We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornish Waterside Pub”
Review of Pandora Inn

Pandora Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Pandora Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 232 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Stunning waterside pub with pontoon seating 150 people stretching out into the creek. Food is served every day starting with morning coffee and cake from 10.30am, our full menu from noon until 21.30 And daily specials served at lunchtime and in the evening. Four real ales, local cider, Cornish lager and extensive wine list with 17 wines available by the glass. Multi award winning pub including Visit England Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 - Bronze, Cornwall Tourism pub of the Year 2012/13,2013/14, 2015/15 - Gold , South West Tourism pub of the year 2012/13 & 2013/14, 2014/15 - Gold.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

For many visitors to Cornwall, Pandora's Inn is a summer destination alongside a delightful creek side setting off of the Carrick Roads.
I have long felt that it is best enjoyed in the winter months: my tip is to arrive on an evening near a full moon when you easily slip into smugglers territory.
On Easter Sunday the staff and kitchen were coping well with a full house. The carvery was good and on a cold day that, and good beer - it is a St Austell Brewery house - is all you need.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advsor and for your positive comments which we will pass on to our excellent team. we are ever so slightly biased but feel that the Pandora is a great place to visit at any time of the year!
Glad you enjoyed the award winning real ales which do come from St Austell brewery - but we are individually owned and run!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,253 - 1,257 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having visited the Pandora over the last 25 years we have lived in Cornwall and had very good food and service we were appalled on the two recent evenings we ate here!
The food was cold and unappetising and the waiting staff "surly" and totally disinterested .We were served the wrong soup and when we complained the young waiter just replied that it was more or less "hard luck"!
Never again !......our bills were over £100 and there were 4 diners on each occasion I understand there is new management and they really need to "up they're game! Or they will lose all the local customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank spwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your second review of the Pandora Inn. All feedback is important to us as it helps us improve what we do. Obviously we are very dissapointed with this review and want to understand what went so wrong to make you go from giving us a five star review to this one star review. I think it is important that others users of this site know that, via the private message facility on trip advisor we made direct contact with this reviewer and took the unusual decision to give them our mobile phone numbers to discuss their recent visits to our establishment - this was over two weeks ago and needless to say we have not heard from the reviewer. We would have thought that if things were so bad that they would have wanted to discuss their concerns.
If we made a mistake with the flavour of the soup we served to you we can only apologise. All of our food is freshly made on the premises and sometimes during the course of a day we do sell out of some dishes and try to replace with a suitable alternative. With regard to the food being cold and unappetising it is hard to comment as you have given no details of what you had. Our team of chefs are very experienced and really care about the food they prepare and serve and as can be seen from all of our recent reviews we rarely ever get a complaint.
This reviewer is also wrong in their statement that we have new managers, Our managers have been with us since reopening and do a fantastic job as has been independantly confirmed by the recent awards the Pandora has won. In fact the team has hardly changed since opening as we have very good staff retention rates so the team that you thought were great six months ago are still there. There is always at least one manager on duty throughout the trading day and if there was a problem with either the food you were served or indeed the way you were served they could have dealt with your issues on site at the time to ensure that you left happy - of course to do this they would need to have been made aware!
It is sad that you have now excluded yourself from coming back to the Pandora which as our rewiews show is a very special place to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food was excellent at Pandora. My other half had sirloin steak which she said had the nicest sauce (peppercorn and cream) she had ever had, and fantastic steak too. I had the duck breast which was delicious and unusual with a duck egg and some sort of delicious bubble and squeak patty. For afters we had a baked Alaska with two spoons which was also very tasty.

The service was very good, all the staff were polite and personable. We did not have to wait too long for a meal which was nice as we were ravenous!

The wine selection was very good, reasonably priced too.

The only small niggle was the price of the food - £18 each for duck and steak (although I appreciate the quality) and £5 for a small baked Alaska.

Our experience of The Pandora is that is is 100% gay friendly which may be useful for others to know. We shall return!

Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive feedback. We do try to source our food locally and use prime ingredients which we realise are not the cheapest but we hope that the quality of what we serve shines through. the duck and sirloin that you enjoyed are two of the most expensive dishes on our menu but there is lots of choice with prices for some main meals ranging from a very reasonable cost!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is just where you would imagine smugglers/pirates planning their raids. A warren of little rooms/booths where you could plot absolutely anything you fanices, whilst taking advantage of absolutely gorgeous food! Fully planning on three courses when we got there (with our dog - dog friendly place) after the tapas board to start with and then the fish pie - which looks absolutely gorgeous in its little pot and you think you can manage it - fills you right up, there was definitely no room left for puds! A delightful spot and I imagine through the summer, floating on the pontoon whilst you eat/drink would be really lovely. It's a bit off the beaten track, but well worth the sat nav journey in the dark. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor following your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much and will pass your feedback onto our team.
It certainly is an atmospheric place both inside and out and when summer arrives you are right the floating pontoon is a great place to sit back, relax and enjoy a drink, a meal or both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked for a special birthday lunch on the coldest day of winter. Although allocated a table upstairs we were told we could have a table nearer the fire downstairs if we wished. Although we arrived before 12.30 all the fireside tables were occupied. We were suprised to see so many people there on such a bitterly cold day but that speaks volumes for the popularity of the Pandora. We eventually settled for a private room upstairs which suited our needs as we had a 3year old inclined to be boisterous at times, so we did not have to worry about him disturbing other guests.Although the radiator was fully on it was decidedly chilly but this was the only thing we could complain about, [which we didn't], as everything else was better than we had expected. The staff were all friendly and professional and the service was good. The food was outstanding in flavour, presentation and creativity and more restaurant quality than pub food. The Inn stands in a beautiful riverside setting alongside a creekside footpath for an after lunch stroll, and there is plenty of outside seating for warmer days. I can imagine in the summer months it is packed to capacity.
The Pandora is full of character and has been tastefully restored without losing any of its charm. Well done to all concerned. We can't wait to come again before the tourist season gets under way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank babs-4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor and for your kind and honest feedback. The small, private dining room upstairs is a great place to tuck yourself away and listen to the buzz of the busy pub without being right in the middle of it!
We will pass your excellent feedback on to our hard working team - look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pandora Inn also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Pandora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing