We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still excellent third visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunkydory Restaurant

Hunkydory Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 222 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in a beautiful Grade II listed building and with bright designed interiors, hunkydory is a great location for a romantic or group meal. Lots a little alcoves and booths allow you to feel you have your own private space. There is also a private function area for exclusive use to seat up to 20 around one table, with it's own private lounge and facilities. Great for family occasions or business meals.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Still excellent third visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We've eaten here a few times now and last night's meal was outstanding, as were previous experiences. The fish is cooked to perfection. My husband had hake on delicately spiced pui lentils with veg and I had cod on lemon scented rice and prawns (bit like a deconstructed thai curry). Starters were equally good - presented to the highest standards. Try the trio of creme brulee for pud - my favourite rhubarb! We've noticed that this place is getting full quickly so book in advance if you don't want to miss a treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meribel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    106
    31
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went to Hunkydory on the recommendation of the hotel we were staying at and loved it! We were on a bit of a limited budget but found the set menu really good value for the food and service we got! Lovely decor and staff, the food was served promptly and looked amazing. Brilliant!

Tasha and Lisa

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

On the recommendation of our Hotel we booked for an evening meal on Sat 30th, what a find.....superb food, lovely ambiance, great service, with cheerful and obliging and helpful staff.....David and his business partner have hit it on the nail....if you have a chance, do visit this great restaurant, the wind list is pretty good too. Highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab evening with amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to the restaurant by the manager at our hotel. What an amazing find! David and his staff were so welcoming, and although only us and two other couples the atmosphere was very good.
They have a great chef, especially for his age. The starters were delicious and the main course was spectacular! We had the plaice which equals any fine dining restaurant.
We were tempted with a pudding and the cheese board. I had the Earl Grey Pear which was truly one of the best puddings I have ever eaten. My hubby had the cheese board which was equally as good.
Overall a true find in Falmouth and worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahhogg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We chanced upon this restaurant in Falmouth and the food was excellent. So tasty and well presented, we will definitely go back next time we are in that area. I asked the waitress about the chef and she said he is only 21 and very talented - " a real find". Wonderful sauces and beautifully cooked, high quality food. Go there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LboroVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunkydory Restaurant also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Hunkydory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing