We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
9 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gail_Youn...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing house”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We stayed here as a 50th birthday party for my husband with 15 friends. The house is absolutely fantastic with views to die for. From the fantastic scones, bread, cream jam, milk and orange juice to the lovely fresh flowers and the brilliantly equipped kitchen (with all the condiments, tea, coffee, washing powder, washing up liquid etc provided) we couldn't have had a better time. The rooms are great, the lounge area comfortable and we loved the bar!!!!! We were incredibly lucky with great weather but even if the weather is more inclement there is plenty of room in the house. Sam is a great host and was there to meet us when we arrived. We didn't need anything while we were there but he would have been there to help if needed. Just one warning it is a steep hill climb back to the house from Looe but worth it for the views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2018
Thank you so very much for your excellent review, Gail. You guys have been absolutely brilliant guests indeed! It was so lovely meeting all of you and I was so happy that the weather was perfect for your stay. Thank you for your incredible feedback. This really means everything to us and to Clipper House. We couldn't do it without you. I hope to see you all again soon!
Very best wishes,
Sam
Clipper House holiday let
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danreason...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay and amazing hosts/owners!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Amazing house to stay in for large groups and great for kids, we had 9 kids in our party and 2 babies, all of which had their own bed or travel cot.

Rooms were spacious, clean and all of them having an en suite was a nice bonus.

Plenty of space for the kids to play and run around without getting under the feet of the adults was really good.

The house is really well equipped with more than enough fridges, freezers, cutlery, mugs and everything else you'd need. The kitchen is amazing and makes it easy to cook for a large amount of people.

Parking was good considering how hard it is to park in Looe and I doubt there's a better view of Looe than from the terrace area outside Clipper House.

There isn't really anything that lets the house down unless you're being really picky and notice that if you're sat in the lounge area in the conservatory when the sun is out it can get a bit hot in there as there are no blinds/curtains to keep the light out and it can obscure the TV a little bit which makes the world cup difficult to watch.

But the hosts are amazing, Sam has been very helpful after our daughter left a blanket there and is posting it back to us to save us the 2+ hour drive to get it and because of that we will definitely be back again next year!

There isn't a better place to stay in Looe!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2018
Dan, thank you so much for your very good and elaborate review. I also really appreciate the constructive criticism in regards to the sunroom and there not being any blinds to keep out the glare and the heat. I will really take this into consideration and look into investing in some blinds.
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the house and facilities. And I'm glad you received your daughters blanket back safe.
It was lovely meeting all of you and I hope to see you all back!
Best wishes and keep in touch.
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reb T
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All of our party were impressed beyond their expectations.”
Reviewed May 20, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The house is beyond amazing, the views are outstanding, and I had the most amazing Hen Weekend at The Clipper. I could hardly believe my eyes when we pulled up to this gorgeous house looking out across the sea, harbour and Looe itself. Sam is the perfect host and along with his friend Sophie they really helped make the weekend fantastic. The added luxury of having Sam and Sophie cook for us on Saturday and Sunday really made my hen weekend perfect, so friendly, welcoming, they really could not do enough for us which meant we all had an amazing relaxing weekend. The bedrooms are all decorated to a high standard as well as the bathrooms and everything was perfectly clean and tidy. The added touches of reading books being available, cream teas and a very well stocked games cabinet were additional wow factors. We were a diverse bunch of girls with differing styles and tastes but were all equally impressed with The Clipper and have all said how much we would like to return. From what those organising my hen weekend have told me Sam was most helpful with making my weekend extra special, even helping get the girls in touch with a sea glass jewellery maker who came in and did a master class at the house with us which was so "my cup of tea". We loved the fact that the sun room/lounge had enough seating that we could all chill out and spend time together as well as the dining room. The games room was again for us a massive bonus and was used all weekend. I really can not recommend Sam and The Clipper enough, it was beyond perfection... just totally outstanding!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2018
What a gorgeous review! Thank you all so very much. Honestly, it was an absolute pleasure meeting all of you and being able to be part of your special weekend.
All of us here at Clipper House really appreciate your feedback. This is an incredible review. But most of all, we are so delighted that you all had an amazing weekend and enjoyed the house so much. This is truly the most important part for us. Again, thank you. And I look forward to seeing back at Clipper House.
Best wishes,
Sam
Clipper House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy O
Plymouth
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Epic house with views”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We were are group of 15 girls away for a weekend. Clipper house was just perfect, a huge communal space with bar, pool table and lounge with amazing views out to sea and back down the estuary; plus all the rooms were ensuite, so we all had our own space and never felt on top of each other. The house and views were just epic, we were almost gutted we had so much stuff booked to do for the weekend because all we wanted to do was hang out at the house! Would recommend clipper house to anyone, especially big groups, you will not be disappointed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2018
We love this review title! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed Clipper House. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. A fantastic review like this is truly something we will never get tired of. Thank you so very much. Best wishes to all of you and I hope to see you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Sam
Clipper House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_joannaja...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous stay at the Clipper!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fabulous stay at ‘The Clipper’ over Easter. Gorgeous house with stunning views. Very clean and welcoming, with a table of fresh scones, cream, fruit and bread on arrival which was a lovely touch!
The games room and the bar made the evenings great fun for adults and children and plenty to do in the day with the beach and coastal town on your doorstep. Boat rides, walks, zip wires and adrenaline activities!
Sam was a great help and we look forward to another stay at the Clipper in the future !
Would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2018
Thank you very much for the comments and fantastic feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and you chose to celebrate your Easter weekend here at Clipper House. You are all fantastic guests and I really hope to see you back again soon.
Best wishes,
Sam
Clipper House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony O
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ozzy's 50th Birthday Bash”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for my 50th Birthday as Looe is my favorite place, Sam met us on arrival and showed us around and was always available should we need him. 13 of us stayed and to be honest the Clipper is so comfortable and clean with host of equipment to cater for all your needs that we only went out because we had booked locally for a meal. We were all so impressed at the value for money and the house along with it's stunning views that we are looking to book for a week in the summer, i wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Clipper to anyone, we loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2018
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It was an absolute pleasure meeting all of you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed The Clipper. And honestly, from a host perspective, it was a pleasure to have you here. We will continue to do our very best to make our guests feel as welcome as I hope you felt. We love your feedback. Thank you all so very much and we're looking forward to you coming back soon.
Best wishes,
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas Break”
Reviewed December 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

A group of 11 of us (plus 3 dogs) stayed here to celebrate Christmas. The property itself is excellent with plenty of space. A lounge area with wonderful views of Looe, which was even better at night with the Christmas lights around the harbour. The dining room had two large tables which can be moved to create the perfect seating arrangement. The bar area was great place to congregate during the evening. The Kitchen was well equipped and as the property used to be a hotel it has a very large cooker/oven, which does take a bit of getting used to. The bedrooms and all en-suite and very comfortable with the rooms at the front also benefiting from the wonderful views.
Sam, who manages the property, couldn't be more helpful, both in the run up to and during our stay. The scones that were waiting for us on our arrival were a nice touch and were delicious.
All in all a wonderful property which I would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2018
Thank you for this fantastic review! We really are so pleased that you enjoyed Looe and the property, and also that you and your family shared your Christmas here at Clipper House. We will always do our very best to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay with us. And as well, we just enjoy knowing how much our guests love the space that The Clipper has to offer...And the views certainly don't hurt. ( :
Thank you again,
Sam
Clipper House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing