We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant as always!”
Review of Dolphin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin House
Ranked #14 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Jean and Peter show a welcome like no other... arriving at their beatiful hotel/home is always comforting after our long journey. We are guided to our wonderful room with a view overlooking the tidal river where activity is continuous...cases are left unpacked until we make a cuppa and sit in our comfortable chairs with the little table between us displaying shortcake biscuits!! a little unpacking perhaps then a glass of wine in the sundowner ( a unique sun lounge overlooking the river) a meal downtown then back for a nightcap??? the cocktails are a peter and Jean speciallity.
breakfast??we think you need to go and try for yourselfs!!!

Room Tip: front rooms with view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuckAppyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and were made welcome from the moment we arrived. Peter and Jean are perfect hosts and obviously enjoy what they do. Our room was superb and breakfast was excellent served in the pretty dining room. We have been to Looe many times but when our usual hotel put their prices up by a ridiculous amount, we looked elsewhere and were delighted we did. We can't recommend Dolphin highly enough and will definately return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a three night stay at the Dolphin and could not fault a single thing.The room overlooked the harbour and was immaculate, the beds were so comfortable and every facility was catered for. The en-suite was great and again immaculate. The owners Jean and Peter made you welcome from the moment you arrived. The breakfast were delicious and the dining room was gorgeous. The use of a parking permit supplied by the dolphin was a real boon as parking in Looe is a nightmare. The outdoor sitting area is lovely in the evening, sitting in the sunshine with a glass of wine supplied by Peter from his excellent bar! I would recommend this place to everyone, it is definately the best B and B we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: front bedrooms are best but book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adrian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We booked for a 2 night stay here on account of the very good reviews.
And they were right ! Run by Peter and Jean, a lovely, friendly couple who made us feel at home immediately.
After dropping off our bags, Peter gave me a parking permit and showed me where to park the car near the filling station opposite the house.No problem.
Our room at the front was large, very clean and comfortable with a modern shower and toilet.We had a lovely view of the river too !
Breakfast was excellent.The "Full Dolphin" is a triumph - really well cooked, super local sausages and not a bit greasy.
I made use of the sun longe (and the liscensed bar).Lovely to watch the sun going down with a bottle of beer !

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hywel_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

immaculate clean spacious room,super views, excellent and friendly service, superb breakfast. all round 5*.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JILLIAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at Dolphin House for just a Saturday night. Lovely room, excellent breakfast, incredible view and lovely people running it. It was a bit noisy late on but that is true of almost any place in Looe with a view, on a Saturday nighton Will stay there again when visiting Looe

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tearoomwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

As the title says it really is the Best B&B we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in quite a few in our years,
was going to write loads of great stuff about the Dolphin House but i dont really need to, just read all the other reviews there all correct,
if only other B&B round the uk took a lesson from this lovely place

thanks for a lovely stay guys and see you when were in looe next ;)

Alan & Sally from Paignton

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Looe hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Bridgeside Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Old Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Trehaven Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin House

Address: Station Road, Looe PL13 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: $115 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolphin House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin House is situated in the small coastal town of Looe. The elegant Victorian building overlooks the estuary and the ancient woodlands beyond. Guests can enjoy the onsite bar served in the Sun Lounge overlooking the river. The 7 en-suite bedrooms are fitted with flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Many rooms overlook the river and have seating areas. Traditional cooked breakfast is served in the dining room, cooked to order and can cater for gluten free and vegetarian options. Situated near transport, is an ideal base to explore Cornwall including the Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan. Free parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dolphin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin House Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing