We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay, with a warm welcome and great location.”
Review of Chellowdene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chellowdene
Ranked #22 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The proprietors gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel instantly at home. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was a treat with everything you could wish for and was beautifully cooked. We had the Annex which was perfect for us and our teenager, who had his own single room next to our double. The location is great a two minute walk to beach if that, and a short walk to the town and harbour.
Only downside was parking which was a bit tight.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0smudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2010

Lovely B&B. 50ms from the beach, if that - great location for the beach (obviously) and for the walk into town. The room was spotlessly clean and we also really appreciated the green approach (attempts to minimise waste and recycling). The proprieters are really friendly without being intrusive and our stay was very relaxed and very enjoyable. Fantastic breakfast. A very reasonable price for the stay too. We'd go back and will be recommending the Chellowdene.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi0naR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Stayed here while taking son for an interview at University College, Cornwall. Great position, just 30 secs from the beach and easy to find.
This is a classic British B&B with friendly Brummie landlady. Rooms are quite large and ensuite/private bedroom. TV and coffee/tea making facilities.
Quiet and very comfortable beds.
Breakfast was all you expect, the full English, plenty of cereals, toast tea and cofee.
Everywhere was spotless and the landlady and her husband take great pride in the place.
Minor complaint, the car parking is tight, room for 6 cars ( just) Apart from that , this is a fine B&B

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
Thank Snowweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel, and booked two rooms. The entire hotel was really fresh, very clean and the owners were really friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and plentiful, in fact there really wasn't anything negative to say about our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoobyLou40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

The 3 of us (wife & 11-year old son) stayed for 4 nights in mid-August, having checked out alternative accommodation at nearby hotels and found their B&B tariffs for the three of us hundreds more expensive.
Location - great - halfway up one of the roads off the Gyllyngvase seafront.
Parking - ho hum - just not enough room. Had to leave the car in an adjacent road about 200m away.
We were in a first floor suite which offered some sea views - the room itself a good size, nice & clean & well fitted out.
Bathroom was a bit of a matchbox, but had a decent shower & was well equipped despite its size.
Breakfast - fine. Juices, mueslis, cereals, fresh fruit etc all available plus the standard full English, cooked with reasonable quality bacon & sausages. The narrow 45-minute window (0815 - 0900) in which it was served wasn't a problem for us - just made sure we got moving early to make the most of the day.
Service - fine.
Even after paying to use the leisure facilities (gym, swimming pool) of one of the nearby hotels each evening, we did the sums and worked out we'd saved at least a couple of hundred compared to what it would have cost to stay B&B at that hotel. And in exchange for a small bathroom and some minor parking difficulties, that seemed like a pretty good deal to us!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

There are few better locations in Falmouth for Gyllingvase Beach than Chellowdene - just a few yards up the hill from a fine strip of sand, clear blue sea and harbour cafe.

This B&B offers a very friendly welcome, the accommodation is comfortable and was always spotless. Some of the furniture may be a little dated in places but that is but a minor quibble.

The walk into town takes about 10 minutes but note that the area is rather hilly.

One criticism? Just the short time window for breakfast - just half an hour. Other than that, I was more than happy with Chellowdene.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F4monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

The Guest House is perfectly acceptable - does not appear to be any better or worse than the dozens and dozens of similar guest houses which line the streets in Falmouth. Very clean.
We were looking forward to a part of England neither of us had ever visited, and booked for three nights, but when it took us over three hours to get there from the airport, we realized that we would have to leave at 4 AM on Monday morning to make our flight, so immediately upon arrival, we asked whether we couldn't leave one day early so that we could find a hotel closer to Bristol. The proprietor said he thought it would be OK, but would have a word with his wife. Nothing was said on the second day. On the morning we packed to leave, Mrs told us that we could leave, but would be charged for the last night, and that she had just turned down a party inquiring for three nights because we were there. Needless to say, we were not in a position to do that and stayed (leaving at 4 AM into pouring rain and without breakfast, of course). To me, this was very unhelpful, and I have to question her business sense in either, 1) turning down an opportunity for a 3 night guest in favor of a guest who had 1 night left, and who had requested to leave, or 2) lying about the whole thing and refusing to accommodate an honest request. It's the beginning of the season, and chilly and windy weather, and I doubt very much that we prevented anyone from staying there. I acknowledge that they had every right to do what they did, but it left a bad taste to an otherwise lovely spring break.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mnbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#17 of 24 in Falmouth
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Westcott
The Westcott
#8 of 82 in Falmouth
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red House
The Red House
#16 of 82 in Falmouth
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braemar Guest House
Braemar Guest House
#15 of 82 in Falmouth
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chellowdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chellowdene

Address: Chellowdene Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $88 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chellowdene 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chellowdene is a friendly family run guest house, 50yds from blue flag gyllyngvase beach and a 10 min walk to the town and harbour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chellowdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chellowdene Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing