner at Squid Ink, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Warren and Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squid Ink also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing